We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Herring

Poppyfield Retail Park Red Herring Cahir Road | Poppyfield Retail Park, Unit 8, Clonmel E91 P6N2, Ireland
+353 52 612 4702
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good15%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“herring” (8 reviews)
“mushy peas” (7 reviews)
“tartare” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Poppyfield Retail Park Red Herring Cahir Road | Poppyfield Retail Park, Unit 8, Clonmel E91 P6N2, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal. Reasonably priced. Good choice on the menu. Friendly staff. Would recommend it.

Thank Claire D
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Claire for taking the time to leave such a lind review. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Reviewed May 9, 2018

Was back here last sat night .So disappointing .Not good at all.Chef that was here last time I was here must be gone.The food was awful and it was so good last time I was here .Went down specally for the weekend to go back...More

2  Thank monicagriffith2011
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Monica we are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. Never hesitate to inform one of our staff members if you aren't pleased with something and we will be happy to rectify it for you. We hope you come in and try...More

Reviewed April 17, 2018 via mobile

Went here with my family today and was just blown away. Instantly greeted with a friendly face by the FOH staff. Our waitress (didn't manage to grab her name) was so friendly and explained the few questions we had about the menu. I went for...More

Thank Leanne M
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Leanne, you are just so kind to write this review and to come dine with us. We appreciate you. Come see us again soon. We are always introducing new features. Thank you again Leanne!

Reviewed April 11, 2018

Can't stop writing reviews about this place - it's so good. This time we were a group of seven, and nothing was to much trouble, as one of us wanted glutten free. The seafood baskets were lovely selections of fish, squid, butterflied prawns, etc., served...More

Thank onestreetwiseb
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Wow! We at Red Herring are blown away by your kind words. Come see us again soon. We apppreciate you.

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We had our evening meal here this evening.Firstly, we arrived late however they obliged us and served us at our table.We all ordered different dishes from the menu, Ive been living in Ireland for the last 15 years and I have never tasted such delicious...More

Thank Hatim F
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

What a beautiful review! Thank you very much. We hope to serve you and your family again.

Reviewed March 8, 2018

Well, to say that we are over the moon, is an understatement ....... finally Fish & Chips that is edible. In fact it was absolutely delicious. We ordered a take away to share for our road trip back home after a long day, and the...More

Thank Dallas P
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

And we are looking forward to serving you again ad well. Thank you for the kind review!

Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

Got an "organic cod burger" it was actually disgusting. It tasted solely like onion. There was hardly any cod in it... Asked for no cheese or onion so the chef decided not to put anything at all in there even though it is described on...More

Thank babyb21866
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy our organic Cod Burger. We have revamped our recipe and can assure you that it has improved greatly and we hope you will give us another try. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

5 of us visited Red Herring last weekend. We had a wonderful meal, excellent service and great atmosphere. We had the sea food chowder, squid rings and sushi for starter. All so do delicious. There is a list of fish to choose from to have...More

2  Thank Molly_Mangan01
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Happy Belated Birthday. Thank you for choosing Red Herring to celebrate at. We hope to see you again. We appreciate the kind review.

Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

Had a quick bite here as it was adjoining the hotel we were visiting. Had the fish and chips and felt it was very average, the fish had a slightly sour taste so I won’t be going back. The staff were excellent and very attentive!More

Thank MARY O
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We only serve the highest quality of fish at Red Herring so I am so sorry that you did not enjoy. We hope next time you are in Clonmel to try us again as we strive for perfection and want...More

Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, food was delicious. We had the sushi for starters and the crab claws and prawns for mains. Will be back again ☺️

Thank NiamhMyles94
Sarah F, Online Representative at Red Herring, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for the kind words! We are looking forward to serving you again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Clonmel
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
713 reviews
.08 miles away
Fennessy's Hotel
53 reviews
1.46 miles away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
70 reviews
1.48 miles away
Hearn's Hotel
109 reviews
1.64 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant
369 reviews
1.44 miles away
Hickeys Bakery and Cafe
146 reviews
1.31 miles away
Quimby's Cafe & Deli
154 reviews
1.24 miles away
Miss ellies Takeaway
16 reviews
1.15 miles away
Nearby Attractions
St. Patrick's Well
189 reviews
.40 miles away
Marfield Lake
46 reviews
.77 miles away
Carey's Castle
38 reviews
1.34 miles away
Showgrounds Shopping Centre
118 reviews
2.56 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Red Herring staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$7 - $19
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Poppyfield Retail Park Red Herring Cahir Road | Poppyfield Retail Park, Unit 8, Clonmel E91 P6N2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Tipperary  >  Clonmel
  • Phone Number: +353 52 612 4702
  • E-mail
Description
The Red Herring Seafood Restaurant is a unique restaurant in Clonmel located just outside the main town center, within walking distance of the Clonmel Park Hotel, The menu at the Red Herring is all fresh fish and seafood ranging from the traditional fish & chips, chowder, grilled sea bass to sizzling prawns and crab claws. Be sure to try our Chicken or Beef burgers as well.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;