We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Glasson | Wineport Lodge, Athlone N37R2D7, Ireland
+353 64 39010
Website
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here on a Friday evening for dinner & from start to finish it was perfect,stunning setting on the Shannon ,we recieved a warm welcome & enjoyed a drink in the lounge while we waited & were then shown to our table overlooking the river,all the food & drink was top class the steak & home cut chips was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant and hotel was highly recommended to us as a special place for an occasion. I have to say the welcome was excellent, Ray the reception manager was very warm and genuine in his welcome. The room and view was as I would have expected. Unfortunately the meal in the evening did not meet our expectations The food is... More 

Helpful?
Thank WillieDublin
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear WillieDublin, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate all feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience in the restaurant and we will be discussing your review all team members. We hope you choose to visit Wineport again in the future and your experience is memorable, but for... More 

Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently pulled in by boat to Wineport Lodge to tempt my other half to a treat there as have visited before as have friends and the setting is so splendid. The day we moored the wind had taken up quite strongly on the lake as it can do on L.Ree and whilst we battled with the ropes and holding the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolineofConnacht
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CarolineofConnacht, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your review with you directly. Perhaps you could telephone me on 09064 39010 or email me at norma@wineport.ie I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Norma Wilson More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent one night at the Wineport Lodge. We had dinner and breakfast and I must say that we were very disappointed. We have eaten in many hotels and restaurants in Ireland and Europe over their past 45 years and it was one of them worst meals that we ever had. We had dinner and as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank James2012201222
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear James2012201222, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. We really appreciate all feedback, and we will be discussing your review with all team members. Kind regards, Norma More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a meal in the Wineport restaurant, the staff were so friendly and attentive. My daughter is coeliac, the staff helped her choose from the menu and the chef went out of his way to cook a gluten free meal. The service was really impressive

Helpful?
Thank Kriss_dublin
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kriss_dublin, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We really appreciate all feedback. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wineport on another occasion. Kind regards, Norma More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Attended for afternoon tea for a mother's day treat the food and drinks were all very tasty in an absolutely beautiful setting right on the lake but a little bit pricey for the amount you get but nice for an occasional treat!!

Helpful?
Thank weeac1
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear weeac1, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate all feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

I recently went to the Wineport Lodge for lunch and was extremely disappointed with the overall experience. This was our third experience at the restaurant and we will not be returning. The service is exceptionally slow, on two occasions we have had to approach the waiting staff behind the bar for menus after waiting a considerable time. We could understand... More 

Helpful?
Thank sc00byd0o
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear sc00byd0o, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate all feedback, and we will be discussing your review with our team members. If you choose to re-visit Wineport Lodge in the future, we hope to make your stay memorable, but for all the right reasons. Kind regards, Norma More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We hadn't been back to Wineport for some years and were nervous about what changes might have occurred. Luckily Chef Shane is still in charge and we were more than happy with our decision. The view across Lough Ri is as beautiful in the misty rain as it is in the sunshine. The lunch menu was a good as we'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan0949
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Duncan0949, Thank you for taking the post your lovely review. We are delighted with your feedback. I have passed your kind words to Chef Shane. We hope to welcome you back to Wineport on another occasion. Kind regards, Norma More 

Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

The food was delicious, and the view was beautiful, but we couldn't understand how all mains were charged at €28, and that was without potato or veg. ( sides were small and cost €4.50 each). Chicken was served with sauté potato, a few small cubes. Portions were small so we were hungry, after the main course. It was difficult to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LimerickFlowertot
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear LimerickFlowertot, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really appreciate your feedback, and will be discussing with our team. We hope you choose to visit Wineport again in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

Food delicious & menu explained to us very well, surprise birthday dessert given to birthday girl.. Window view seats have beautiful view of lake. Staff are lovely would be lovely to have wedding there.

Helpful?
Thank marion4boys
Norma W, General Manager at The Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Marion4boys, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We really appreciate all feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Wineport in the future. Kind regards, Norma More 

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$22 - $61
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Glasson | Wineport Lodge, Athlone N37R2D7, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Westmeath  >  Athlone
  • Phone Number: +353 64 39010
Description
Blissfully located upon the shores of Lough Ree, The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Guests can enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team and with it, an innovative approach to modern and attentive hospitality. Famously delicious contemporary cuisine accompanied by an eclectic, carefully selected wine list is always on the menu, with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. The Restaurant at Wineport Lodge is a truly memorable dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?