We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
+44 1629 812807
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 287: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016

Friendly staff served us with decent fare of the traditional style cafe variety. Lots of gluten free options. Loose leaf tea, not bags, served properly.

Thank Rosemary W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately some hours later I became very 'unwell' after eating here, and as a result have lost a day's pay being off sick. We had great expectations and liked the building, but a lot of the food is clearly microwaved and soggy/tasteless. Not quality. Unsure of the cleanliness of the kitchen. Tills and handling money in a kitchen also? Waitress... More 

1 Thank Petuhg
Kelly B, Manager at Byways, responded to this review

I am sorry you have been "unwell" but can assure you even our microwaved food is probed & brought past the recommended temperature, yes we use microwaves as you probably saw we do not have a vast kitchen & simply do not have room for a lot of equipment. If your food wasn't upto standard then maybe bringing up the... More 

Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

After asking at every other bakery in Bakewell we finally found one with a gluten free version. It was so good! Everyone else enjoyed their gluten filled Bakewell tarts and pudding. The chef even came out to see how I liked mine. Want another!

1 Thank SandraR2010
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I both had the full English breakfast and were amazed at both the price, and the quality. £6.95 each including a pot of tea for two! And it was proper tea! The surroundings were lovely, and it was so quaint and quirky! If we come back to Bakewell we will definitely be returning! Thank you!

2 Thank MissKayleighT
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Nice to sit in an eatery that isn't overcrowded as it's far more relaxing. It's also good to see that vegetarians and non-gluten eaters are well catered for in the main and the dessert menus. I enjoyed my cheese and onion quiche and 'other half' enjoyed his scampi and chips. Ate carrot cake with pouring cream for my dessert and... More 

1 Thank Caroline R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2016

We had great service for our afternoon tea break and really enjoyed the decor of the room we were in - paneled walls, old-fashioned settings and a good selection of gluten free cakes and scones

1 Thank Jo B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2016

Came here for breakfast .Waiter came in and never even looked at us , after a 10 minute wait ,the couple who had arrived shortly after us managed to get the waiter to take there order ,he was just about to walk out again but we asked him to take our order too , After at least 10 minutes we... More 

1 Thank Aggs321
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2016

Lovely food, Nice ambiance. Miserable staff, Usually wait for ages. Sometimes queuing. You can reserve too.

1 Thank Mary F
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2016

Really wanted tea and a scone in a tea room - not much to ask? Most tea rooms close at 4pm in Bakewell which seems crazy early. Popped in here on the off-chance and checked at the top of the stairs on the way in that they served plain scones. We were assured they did 4 types of scone including... More 

1 Thank BrightonKira
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2016

Waited nearly 20 mins and had to alert waitress we were waiting to give our order. We had the coffees served 10 mins before we had the toasted tea cakes which were burnt on one side, so quite dry. The decor and fittings were very nice and fitted with the age of the restaurant. Other meals that were being served... More 

Thank Peggy H

Travelers who viewed Byways also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Been to Byways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812807
Cafe serving homecooked homely food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Byways staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?