We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (80 reviews)
“game pie” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in to the peacock for an evening meal. I think we could have made a better choice. The food was OK but at the prices charged I had expected much better. A plain burger with chips and a couple of onion rings should...More

10  Thank nick w
thepeacockbakewell, If you think education is expensive, try ignorance, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Quite frankly nick w you could not have made a better choice, oh sorry price got into your head as it often does as you go about visiting pubs and various other establishments, and once you get influenced by the price you have a totally...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited Bakewell a few years ago, this place was on our 'to do' list for our return this year! We have visited this pub for lunch and an evening meal on two occasions during our stay this time round. Sunday lunch was heaving! But...More

2  Thank Liz W
thepeacockbakewell, Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Yes Liz W we fully understand as the Peacock is on many 'to do' lists and long may it continue as we do serve as you rightly state generously sized meals of a very good quality, and the greatly admired Chatsworth Gold, as good a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a nice roast dinner here on a very busy Sunday afternoon. Lots of old people moaning about the wait, but the place was packed to the rafters and to be fair we didn't have to wait that long. Food was lovely, although the Bakewell...More

Thank Graham S
thepeacockbakewell, The only source of knowledge is experience, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Have to agree with you Graham S - the wait for our Sunday Lunch is always worth it as in truth they are outstanding as the roasts we source are from an amazing butcher right here in the heart of Bakewell - New Close Farm...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pub food done really well, but a bit pricey. Friendly atmosphere, would definitely go back. Great selection of local beers.More

Thank Igor S
thepeacockbakewell, You don't need a silver fork to eat good food, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Couldn't agree more Igor S - pub food done really well, but that's what you would expect from a pub that serves food, so thanks for saying it! Bit pricey - not a bit of it, Great selection of local beers - every bit of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a perfect weekend in Bakewell stayed for 2 nights in the Peacock, we were given a lovely room which was furnished to a very high standard with a lovely 4 poster bed which we weren’t expecting. We kicked off our weekend with a...More

2  Thank Gerry-Anna
thepeacockbakewell, Practice does not make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Perfect review in all honesty Gerry-Anna, so I'll just shut up and let you do the talking! Thanks for the talking, every bit of it makes sense! The charming waiter who served you by the way was Graham - that's his name, but don't wear...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As visitors to the town we choose to dine in the Peacock based on a recommendation. Busy pub, good choice of beer and pleasant, reasonably prompt, service. Food was a of a disappointment though; it was well enough cooked and presented but just a bit...More

2  Thank Mike H
thepeacockbakewell, Information is the resolution of uncertainty, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Mike H you are entitled to an opinion - an opinion I wouldn't share or agree with, but that's life and we carry on..... Maybe price is at the forefront of your decision, as we aren't cheap to some, to some price doesn't come...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The room was very nice but very expensive for a pub room and we felt it was overpriced . It was newly decorated and very clean . We had an average meal in the restaurant / bar . We waited an hour for our food...More

3  Thank Carolyn R
thepeacockbakewell, A wise man makes his own decisions, an ignorant man follows the public opinion, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I read your review Carolyn R and to say a room is very nice, newly decorated and clean - and lets cut to the chase here Room 8 which you occupied is stunning, and worth every penny of the £169 you paid for an exclusive...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in with friends on our way through for a drink and a bit to eat. Looked abit rundown and needed a little revamp me thinks. Anyway after paying over the odds for drink we sat down for some food. Now this is a pub...More

10  Thank Andy M
thepeacockbakewell, Nothing is more expensive than a missed opportunity, being happy is a matter of personal taste, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So in truth Andy M you slaughter the food, including The Peacock itself for food you actually didn't eat, didn't even order - what an absolute ignorance! This is the second time you have posted hate mail about the Peacock - the previous being in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The two of us spent 3 days in Bakewell and ate at 3 different places in the evening. You may be planning to do much the same so my 3 reviews may be of interest. All of our choices are well regarded on TA, currently...More

2  Thank Trickious
thepeacockbakewell, No legacy is so rich as honesty, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well Trickious, where does one start, well first & foremost may I thank you for your exceedingly complimentary review on the food served at the Peacock this last Friday evening was it - it's something we are good at and I also compliment you on...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my partner visited the Peacock on a very busy Saturday lunchtime, we managed to get a table for two We were told that there would be a 25 minute wait which we did not mind .The staff were very busy running around everywhere...More

1  Thank soulsister61
thepeacockbakewell, Patience, persistence, and perseverance. A little more each day, a little better each day, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Saturday's, Sunday's, Warm Sunny Days, any given day soulsister61, the Peacock in Bakewell, as is Bakewell itself can be very busy, so thanks for taking time out to post your complimentary review, and 25 minutes in such nice surroundings and area is never too long...More

Nearby Restaurants
506 reviews
.04 miles away
544 reviews
.04 miles away
Castle Inn
377 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
185 reviews
.24 miles away
All Saints Church
110 reviews
.18 miles away
River Wye
87 reviews
.07 miles away
Thornbridge Brewery
73 reviews
.64 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
December 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
March 7, 2016|
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately for the few SolihullStew we are not dog friendly as you put it inside the pub and dining area. Yes, in the beer garden we embrace dogs, as just in the home a dogs place is in the outside world, not for us... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$13 - $29
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing