We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hurt Arms

) #3 of 3 Restaurants in Ambergate $$ - $$$ , British,
Derby Road, Ambergate DE56 2EJ, England
+44 1773 852006
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good19%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible23%
Travelers talk about
“cheesecake” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (14 reviews)
“boston beef” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Derby Road, Ambergate DE56 2EJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow. What can I say this pub has really turned itself around food amazing and worth every penny thanks

Thank ollliebobs
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your brilliant review! We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience at The Hurt Arms and we hope to seeing you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here for Sunday lunch today. The salad / veg that came with the goats cheese tart looked either over cooked or that it had been there for days. The double cooked chips were hard and so greasy they were inedible! Won't be visiting...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving feedback of your visit to The Hurt Arms yesterday. It is with deep regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your visit and have mentioned multiple things you were not happy with. When we receive such reviews I always find it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just called in on the off chance whilst on holiday in the area. We were met by friendly welcoming staff who worked hard to give the best service possible, the atmosphere was relaxing in a modern setting. The food was delicious and we felt good...More

Thank Keith S
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving feedback of your recent experience at The Hurt Arms. We are delighted to hear you had and enjoyable visit and found the staff to be friendly and welcoming throughout. It is also great to hear you you found your meals to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have actively avoided this pub now for two and a half years following a bad experience but returned due to it being taken over. And what a change! So much so, we have eaten here twice in the past week! They offer two courses...More

Thank Debbie M
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Hurt Arms. We are so pleased you decided to try us out after you previous bad experience with the old managers. We are delighted that you had and enjoyable meal and found...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Gorgeous food, excellent service and all in all couldn't be more different from our last visit with the previous owners. The menu is limited at the moment, but I imagine as time goes on more dishes will be added. I'm pleased to say it was...More

Thank Tara W
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, it is so great to hear of your enjoyable experience and we are delighted you found both the food and service to be excellent. Our menu is slightly limited at the moment however we plan to expand this further after...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal here this week. I'm glad I didn't listen to other reviews which were bad and instead checked on Trip Advisor for the latest reviews. The pub has been taken over recently and is now showing a lot of promise. The...More

Thank Cymraes1970
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Hurt Arms. We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit and found the food to be well presented and of a fantastic quality. We are happy to hear you...More

Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

3rd Tuesday of the month is classic car n bike night from 6pm at The Hurt Arms. Plenty of people there and some great cars and bikes. I went in the pub to get a drink and was served very quickly by the nice staff....More

1  Thank Lambers2013
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our monthly classic car evening. We are so happy that this has been as well received at The Hurt Arms as at one of our other venues The White Hart Inn. We hope...More

Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub, wonderful staff and very nice food! We visited Friday evening with our puppy. Staff were wonderful, very friendly. Could not recommend enough. We will be visiting again very soon.

Thank lindabritain
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit to The Hurt Arms. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience and found our staff and food to be great throughout! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

We had high hopes for this place after learning that it had joined the White Hart family but we were sadly disappointed. The beer was watered down. This was raised with the bar staff, which they vehemently denied. Then they added on a 50p charge...More

2  Thank CAllen1983
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit to The Hurt Arms. It is with regret to hear your comments and I would like to take the opportunity to expand on these further. We are sorry to hear that the...More

Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

My friend and i decided to revisit the hurt arms ambergate, the last time it was apalling. However it has had a change of ownership and now belongs to the fabulous white hart at morewood moor. It was lovely, the decor is very chic, there...More

Thank Ginny B
EmilyHarris2017, Reservations Manager at Hurt Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit to The Hurt Arms. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and found our staff to be pleasant and obliging throughout. We hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Oriental Palace
115 reviews
.03 miles away
Ambergate Chip Shop
102 reviews
.31 miles away
The Spanker Inn
248 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Crich Tramway Village
1,607 reviews
1.99 miles away
Belper River Gardens
180 reviews
2.13 miles away
Sherwood Foresters Regiment Memorial
56 reviews
2.24 miles away
Wingfield Manor
13 reviews
2.85 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rachelizb
November 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Mike E | Reviewed this property |
Hi, it really depends when the new management took over. It is a lovely pub but unless the management have changed very recently I will be giving it a wide berth !! Sorry Mike
3
Votes
MouthoftheNene
Someone said there was a problem with the gas meant the chef walked out. Either they are underpaid and mardy or it's nothing whatsoever to mean gas for cooking and they possibly mean the gas in the cellar on the barrels which would not affect the kitchen unless the chef is the only muscly bloke to sort the cellar out. This place has always welcomed bikers whereas others made their money from bikers and then went snooty and put signs up saying no bikers. The Hurts Arms is even opening it's doors open for a bikers ride into Matlock bath 6th March 2016. Whilst I never ate there, I've never complained at a pillions lager or riding I get a J20. Why is everyone so moany and tbh it doesn't matter if some order from 1 menu and some from another. It seems a shame this place is getting a slating when for the past 25+ years I've called in as I will on the 6th March 2016 even tho I'm disabled and will be on a quad and no longer a bike which breaks my heart
December 21, 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Alan E | Reviewed this property |
I would if it was a question and not a statement,Every body has their opinion of places thats what you put down and tick the box for,my opinion was it wasn't what I expected after looking at a well presented and spacious... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Derby Road, Ambergate DE56 2EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Ambergate
  • Phone Number: +44 1773 852006
Description
The Hurt Arms is friendly, relaxed & informal. Enjoy foods from around the world in relaxing, timeless & opulent surroundings with a mix of Italian, Tex Mex, American & British influences, not forgetting good old pub food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing