We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auberge du Lac

Brocket Park, Welwyn AL8 7XG, England
+44 1707 368888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“tasting menu” (41 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (25 reviews)
“petit fours” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Brocket Park, Welwyn AL8 7XG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

First time we have been since the refurbishment and the new team coming in. Looks like they have now got it right! From the canapés with drinks on arrival, where the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable on our wine selection through to the delicious...More

1  Thank stevebarnes_13
Reviewed 5 days ago

Four of us visited the restaurant and our choice of dishes included a mix of the table d'hote and a-la-carte menus. Every dish was exquisite and perfectly balanced. I was especially impressed with the canapés and amuse Bouche extras which had so many different flavours...More

Thank Jill B
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Jill, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I eat at Auberge du Lac fairly regularly. Having married at Brocket Hall the setting holds fond memories. However we will not return. We booked the table for our last visit more than two months in advance and as we were in...More

1  Thank AS-reviewer
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AS-reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed that you did not completely enjoy your Auberge du Lac experience and would really value an opportunity of a conversation with you to remedy the points raised in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to Auberge du Lac on several occasions and the food in the past has been exceptional. However, our most recent visit was disappointing. We chose the set menu and on ordering our main courses, we asked if vegetables were served with them....More

Thank Gill J
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gill, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed that you did not completely enjoy your Auberge du Lac experience and would really value an opportunity of a conversation with you to remedy the points raised in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been to Auberge on quite a few occasions and have always been happy. However today's meal surpassed my expectations. The food was all simply delicious - being beautifully presented, having some lovely and adventurous flavour combinations and the portions were very generous. All of...More

2  Thank LinziB935
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Linzi, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is in a fabulous location and offers a great menu and wine list. Whilst I enjoyed it overall, the service and lack of knowledge from staff let it down. None the less we had a lovely time but you pay top dollar for...More

Thank MarianneAlwaysWright
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marianne, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that you did not completely enjoy your Auberge du Lac experience and would really value an opportunity of a conversation with you to remedy the points raised in your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic evening. Lovely atmosphere, great food and exceptional service. The beef was spectacular. Special thanks to Pedro who was so knowledgeable about the food and wine and was great company throughout the meal.

Thank 219BJW
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Possibly the most beautiful venue I've visited for lunch, although Le Manoir equally lovely. Told we couldn't have a table for 11 - but they could have easily put two tables together. Restaurant not full, but they put our table in adjoining room so we...More

Thank 308Discodave
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dave, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that you did not completely enjoy your Auberge du Lac experience and would really value an opportunity of a conversation with you to remedy the points raised in your...More

Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

I'm lucky to live locally to Auberge and have been visiting for the last 15 years. During this time I've seen a lot of staff changes but have to say that all of the staff, including Pedro and his team, have been delightful. It's such...More

Thank AlisonTwigg
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hi Alison, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Reviewed August 3, 2017

Me and my wife enjoyed our visit to Auberge du Lac. The tasting menu was a pleasure to try out filled with new taste experiences. Staff were very attentive, professional and very friendly. We can recommend this place.

1  Thank zippydippy
BrocketHallEstate, Manager at Auberge du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Hi, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Auberge du Lac experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Pedro Miramon - Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Waggoners
521 reviews
.87 miles away
The Crooked Chimney
594 reviews
.37 miles away
Long Arm and Short Arm
217 reviews
.65 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stanborough Park
187 reviews
1.56 miles away
Welwyn Roman Baths
87 reviews
2.32 miles away
Elephant and Castle
69 reviews
2.76 miles away
Tulip Clinic
41 reviews
1.62 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sheila9032016
June 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 308Discodave | Reviewed this property |
10% For poor service
0
Votes
Sam M
December 8, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from harpers555 | Reviewed this property |
They do have a car park but steps from it to the restaurant were very poorly lit and dangerous in the dark
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$53 - $121
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Full Bar
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Brocket Park, Welwyn AL8 7XG, England
  • Public Transportation: Rail: Welwyn Garden City
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 368888
  • E-mail
Description
Auberge du Lac, Hertfordshire's award-winning restaurant, is set in the magnificent parkland of the Brocket Hall Estate in Welwyn. A former Hunting Lodge dating back to 1760, Auberge du Lac sits proudly alongside the water's edge in its own peaceful environment, overlooking the splendour of the Estate. Timeless elegance will surround you, enabling you to relax and enjoy our fine wines and superb dishes. Under the expert guidance of Executive Chef Phil Thompson, Auberge du Lac, the Estate's former 18th Century Hunting Lodge, has gained a national reputation as one of the most interesting out-of-London restaurants in the country. With private dining for up to 62 guests, Auberge du Lac can also be the ideal wedding venue only 22 miles from London.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing