We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

$$ - $$$, British,
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
+44 1707 299342
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“duck salad” (8 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“fish cakes” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 520 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We have recently moved to the area so been here several times.i always enjoy the food the staff are always very polite and helpful. The decor is very tired and walls grubby the furniture in the bar has huge holes and needs a good clean,...More

Thank mackay512
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

An average place that is so typical of a chain pub. Typical ‘boil in the bag’ food, shipped in pre cooked and microwaved. Friendly staff and decent beer but just ordinary.

Thank chuck1es
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is now our second disappointing in a row, last time the meat was fatty, this time they were just really tight. Other places offer better value for the amount and quality of the meat. I like the fact they do a trio of roasts,...More

Thank HatfieldBandit08
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hatfieldbandit08, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We encourage our guests to let us know if they are not happy at the time so we can rectify any issues in house rather than you leave...More

Reviewed May 14, 2018

Went here for a family birthday celebration. Arrived slightly early and as one of the party had not arrived asked if it would be okay to get a drink in the bar and wait for them as the bar area for once was quite empty...More

Thank geogina55collins
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Geogina55collins, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our Pub

Reviewed May 12, 2018

We called in after a long walk with friends and didn't expect to find a table mid-afternoon on a Sunday, but we're hopeful that we would be able to a quick bite to eat and a drink. Not surprisingly, the restaurant was fully booked, but...More

Thank Foxymerlin
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Foxymerlin, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

Delicious food, pleasant staff. Found the restaurant cold. Bit expensive for some dishes. Will return. Thank you

Thank Emma F
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi Emma F, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Red Lion, Welwyn!

Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

My partner surprised me by taking me out for a meal at the Red Lion in Welwyn for my 70th birthday. We were seated between two party tables; the one behind my partner was quiet but the one behind me was nonstop raucous laughter throughout...More

1  Thank Susan D
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Susan D, thank you so much for the positive review. I can only apologise that you feel disappointed with some of your visit on this occasion. I did have a quiet word with a member of the party at the bar on this evening. However...More

Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Lovely decor, nice atmosphere but drinks and food very expensive for what it was. Sharing platter for two £16.95 for 3 koftas, three small bits of chicken, two deep fried shredded pork bits and some flat bread. Over priced! £6.35 for a vodka and coke....More

Thank cootster
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Hi Cootster, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We have been to this pub many times for drinks and food. There have been times in the past when they were very short staffed which is my only concern about this place. Menu good, value good and we like the ambience in the restaurant....More

Thank David H
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

David H, it's experiences like yours that really keep us motivated!

Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Come on guy's! food not great the cleanliness is terrible;carpets and other floor surfaces are filthy,chairs in bar area are dirty and the toilets are backing up. This place was a real gem once a upon a time

Thank Paul M
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Paul M, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Welwyn Hotels
Brocket Hall
89 reviews
.93 miles away
The White Hart Hotel
87 reviews
1.26 miles away
The Lodge Welwyn
1 review
1.51 miles away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
729 reviews
1.57 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Waggoners
573 reviews
.21 miles away
Hakalok
185 reviews
1.00 miles away
Hoy Che
37 reviews
.98 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tulip Clinic
50 reviews
1.12 miles away
Welwyn Roman Baths
90 reviews
1.27 miles away
Stanborough Park
208 reviews
1.81 miles away
Cat Survival Trust
46 reviews
1.87 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vanesa M
December 19, 2016|
Answer
Response from alyson.johnson-smith_123 | Reviewed this property |
I do know that they can cater for Gulten Free and Dairy Free but I would phone them to check what the options are
1
Vote
Terry H
December 19, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derek S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Terry yes they do as you can see. They can be bought by e mail or text up to £250
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Digswell Hill, Welwyn AL6 9AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 299342
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Red Lion - Welwyn serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;