We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Fisherman

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mill Road, Shabbington HP18 9HJ, England
+44 1844 201247
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 318: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Old Fisherman is in a lovely location but when we went this week both the food and the service were disappointing. It was busy admittedly but when we arrived it was not busy. We ordered our food quickly and at no point were we told there may be a delay. We waited over an hour for our lunch and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed, our slow cooked lamb shank is one of our most popular dishes and we very rarely have complaints regarding the quality. I'm sure that the team member who you found rude would be disappointed to hear that as none of the team here ever set out... More 

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Today I visited this pub restaurant with my elderly parents and their siblings. My uncle lives close by in Thame and wanted to treat us for lunch, we were visiting from St Albans. The location is beautiful, it was busy, particularly outside as it was a beautiful summers day. My uncle had booked a table in advance, on arrival we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Karen, I'm sorry to hear of the difficulties that you experienced. As you identified we have been overwhelmed with the amount of trade recently and have not been able to recruit sufficient team for the demand. I hope that you return to find us at our best. More 

Marlow, UK
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to come here for Sunday lunch, as on a previous visit we had superb service, and good food, and a good play area for the children. I was very disappointed with my roast lamb shank, the potatoes looked and tasted like Aunt Bessie's and the mash tasted instant. There was a 45 minute delay, of which we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that our standards of food and service dropped below what you and other guests have come to enjoy. Interestingly, we were busier post peak time this week. Please be assured we take all guest feedback on board and use it to keep doing what we do well and improve in other areas. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have not been here for a long time and was pleasantly surprised. Was in the area for other reasons ,as it was an extremely hot day, fancied a pint and thought of The Fishermans. A shame its Greene King but we went in anyway, thank goodness they had other beers on. Had a very good pint of bitter (not Greene... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Hi David, many thanks for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed our guest beers. Please let me assure you that recruitment in order to have additional team on sunny days is top of our agenda, sadly due to our rural location this is no easy task. Please call again. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The Old Fisherman has a lovely outside area next to a river and a play area for little kids (4-10). The kids menu is good value and the 'before 6pm' menu is very good value. It's standard pub food, not gastropub. If you visit between 5-6pm during the week, service is fast, food is hot, and it's a relaxed mid-week... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChimpyChompy
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I'm very pleased that you always find the team friendly and welcoming. Please be assured that we are always looking at ways to improve service on those very busy weekend sessions. I look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pleasant position by the river. Very nice patio area - comfortable dining with umberellas. Peaceful out of school holidays. Polite serving staff but very frazzled by a failure in their tills/ ordering system which had failed. Food wasn't delivered in the correct order with people being served who had only just arrived whereas our table had been waiting an hour... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yazadooza
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our pub. I'm pleased to read that you find the team freindly though I'm sorry to hear that you suffered a delay. Please be assured that meals are cooked in turn as they are ordered though due to some items having shorter cooking times you may experience other tables receiving their food... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in for early tea (15/8/16) and was warmly welcomed by manager. He remembered us from almost 2years ago. We enjoyed our main meal also a sweet. The Menu was a shorter summer one but it had a nice selection. Food was hot and tasty. Sausage a little well cooked but still good. Thanks for the good friendly service. Will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank donna a
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you both again Donna, many thanks for your kind review. I look forward to seeing you again in October - let us know your coming and we might even be able to get Wet Nelly on specails for you! More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has been some years since I last went to The Old Fisherman and it will probably be some years before going again. My husband and I stopped for dinner on our way home from the golf club. It was fairly early (6.30) when we arrived, plenty of room in the car park, only a few groups of people in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanya C
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and the setting. Please accept my apologies for the delay, we are working on ways of speeding up our service times and try to notify guests of any wait upon ordering. More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only good thing about this place was the friendly lady who welcomed us on arrival which was around 6pm on a Sunday. We were somewhat put off by the sheer number of dirty glasses on pretty much every table both inside and out. The restaurant wasn't busy at that point and most tables were unoccupied. We ordered two roast... More 

Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireDizzy
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I'm really pleased that you found Larissa (assistant manager) friendly. Please accept my apologies that we fell short of our usual standards of food and service, our beef rib is a very popular dish though some people do find the fat content off putting. I hope that you do return on another occasion to discover... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a chilled out evening by the river and we weren't disappointed. Ducks came up from the water and huddled with us which was lovely; shame about other peoples kids chasing them and tormenting them though! Lots of places to sit outside away from the rest of the world. Food was ordered and received quickly, did feel there should... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helcatamy
Richard W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will certainly take on board your comments about vegetarian options. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed and will return. More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Fisherman also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Little Gaddesden, Hertfordshire
 
Worminghall, Buckinghamshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Thame, Oxfordshire
Wheatley, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Road, Shabbington HP18 9HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Shabbington
  • Phone Number: +44 1844 201247

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Fisherman and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Greater London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Fisherman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?