We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Moorings Hotel Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
+44 1397 772797
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely Bistro with great atmosphere and lovely views. Great location. Food and service was excellent.

Thank 999kermit
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we ate an evening meal and breakfast here and it was good food served with a friendly smile. my husband dared the salted goat's cheese ice cream but I kept to more normal flavours..it's all made in the hotel. breakfast was well-cooked although the layout of the continental offering was less appealing than in other establishments but this is a... More 

Thank katmitch2017
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both in choices available and in the quality of food produced, this was a bad choice few days ago. Luke warm watery soup and too expensive poor main course. Such a shame as the restaurant itself is nice and clean. Sorry, but I wouldn't go back.

Thank johnmurrey1974
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a lovely walk along the canal we decided lunch at the moorings would be a good idea, unfortunately it was not a good idea. First problem was finding a high chair, my husband couldn't find one anywhere eventually he asked someone who agreed to find one. After awhile one was brought but no one seemed to know how to... More 

Thank Rach D
MooringsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Moorings Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am extremely disappointed to hear about your experience at our Hotel. This is certainly not the standard of service we expect from our staff or the quality of food our Kitchen should produce. I have passed the complaint onto our Head Chef & Hotel Manager to ensure that this does not happen again. I hope you will... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017

After organising a meal out for 6 last night at the Moorings our date happened to coincide with a two for one meal offer and boy did it show with the quality and portions. The salmon portion was of sardine proportion and the tomato and mushroom of dubious quality, the mashed potatoes were almost cold on one plate and the... More 

Thank bradstevely
MooringsManagement, Public Relations Manager at Moorings Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, I am extremely disappointed to hear you had such a bad experience in our Bistro Restaurant. Our food quality should be the same regardless if there is an offer on or not. I have passed on your review to our Head Chef to ensure this doesn't happen again. We would love the chance to show you that was... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

The food was absolutely amazing and worth every penny, would definately come back. Service was friendly, unobtrusive and could not do enough for us. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Thank Nancy B
MooringsManagement, Manager at Moorings Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Nancy Apologies for the delay in getting back to you, I am delighted you had such a great experience at the Hotel & look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future hopefully! Many Thanks More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2016

Popped in here for a spot of lunch on our way back from Ben Nevis. Food was good, friendly staff and reasonable prices too. We had salmon and cream cheese pannini with chips. Portions were of a good size too.

Thank michael b
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

great place to stay food fantastic views from room the staff made our stay fantastic from sean the manager and all the others they were a professional team and all very friendly and polite we were very pleased with you thanks very much Mick and Gina room 33

Thank mike h
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2016

After a short walk from our B & B, we had a very nice meal at this hotel restaurant which was next to Neptune's Staircase.

Thank Osmond J
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

More like a shark with chips. The food is fabulous, the fish is huge. I had a great burger and all the portions are very generous. the staff are friendly and the bistro cafe has great views of the canal and Ben Nevin. I would highly recommend a visit for lunch

Thank Charlie D

Travelers who viewed Moorings Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber

Been to Moorings Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$22 - $37
Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Parking Available
Good for
Large groups, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William  >  Banavie
  • Phone Number: +44 1397 772797
The Moorings offers mouth-watering cuisine in our Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. The Upper Deck Lounge bar also serves a range of tasty bar meals including fish, chicken and pasta dishes.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moorings Hotel Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Moorings Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?