We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Black Horse

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
+44 1453 872556
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 172: English reviews
Boxford Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were visiting the area and booked a table.It was an interesting experience finding the pub at night but well worth it. Very friendly staff and good service with a comfortable feel to the place.Our meal was very good and I would recommend a visit to this pub.

Helpful?
Thank Roger B
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to us. We are a tricky place to find, so i'm glad you braved finding us in the dark. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2016

Service was friendly and helpful and efficient but not intrusive. I think we all had burgers and all were tasty and well presented. Great views, good selection of ales and largers and a couple of unusual choices which is great to see Certainly will go back

Helpful?
Thank Silleyug
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon, our ales change regularly so hopefully we will have more unusual and tasty ales for you to try. Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2016

Very good Sunday lunch with welcome surprise of gluten free Yorkshire pudding as well as GF sticky toffee pudding. Well cooked, good range of drinks, beautiful view and attentive staff. Enjoyable lunch!

Helpful?
1 Thank penny578
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your meals with us. Our gluten free range is very important to us, and so we are glad you enjoyed it. Many thanks again Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

Ghastly Sunday so called roast meal. I had the vegetarian option, the leek and bread cake had no flavour, tinned peas, watery mashed swede and tasteless boiled carrots. My husband had the beef which was equally awful. These appeared to be pre cooked and prepared meals that had been reheated. The gravy was also watery and tasteless. Puddings not much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francesca T
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal with us, and am particularly disappointed you didn't feel you could share this with us at the time and give us a chance to rectify the situation, when I checked on your table you assured me everything was fine. Our Sunday lunch is one of our most popular options for many returning customers,... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Back from a fantastic week in Amberley in which we frequented The Black Horse a few times. We ate there twice, the second time we booked to ensure we got a table in the lively bar. Other visits included afternoon drinks in the sunny beer garden when the real ales went down well after a circular walk around the 'common'.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and it was lovely to see you return several times. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in the area again Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016

A great pub with fantastic views across the valley. Good selection of beers but a disappointing selection of wines although competitively priced. Simple pub grub but of a high quality but fantastic burgers worth trying. New owners have put a lot into making this a great place to meet and eat with friends

Helpful?
Thank Brendan1318
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoy your visits to us, and we always look forward to seeing you. I'm sorry that you feel our selection of wines is disappointing, as a fellow red wine drinker I always struggle during the summer months, with the small selection of red wines available, unfortunately it seems we are... More 

kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2016

On a short break in Gloustershire, my husband and I and our Springer Spaniel passed the Black Horse on a circular walk near Amberley. We had intended to walk on and eat further on but decided to stop and take a closer look - so glad we did. An attractive front garden leads round to a back terrace- and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bossyjossy
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As a team we feel being able to produce fresh homecooked meals for everyone no matter their particular needs is very important, and so we were glad we were able to help. We look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in... More 

Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2016

Seem to come here every year for my birthday (and occasionally in between!) Can't beat a bottle of chilled prosecco overlooking the valley whilst also sharing some tapas (baked camembert / pittas & dips) in the sunshine. Staff less warm & welcoming than usual on last visit but may have just been an off day.

Helpful?
Thank SwanleyBarrys
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. I'm sorry you felt the staff were not as welcoming as usual, this has been brought up with the team, and we are working on maintaining our usual friendly approach even when very busy. Many thanks again The Black Horse team More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch whilst camping nearby and we weren't disappointed. The pub has a glorious aspect over the valley and the food was great too. Smaller portions were available for the kids (though these were generous sizes!) and the fish and chips I had was as good as any pub I've been in before. Good beers too!

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesc1977
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and we hope you enjoyed your camping trip to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in the area again Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

We have visited The Black Horse on a number of occasions, but last night was superb. We were there for the burger night and my Sloppy Joe was outstanding. I must admit I was terribly disorganised and booked a table right at the last minuet but they were incredibly accommodating and were even able to find us somewhere in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nu S
BlackHorseAmberley, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. It's always a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards The Black Horse team More 

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

 
Minchinhampton, Stroud
Stroud, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$14 - $28
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Littleworth, Amberley, Stroud GL5 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stroud  >  Amberley
  • Phone Number: +44 1453 872556
Description
A beautiful cotswold pub, with incredible views across the Nailsworth Valley. Great selection of drinks and a locally sourced freshly produced menu.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Horse and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?