We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppered Prawn - CLOSED

98 Corinna St | Phillip, Phillip, Canberra 2606, Australia
+61 2 6162 0122
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Nov 23, 2015
“Over Priced for Average Seafood”
Oct 24, 2015
“It's all frozen seafood”
Restaurant Hours Closed
Italian, Mediterranean, Greek, Eastern European, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
98 Corinna St | Phillip, Phillip, Canberra 2606, Australia
All Details
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2014

Dining with another couple we decided to indulge in the mixed seafood for entree. Delicious. Could not fault it. The main course we chose Salmon, Curried Seafood and Barramundi. Once again superb. Dessert we all chose the Affergato. Yummo! Could not fault this restaurant. Great...More

Thank deei49
Reviewed November 13, 2014

We had not stopped in since the last visit, but we hoped for a nice evening. It was quality OK, but priced as Very Good. The food is strictly out of the box. This is not necessarily a bad thing if something imaginative is done...More

8  Thank roemanner
Reviewed November 9, 2014

We were going to give this restaurant another try after we had a bad experience several years ago with the owner becoming very aggressive when we complained about one meal where the fish was severely undercooked. The other meals were quire good, but didn't appreciate...More

1  Thank Narra72
Reviewed September 23, 2014

Last night my wife and I enjoyed the most delicious sea food meal that we have had in Canberra at the Peppered Prawn in Phillip Canberra. The menu caters for fish, meat and vegetarian alike. The restaurant seating area is small but comfortable and bookings...More

Thank David H
Bill S, Manager at Peppered Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit at Peppered Prawn. Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback and your kind compliments, I will pass it on to our team. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed September 5, 2014

Just had a portion of takeaway fish and chips from this place. Smallest serve of fish and chips I have ever had. Don’t know what their restaurant meals are like, and won’t be in a rush to try either.More

1  Thank fatbeetle
Bill S, Manager at Peppered Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Sorry to hear you were not happy with the take out fish & chips. We use market fresh fish caught in Australian waters, Our chefs prepare the food when ordered. We do not use cheaper alternatives or processed ready to cook frozen product. The standard...More

Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very overpriced for the small quantity's received. Biggest disappointment was the size of the oysters. Advertised as Wapengo Oysters and they were the size of a pea. $20 for 6 oysters, not to mention less than a third of a glass of wine $12. We...More

2  Thank Teena R
Bill S, Manager at Peppered Prawn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Sorry to hear your experience was disappointing, Your table of 7 ordered Garlic bread for one, 3 entrees and 7 main courses. One entree included market best lake wapengo oysters, which are a rock oyster not as big as the pacific oyster but are quite...More

Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Went last night, been on a day trip to Sydney so didn't get there till around 850pm Manager said it wasn't too late and welcomed us in Food came out super quick, since we were the only table still there, so hint is get there...More

Thank Andrew W
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We found this restaurant per google and reading reviews on tripadvisor so we booked a table. As we arrived the gentleman was very helpful and friendly. We ordered the chefs tasting and it was a good choice. The courses has been well presented and also...More

Thank David W
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have eaten here several time since this restaurant opened the meals have always been good. The service is friendly. A group of 6 we only ordered mains and breads as we had been to a birthday lunch previously that day. We felt the manager...More

Thank jeans73
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Pretty basic selection of seafood. I've had better oysters in Hay, NSW. This used to be our favorite restaurant, but based on this experience, we won't be back. Being told hand cut chips sometimes come out soggy is not acceptable. I watch Materchef people!!

1  Thank Annette C
Nearby Restaurants
Cibo Kitchen
6 reviews
.02 miles away
Turkish Pide House
80 reviews
.26 miles away
Flavours of India
61 reviews
.21 miles away
Chinese Kitchen Dumpling Shop
78 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Westfield Woden
18 reviews
.27 miles away
Royal Australian Mint
951 reviews
2.04 miles away
Cotter Reserve
112 reviews
2.48 miles away
Mount Stromlo Observatory
13 reviews
2.48 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
$4 - $26
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
8:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 Corinna St | Phillip, Phillip, Canberra 2606, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Australian Capital Territory  >  Canberra  >  Phillip
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6162 0122
CIBO Kitchen was founded in 2016 by the Stojanovic Family. After 10 successful years of Peppered Prawn Restaurant we wanted to create something completely new, to share with you something close to our hearts that brings us many fond memories of growing up in our family. We bring to you our personal representation of a modern mediterranean kitchen with influences from Eastern Europe, Italy & Greece. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing