We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sea Lounge Seven

$$$$
Mediterranean, European, Italian, Swiss, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
via Moscia 2 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
+41 91 780 77 88
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
New Preston, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food and service were incredible. Prices seemed high but worth it with the view. The salad looked plain but the taste was amazing. Dressed perfectly.

Helpful?
Thank kerryann91
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Not to be confused with Seven Sea Lounge, this is Seven. A restaurant that used to have a Michelin star. We arrived without a reservation, and that was fine. Although we did not get a 'front row' table, we were given an acceptable table. The waitress was not especially friendly. I ordered a beer & asked for tap water. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Condor1950
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I visited the restaurant with few friends last night. The food from the 5-course tasting menu was good. However, I must say that I have never experienced such a bad service,especially since it's a Michelin restaurant. Took around 1 hour until the first course arrived plus no one took our jackets nor said goodbye when we left.

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
FB Manager S, Food & Beverage Manager at Sea Lounge Seven, responded to this review

Buongiorno Helen S Thank you for your detailed review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your time invested in giving us your important feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not complete satisfying for you. We severly discussed the points you mentioned with our restaurant manager - it is not our standard to keep guests wainting for about 1... More 

Level Contributor
370 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

This is my fifth time at Seven, but I was disappointed. We ordered the surprise menu with wine pairing. The menu was ok, but the pork fillet was really not tender. The main disappointment was the wine pairing which felt like they want to get rid of some bottles. Also the service was super slow.

Helpful?
Thank Go100go
Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

The Seven in Ascona lies at the end of the lake promenade with a nice view on the other restaurants. You better make a reservation, the restaurant is not big and often fully booked. The interior is very stylish. Among others, you are able to watch the chefs through windows in the eating area. The cellar area including the restrooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank 61_IslandHopper
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

Open year-round (weather permitting), this is one of the best spots in Ascona to have an 'aperitivo'. We are frequent visitors and, on this particular visit, we enjoyed a delicious 'vin brulee'. During the summer months, a water mist cooling system keeps everyone comfortable on the sunny terrace. A great place to unwind, relax and drink in the spectacular view.

Helpful?
Thank Louise H
FB Manager S, Food & Beverage Manager at Sea Lounge Seven, responded to this review

Dear Louise H Thank you for your kind reply and feedback via Tripadvisor. The team of our Seven Sea Lounge as well as the management are very happy to hear that you are on of our frequent guests! Thank you! Great to hear that you enjoyed the Seven Sea Lounge even during winter time. We are looking forward to welcoming... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

This review only covers the lake-side bar and not the restaurant! We arrived during a not so busy hour in early september with a party of 6. After beeing ignored for over 20 minutes we left and spent our money elsewhere. And yes we tried to get attention. This was the worst (of about 6) visits. The others where just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirk_Hammett
FB Manager S, Food & Beverage Manager at Sea Lounge Seven, responded to this review

Buonasera Kirk_Hamm Thank you for your feedback in reference to your experience at the Sea Lounge. We were very disappointed in reading that we did not meet your expectaions. For sure is not our aim to make guests feel ignored. Please accept my sincere appologies for this lack of service. The Seven Gastro Group aimes to transmit lifestyle through a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

I've been there three times the last weeks and love the ambience! The food is really good, you can see right into the kitchen. The staff was always friendly and although you need to wait a little longer for everything on a saturday night when the restaurant is full it's still okay. The prices are a bit higher than in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alessandra S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015

The waitress was very attentive and helped me create my own "tailor made" dish because of the specific diet I'm on which turned out to be delicious. Relaxing atmosphere with a nice view of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank Angie K
FB Manager S, Food & Beverage Manager at Sea Lounge Seven, responded to this review

Dear Angie K Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal even if you have to respect special diary ruels! it is our aim to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable throughout their dinner. Best regards from Ticino Ristorante Seven Team Katharina Geiger More 

Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
554 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

Hard to know what to write here, for once, even though I have over 400 reviews to my name. why? because this place has a Michelin star, yet I was underwhelmed in many areas. the decor and setting are lovely. The personnel are multilingual and nice, but they made several mistakes that simply should not happen on a not busy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hask74

Travelers who viewed Sea Lounge Seven also viewed

Ascona, Lake Maggiore
Ascona, Lake Maggiore
 
Ascona, Lake Maggiore
 
Ascona, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Sea Lounge Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$30 - $133
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Italian, Swiss, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: via Moscia 2 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Swiss Alps  >  Canton of Ticino  >  Lake Maggiore  >  Ascona
  • Phone Number: +41 91 780 77 88
Description
Seven ways to eat different Built on one of the most inviting spots of the Piazza of Ascona, overlooking the vistas of the Swiss Alps and the waterfront of Lago Maggiore, Ristorante Seven is marked by exclusive contemporary architecture and open fire. The elegant place reflects much of the region versatility, catering to clientele who enjoy the fun and excitement of exploring new culinary experience. The menu, allows guests to explore new directions in tastes and taste combinations. The maxim is to focus always on fresh and seasonal ingredients accompanied by excellent variety of exclusive wines and savvy cocktails. Sea Lounge The Sea Lounge is located directly on the shores of the lake at the small port of Ascona. From spring to autumn, you can enjoy the unique atmosphere of Lago Maggiore with views of the Piazza, the old town and the Brissago islands. A drink and small delicacies to go with it make for a perfect day.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sea Lounge Seven staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?