We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant du Col de Bretaye

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $40
CUISINES
French, Swiss, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Improve this listing
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
20
10
8
2
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
20
10
8
2
9
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019

Easy to relax after a little skiing. Lovely staff but quite a wait for food. Soup good but little vegetable options.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Genny02
Reviewed January 28, 2019 via mobile

This has the premier location in Breteye with wonderful views a great bar and an good menu. You would think this would be a winning combination where nothing could go wrong. How wrong are we. The maitre’d is unable to engage with his customers, the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank poppyw162
Reviewed January 26, 2019

We had such high hopes for this restaurant and the refurb is great, sadly we’ve tried 4 times now and each time it’s deteriorated with appalling food and service, in fact, total indifference from everyone including the the owner. Fortunately there are plenty of infinitely...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Robert L
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Late lunch at 2pm en famille and staff are friendly. Vegetarian raviolis, creamy mushroom risotto,croute complete and lasagne all good if not great. Ribs and frites slightly less good, possibly re-heated ? A bit dry.. But space, ambiance, heating et al all good , we...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 757mariannec
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile

We waited half an hour for our table. They told us an hour later the food was no longer available. Then another hour later the wrong plate or reordered food came out. About half an hour later the SAME wrong plate came out. Very dark...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 810polarbear
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Very nice restaurant with fantastic vieuw, you hear the bells from the cows in the alps, in summer time they serve you delicious meat coocked on the barbecue. It'sa unique experience. With the free access card you get there, for free, with the train Villars-Bretaye.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank philippehalewyck
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

It was about time... I have biycotted this place for two years after the repeatedly pathetic experiences and leadership there. Having heard the was a new manager, I went to the Col de Bretaye and was pleasantly surprized. A bunch of young waiters/waitresses, compensating some...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DidierM1379
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Great locacion, delicious food,very nice Staff, warm welcome by the young owner Gregory plessis! Best vip terrace at bretaye but you must book your table before because it's always full...More

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Lola P
68ulrichb, General Manager at Restaurant du Col de Bretaye, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear guests, We thank you very much for your comment written on Tripadvisor and we are happy that you have passed an excellent moment in our Restaurant le Col de Bretaye! We are all hoping to see you soon again and wish you a wonderful...More

Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Once and never again ... that was our conclusion today. Very slow service; one of the meals completely over-cooked; and other meals were ok but not great. Perhaps because it was New Years Day and the staff was tired / fighting a hang-over ... but...More

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank C623JZpeterb
68ulrichb, General Manager at Restaurant du Col de Bretaye, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Dear Mr. Peter, We thank you very much for your comment written on Tripadvisor ! We are really sorry about the inconvenances you had on the New Year! The reason for the big delight were Network problemes with all our cash-registers which will not happen...More

Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

We two couples reserved a table for lunch on a rather wet and misty Saturday. Because of the weather three of us arrived early and had to wait for our companion to finish her ski lesson but this didn't faze the waitress. After aperitifs we...More

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Businessfellow
68ulrichb, Directeur général at Restaurant du Col de Bretaye, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Dear guest, We thank you very much for your comment written on Tripadvisor and we are happy that you have passed an excellent moment in our Restaurant le Col de Bretaye! We are all hoping to see you soon again and wish you a wonderful...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Residence Panorama Villars
91 reviews
1.96 miles away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
280 reviews
2.03 miles away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
827 reviews
2.08 miles away
Hotel Viu
7 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 37 nearby restaurants
Crazy Moose
142 reviews
.48 miles away
Restaurant du Lac des Chavonnes
199 reviews
.85 miles away
Restaurant Pizzeria Roc d'orsay
120 reviews
.46 miles away
Golf Villars Restaurant
167 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Swiss Ski School Villars
59 reviews
1.98 miles away
Paragon Sport
7 reviews
2.74 miles away
Tobogganing Park
130 reviews
2.80 miles away
The Bex Salt Mines
398 reviews
3.80 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LouLou P
February 15, 2015|
Answer
Response from eglihans | Property representative |
Dear guest, We thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and we are realy sorry for your experience made at the Col de Bretaye!? Notice that the toilettes are publiques and the Restaurant is not responsable for it; the... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing