We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Dom Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dorfplatz 2 | The Dom Hotel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
+41 27 958 77 00
Website
Today
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 11:30 am - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

We ate here while staying at the excellent hotel Dom. We both chose the Dom burger. We started off with a great amuse bouce of cold melon soup, very tasty. The meal was accompanied by some tasty bread, well presented. The burgers are freshly made from the local cattle and proved to be among the best we had eaten! They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tessie028
Franziska-FO, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tessie028, thank you for your great review and I hope we see you soon again in Saas Fee. Kind regards, Franziska More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2016

Ski down from spiel open and look out for sign for Bergrestaurant. A ski/board path leads you up to restaurant and then it all starts to wind down. After releasing your skis or board, You pass great views of the valley and sit down and order the Rossi. I was told it was a great meal and I was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

My husband walked into the restaurant hoping that there may be a slim chance that we'd get a table, there wasn't any availability. When he asked waitress if she had any recommendations she replied with "I recommend have a reservation for Easter weekend". Not quite what we were expecting as potential future customers, we didn't think there was a need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Berrydog
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Berrydog I am sorry that we couldn't seat you at your desired time without prior reservation, but is this really a reason to rate us so poorly? You have not tasted the food, experienced our attentive service and enjoyed our cozy atmosphere. So what do you rate us for? Because the offered second seating was not to your liking?... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2016

The outdoor terrace is a very pleasant spot to sit and have your lunch. I like the salads, you are never rushed and the wifi works well.

Helpful?
Thank NYCMom1973
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear NYCMom1973 thank you very much for leaving a sunny comment about our beautiful terrace. I hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy the sun. Kind regards, Simone More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2016

Very overpriced for a self service restaurant. 40chf for 2 bowls of carrot soup, a bread roll, and 2 iced teas. A rip off . Avoid

Helpful?
Thank Pjt90
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2016

We ate here during our holiday in Saas Fee, the location is good in the town square and I loved the decor which is modern mountain feel. The food was plentiful and really well presented. The Dom burger was huge (with trimmings of onions, egg, cheese, bacon) and made with beef from locally grazed cattle which gives the burger an... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirstyd1
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Kirstyd1 thank you very much for your kind review. I am happy that our local food and skillfull kitchen was well received. I will take care of the kitchen chime. We want you to have a relaxing and joyful evening with us. I know that charging for tab water seems greedy, but please consider also our point of view.... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2016

Understaffed to serve the crowd. Once you fill your bowl of soup yourself - you need to spend CHF 13.50 or more. Cleanliness and comfort: not where it's supposed to be as such a price level. - Here's the message to the operator/owner: your location is a jewel - but your management is terrible and so is your price policy... More 

Helpful?
Thank TM6210
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2016

I think the food in general was good but not the best. I expected a little bit more. Service was pretty friendly. If you are staying at the hotel.. try the half board once is enough, there are some other better restaurants in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tedwong1977
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Tedwong1977 I am sorry to see that you have not been satisfied with our menu and choices in the restaurant. We always strive to improve our products and would really like to hear where we can improve and what was not so good. You can write to me directly at simone.werner@domcollection.ch and let me know in detail your opinion.... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2016

If you want to try unusual meat- such as Eringer beef - or rare bottle of wine from valais, this is the place The chef and his butcher understand perfectly well how to create very tender steaks and tartar from the local Eringer cows, that have generally very lean meat and thus could tend to be rather on the dry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donat A
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Donat A thank you for leaving this great review of your dinner with us. We strive to always leave happy and satisfied (and full) guests, so they can go on to enjoy their vacation. See you next time at The Dom. Anja Feist More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for the delicious foods & housewine. It was - as I mentioned in my Title - absolutely perfect. Proper portions, beautiful, tasty and our compliments to the chef. He's a real artist! The waiters were mindful/helpful and kind. I could recommend to everyone! If I spend some time in Saas-Fee again, I'll definitely visit this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra V
Simone W, Manager at The Dom Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra thank you very much for your Kind words, which I will Forward to our Head Chef Gregor and is Team, as well as Chef de Service Tamas and Team. I truly hope that you will be spending some more time in Saas Fee soon and it would be a pleasure having you with us again. Sunny greetings from... More 

Travelers who viewed The Dom Restaurant also viewed

Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
Saas-Fee, Canton of Valais
 

Been to The Dom Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $46
Cuisine
Swiss, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dorfplatz 2 | The Dom Hotel, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Swiss Alps  >  Canton of Valais  >  Saas-Fee
  • Phone Number: +41 27 958 77 00
Description
The Dom Restaurant offers a comfortable evening in cozy atmosphere with affordable prices. We offer best swiss beef filet, a wide selection of vegetarian dishes as well as all time favorites like Cordon Bleu with a new twist. Our focus lies on regional cuisine and sustainability, as well as species appropriate husbandry for conscious eating and enjoyment.
In our wine cellar some of the best valaisian wines await you as well as international ones. Here, everybody finds their favorite.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dom Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?