We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Histoire ancienne

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 rue Royale | Calais Centre, 62100, Calais, France
0321341120
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
272 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is very nice, has a very retro feel. We got the fixed menu which was very good and very reasonably priced. The dishes are also very well presented.

Helpful?
Thank Viridiana2012
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are a lot of restaurants in Calais and this is one of the best, easy access, always polite, always good sevice, one of two we use regularly- highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Historie Ancienne will meet your expectations. In the middle of July, we were the only Not French customers! Lovely sign. The food was very good, the ambience also what you expect and we were flabbergasted with " La addicione"!! Escargot , Fois G., pepper stake, duck, desserts, expressos, a Bottle of nice Bordeaux!! ..... $102.00 US, yes.... Similar dinner we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hector D
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear HECTOR, Thank you so much to note "the good value for money" in our restaurant. Your satisfaction is our, We hope to see you on your next trip in Calais, Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Found this by accident on our way back to the tunnel. Excellent food very reasonably priced with friendly staff. Customers appeared to be a mix of French and English and everyone seemed happy. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you so much for your kindly post, witch will be shared with our team, we hope to have the pleasure to see you on your next trip in CALAIS, Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

This place deserves its BIB Gourmand. Perfectly cooked Dover Sole. Couldn't fault a thing. Really nice ambiance in a traditionally decorated French brasserie. Not cheap but not ridiculously expensive either. Would return like a shot.

Helpful?
Thank KBPJL
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear KPB, Thank you so much for your post,. we are pleased that you enjoyed our food. The sole we propose is purchased in the port of Calais and cooked with all respect involved in this noble fish: gently cooked in butter accompanied by big capers of Spain ... delicious! Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended to us by friends from UK. Short walk from our hotel Le Meurice. We were warmly welcomed by the staff all of whom smiled at us every time they passed our table. The menu choice for me was more limited as offal and foie gras are no-no. However I really enjoyed the meal and a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank CoffeeBeanCardiff
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear CoffebeanCardiff, Thank you so much for kindly post. We are located just behind the Hôtel MEURICE and we are pleased to receive at this property. Your satisfaction will be shared with our entire team, and we hope to have the pleasure to see you soon in your future move to Calais. Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

So the meal and wine were good but unfortunately we had a noisy family with 2 kids shouting and yelling behind us (surprisingly speaking French and this is my first experience of a badly behaved French {if they were French} Family). The accoustics from the hard walls and floor did nothing to dampen the noise so it was ringing in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear TOM, We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Apparently you have not see, but we intervened several times on this table and the parents were not reactive. Seeing that despite our interventions calm did not return, we did a quick service for this family left the restaurant as soon as possible. We reported to parents that their children would now... More 

London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

The restaurant was recommend by our B&B Cle d"Opale and they helped out in making a reservation, it was a Saturday night and we had booked for 8pm and all the tables had reserved on them and by 8.30pm there wasn't an empty table. as soon as we walked in everyone said hello and we were warmly welcomed, the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank varney
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear Varney, Thank you so much, for your kindly post. We are so happy that you had appreciate our restaurant. We hope to see you on your next trip in CALAIS, Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

hastings
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

It is still a pleasant little heaven in the centre of Calais. Interesting set menus or A La Carte. Presentation is most attractive. More smiles from the staff could help.

Helpful?
1 Thank vikingo47
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit in our restaurant. All the team are happy to know that you'd liked it. We hope to have the pleasure to receive you on your next trip in CALAIS , Kinds regards Claire COMTE More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

We visited this place last Saturday evening and the server possibly the owner the rudest man that I have ever encountered. He obviously hates English people. My husband asked his name when we first arrived just out of politeness so that if we needed o speak to him we could converse with him. He took. This totally the wrong way... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra A
123ht123, Propriétaire at Histoire ancienne, responded to this review

Dear sandra, I have read your message and I am deeply sorry you were received a bad welcome in our restaurant. In first time accept our sincere apologies. Despite the problems you encountered, Thank you for pointing that our food was great and the whole team working was really lovely. The person who received you is one of our waiter,... More 

Travelers who viewed Histoire ancienne also viewed

Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 
Calais, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Histoire ancienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
French, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 rue Royale | Calais Centre, 62100, Calais, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Nord-Pas-de-Calais  >  Pas-de-Calais  >  Calais
  • Phone Number: 0321341120
Description
Histoire Ancienne restaurant in Calais is a classic bistro with 1930���s art deco d��cor, fresco painting that recalls Toulouse-Lautrec, Mucha prints, traditional zinc bar, tables laid in white linen, harlequin floor and open fireplace where local fish and meats are grilled. So far, so intriguing. Patrick Comte is a fourth-generation chef who trained in some of Paris��� most superb restaurants, including Le Crillon and Prunier, and here uses the finest local ingredients in inventive dishes like duck tartare with comfit tomatoes and parmesan shavings, grilled sea bream marinated in lemon, coriander and ginger. Order the warm chocolate cake with molten interior with pistachio cream at the beginning of your meal. There���s a proper vegetarian menu, too.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Histoire ancienne and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
South East England, United Kingdom
Chelmsford, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Histoire ancienne staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?