We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benedicts of Whalley

$$ - $$$, British,
1 George Street, Whalley, Clitheroe BB7 9TH, England
+44 1254 824468
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (19 reviews)
“cakes” (69 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (16 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 6:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Wine Bar, British, Contemporary, Delicatessen, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 George Street, Whalley, Clitheroe BB7 9TH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 120 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

I notice that many people think the staff are friendly and helpful. This is true but the service is chaotic and disorganised, there doesn't appear to be anyone in charge. Also need to sort supply out. Buying in the deli is haphazard as deliveries late...More

Thank Tim B
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

As the owner of benedicts and the buyer for the deli it was with great sadness i read your review this morning. The buying is far from haphazard - I am trying to bring new and fresh ideas on a daily basis to keep my...More

Reviewed September 27, 2016

We reviewed Benedict’s many moons ago, but we were back there today to sample their afternoon tea special, and that’s worth a review on its own. Special is the word. I had the ‘Dirty Gin’ afternoon tea, and it’s worth booking for this because they...More

2  Thank Anne A
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

I am so delighted to receive your review. thank you for taking the time to go into such lovely detail. I am salivating at the mental image you paint. I have passed on your kind comments to Cheryl and to the pastry chef, and they...More

Reviewed September 21, 2016

Very good food and lovely upmarket restaurant . We had the special lunch which was very good indeed. Just a shame it was not open in the eveningsMore

1  Thank G3375TCwendyd
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

thanks so much for taking the time to post your kind review. Youre not alone wishing we were open in an evening. However -the problem we face is that we open at 9am in the morning and it is relentless throughout the day. Were we...More

Reviewed September 19, 2016

The staff at Benedicts are fantastic, my wife and I have visited a number of times with our young baby and the staff have been outstanding. The food is very good with a decent choice of food available. Always quiet busy especially on sunny weekends...More

1  Thank rick22allen
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2016

Thankyou for your kind review. We love families and babies! Its the future! Youve ticked all the right boxes - food, staff and good choice on the menu.... We look forward to welcoming you again. Hilary

Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Had lunch today, friendly service nice food but a little over priced , all in all it was a nice experienceMore

Thank Joseyjo35
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed the food and the service - and I note the fact it was a good experience - I am sorry you found us a little over priced. I am adamant that...More

Reviewed September 15, 2016

The food is very good, the service is hit and miss with what appears to be no real direction for the lovely staff. Such a shame as I know several people who will not go in there on principle because of how their badly their...More

2  Thank sukiesue
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Thank you for your comments - and I do wish I had more information to respond to. It seems you don't come in any more - so am unsure of how long it was since you experienced benedicts and am unsure what has now prompted...More

Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

This morning we had breakfast hear got to say for my 1st time visit it was Fantastic a really good portioned breakfast everything cooked really well and filling could not fault it one bit super clean staff wonderful and always smiling service was 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟fast and...More

1  Thank neil1955
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2016

Many thanks for your fabulous review. I love the star rating emoji! We look forward to welcoming you again. Hilary

Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

I had visited Benedicts on one previous occasion and thought it would be nice to go back with a friend and our children for lunch. It was very busy as it was half term but the staff found us a table and couldn't do enough...More

Thank Emma J
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016

Thank you for your very fair and balanced review of your recent visit to benedicts. I am thrilled you close by saying you will come again soon. Obviously my heart sank when I read the absolute blunder on the chicken goujons. As your waitress reported...More

Reviewed September 9, 2016

We ordered a cheese and chutney sandwich. Cost £5.95. We received 1 small piece of bread with four small slithers of cheese and chutney on top. 3/4 salad leaves and 3 slices of cucumber with a tiny pot of coleslaw. We did quietly share with...More

2  Thank Elizabeth C
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

I had expected to see a review from you after your visit to us yesterday. Cheryl, my front of house manageress came up to my office to relay the incident regarding your cheese sandwich and flag up to me your unhappiness. We serve open sandwiches...More

Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Disappointing. I've been coming here for quite a while now - I meet a friend for coffee every couple of weeks. Prices are inconsistent (someone else I've spoken to this week mentioned this out of the blue -I thought it was just me) and generally...More

1  Thank Kellie G
HCookson, Owner at Benedicts of Whalley, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

I am so sorry that you have only just felt moved to write your review since your visit two months ago. I am saddened to read you find our early evening offer pretentious.... We have launched a £10 for three courses teatime menu that we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Breda Murphy Restaurant
385 reviews
.24 miles away
Cucina Seventy Three
188 reviews
.03 miles away
Amico Mio
222 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Whalley Abbey
124 reviews
.15 miles away
Reefers and Wreckers
12 reviews
.50 miles away
Whalley Wine Shop
62 reviews
.03 miles away
Whalley Warm & Dry
25 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gary A
April 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Wonnie B | Reviewed this property |
You must have mistaken me for someone else. I love Benedict's. My review was extremely positive.
4
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 George Street, Whalley, Clitheroe BB7 9TH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Clitheroe  >  Whalley
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 824468
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe/Deli Bar part of Maureen Cookson, (Ladies Clothes Shop)on George Street in Whalley. Private car park. Serving breakfasts, lunch, afternoon teas and early family meals. menu complemented by daily specials board. Brigade led by Head Chef Ben and his team of six. Full delicatessen with homemade takeaway options. Freshly baked bread, local sausages, olives through to truffles.. and a fantastic selection for gluten free.
Open from 9am Monday to Saturday until 6.00pm with last food orders at 5.30. Sunday 9 til 4pm for Benedicts breakfast menu. Listed in The Times in their top ten places to eat brunch, GQ magazine and Olive mag.
Whalley is a stunning village filled with wonderful independent shops.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing