We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pier House Restaurant

Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
+44 1726 67955
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“seafood pancake” (22 reviews)
“jambalaya” (9 reviews)
“curry” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What a fabulous place to have lunch, sat outside in the autumn sun with good well kept beer, a delicious piping hot lasagne and an incredible view of the tall ships in the harbour. Friendly staff too, can’t wait to return.

Thank Lee K
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Many thanks for your lovely lunch review, we are pleased you were able to sit outside and enjoy the view with us! We are looking forward to your return.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Charlestown to see the tall ships and go to the heritage centre. Decided to have some lunch whilst there. This lovely pub is perfectly situated on the edge of the harbour with beautiful views. The food was absolutely delicious with possibly the best...More

Thank candicefarr
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for the feedback provided following recent visit. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service and we are also so glad you like the new interior. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came here for dinner as the restaurant where I was staying was closed. The food was delicious and plentiful; it was a pity I couldn’t manage it all. The staff were very friendly. I would come back here.

Thank Alison F
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here last week in the restaurant and I cant fault any thing that came to our table it was all delicious our starters were the seafood cocktail with crab x2 and the muscles both lovely couldnt choose between them . mains 2x serloin...More

Thank louSouthYorks
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Havn`t eaten there since last year, my god what a deterioration the food was very poor x2 scampi and chips, both over cooked chips like bullets ,x1 lasagne very dry, and seafood pancake which was tastless and chips over cooked, by 7pm they had already...More

1  Thank Tracey450
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for a family group evening meal but choose the restaurant in the Hotel and ended up in the more expensive one but saying that if the food is as good in the other areas your in for a treat. The service as you...More

Thank cheapo2
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Shot in hear mainly to get out of a rain storm,glad we did. Very friendly staff may be a bit cramped at some tables but not a problem we had a great chat with 3 American ladies.sharing our table.We had sandwiches with a side of...More

1  Thank pedro4pedro
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you 5* review, it is always pleasing to read such positive feedback regarding all aspects of your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food and service. A bit cramped and hot. Character bistro and pub with good atmosphere. Service very good.

Thank Wendy F
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We do hope to see you back here very soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had lunch here on 14 September. Restaurant is located in the Pier House Hotel overlooking Charlestown harbour where the harbour scenes for the BBC series Poldark are filmed. My fiancee had fish cakes and I had the Jambalaya. Both meals served 'pub grub' style...More

Thank Hugo B
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Pier House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There were not enough staff on duty to be able to provide a good service, despite their best efforts. The food is mediocre and well overpriced for what it is.

1  Thank Peter G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Longstore Steaks & Seafood
311 reviews
.05 miles away
Old Kerrow Farm Park
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Charlie's Coffee House
278 reviews
.19 miles away
Wreckers
1,302 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Charlestown
1,364 reviews
.01 miles away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
30 reviews
.62 miles away
Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
1,086 reviews
.11 miles away
The Harbourside Inn
58 reviews
.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
niceone2
May 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bodelva | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, not sure. You would be best ringing the Pier house for exact information. Good luck Richard
1
Vote
Tim7P
February 14, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Elizabeth F | Reviewed this property |
No dogs inside, but ok in the outside area. The harbour side, next door and same owner, allow dogs inside.
0
Votes
Garthy58
April 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from asicit007 | Reviewed this property |
Probably best to book if you want a decent table.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Charlestown Road | Harbour Front, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell  >  Charlestown
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 67955
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Pier House Hotel
Description
The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing