We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leo's Tavern

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Irish, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Meenaleck,, Crolly, Ireland
353749548143
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 12:45 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been here a good few times over the years and always had a good time the food is good and if you want a good night the bar is great especially when the fire is lighting one bit of advice try to avoid when the tour buses arrive it can get very full.

Helpful?
Thank celts69
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called here today with our 5 kids, one of whom we were meeting up with from the Gaelteacht for some food and a catch up. Staff were lovely and friendly, food was great and a nice place to just relax and unwind. The only downside was that it was a tight squeeze for a large family but we managed all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DeliaGildernew
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On entering Leo's Tavern at about 5.00pm we were seated at a table but after waiting about 15 minutes, my husband had to approach a waitress at the bar to ask if they were still serving food. We were finally given a menu although diners who came in after us were given a menu before us and in fact their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sorcha_7
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good place to stop off and eat whilst holidaying in Donegal. 2 adults and 2 children and we were all throughly happy with our choices. Staff were genuinely friendly and service great.

Helpful?
Thank Leesa G
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you Leesa G for your review. Hope you had a nice time holidaying in Donegal and delighted you dropped in to see us at Leos. See you again sometime... Leos More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped for dinner early in the evening. The food was very good, very generous portions and the service was excellent. We were too early for live music but I was not eager to drive on the narrow Irish roads after dark to get back to our B&B.

Helpful?
Thank michaelj53
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Michaelj53, thank you for your review. Delighted you had a good visit to Leos and Donegal... Maybe next time you are visiting from New York you can leave the car at the Hotel/B&B and grab a taxi so you can enjoy the full Leos Tavern experience!! See you next time Leos More 

Crolly, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The quality of food served in Leos Tavern is excellent this year. We operate a small campsite nearby and 99% of people eating have stated that the food is very tasty and at a reasonable price. We have eaten there ourselves and can agree.

Helpful?
1 Thank DonegalArt
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Dear DonegalArt, thank you for your kind words and review. Delighted to see you (and your guests!!) anytime :) Leos More 

Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

This pub was recommended to us by the campsite owner down the road. The night we visited they were hosting the prize giving for a big local adventure triathlon race. We were worried we wouldn't get a table but were offered a table in the bar no probs. It's a nice interior with clannad memorabilia on the walls and lit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian j
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Brian J, thank you for the review. It was a... chaotic night to be fair and we're delighted you had an enjoyable experience at Leos. Looking forward to your return - where hopefully it wont be full to the rafters!! Cameron More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

Went out for sunday meal with visiting family less than impressed. We all had soup starters which we had to break the skin that had formed on the top . I then had the turkey which wasnt fab either gave me the impression had been just thrown in a microwave very rubbery. A member of the family requested some more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Michael, I'm sorry to hear that your visit didn't go as planned and certainly not as we would have wanted too either. I can assure you the food wasn't microwaved and can only apologise for the gravy incident. It is the start of a new peak season and yes we do get a turnover of staff. The older ones... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Do not pass up an opportunity to go here. Fantastic food, the only slight problem we had was they ran out of mussels, but I suspect that that was because we ordered for 18... Friday Saturday nights best. Sunday arvo awesome too...

Helpful?
Thank Dunc H
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Dunc H, thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and apologies for the late reply. The next time 18 of you are dropping in for muscles.... let us know and we'll spend a little extra time at sea!! Delighted you all enjoyed your visit. Leos More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

Visit to Leo's this afternoon,with my Wife and Son,after a wonderful brisk walk on Cloughglass beach. We ordered soup of the day with my Wife having the seafood chowder, excellent with fantastic taste,I had the Steak Ciabatta my wife the Sea Bass and my Son having the 10oz Steak. All of our meals were tasty and so well presented. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Joe Q, thank you for your review and we are glad you, your wife and son enjoyed your meals. Sounds like you had a nice walk with great views followed by a nice meal. Perfect!! Hope to see you again. More 

Travelers who viewed Leo's Tavern also viewed

Dungloe, County Donegal
 
Gweedore, County Donegal
Gweedore, County Donegal
 

Been to Leo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$17 - $45
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:30 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:45 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:45 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Meenaleck,, Crolly, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Donegal  >  Crolly
  • Phone Number: 353749548143

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Leo's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leo's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?