We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Inn Pub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The George Inn Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
+44 1934 712124
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We stayed here for one night in a lovely room (no 4) which included a very modern and pristine bathroom with nice white fluffy towels, comfortable bed, everything you could need in a room and a lovely view into the church yard! The girl who greeted us and showed us to our room was very polite and welcoming. We didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank binswood
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review and also the coffee comment. It was passed on to the staff and appreciated. More 

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2016

We were staying in Wedmore, Somerset and needed to find a dog friendly pub. We found The George Inn on the internet so decided to give it a try. We were warmly welcomed and were seated in the front room where we were told there would be ample room for or greyhound. We were looked after by Georgia who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We are always happy to see hounds as well of course their owners! More 

Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2016

A table for two last Friday. Great food and service.We have not eaten there for a while.The Ham egg and chips a must.

Helpful?
Thank Ianp1948
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Very kind. Thank you. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

We went for a family lunch for 8. Nice menu and lovely food. Most had roast beef which was excellent. Some had roast pork - also good and they were happy to give a Yorkshire with the pork too. Only complaint was we ordered a couple of coffees with dessert which never came. Realised when we got home we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Hi. Many thanks for your kind review. Very sorry you never had your coffee and even worse got charged. As you clearly recognised a genuine error. If you'd like to e mail us on gordon@thegeorgewedmore.co.uk or call us 01934712124 with card details we will of course refund it to your card. Thank you. More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Have now eaten at the "George" several times and the food is consistently good. They offer a varied menu with a range of prices to suit most pockets. Might sound like a small detail but they sell proper 330ml bottles of coke instead of the draft rubbish or tiny 200ml mixer bottles some places try to get away with! Always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riggertron
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you. We try to attend to small details as well as more major things and it's lovely when that's noticed. More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We arrived on a Saturday evening and sat at the bar to order drinks. The lady behind the bar was focused entirely on the phone and enquirers for bookings for tables that night (there were none available). No eye contact, no "sorry I'll be with you in a moment.." We we're simply ignored. Eventually after a good 15-20 minutes a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suefrogwoman
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us feedback and after the poor service you had still be kind and honest enough to view the whole operation and score us on that. I have checked who was working over that period and we have given further training. Clearly we were very busy but that in no way excuses you... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch whilst away for the weekend with friends. The food was great and the staff excellent. The roast potatoes were crispy, meat perfectly cooked and lovely vegetables. Hope to eat here again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Judith H
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2016

We booked a room and dinner for 8.30pm. All confirmed. When we arrived they had no record of our dinner booking, fortunately there was a table. We were told we had to give them a rough idea of time for breakfast as they had 'the wedding party' eating at 9.30am (we felt this was strange as you don't normally have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_M_84503822
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Whilst I accept some confusion arose your account IS GROSSLY MISLEADING. WE HAVE CORRESPONDED WITH YOU AND DESPITE THE ACTUAL ISSUE BEING MINOR DUE TO YOUR AGGRESSIVE STANCE A CONSIDERABLE DISCOUNT WAS APPLIED. Clearly two faced as well as inaccurate. You will see from my normal reviews they try to appreciate any problem that occurs and to rectify it in... More 

Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner on a Friday night without booking. Thought we'd never get a table, but that wasn't a problem (we were early, they start serving at 6pm). Food was lovely and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Al H
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Thank you. We always try our best. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2016

Our second visit to the George, we spent two nights in Room 4 and were made to feel very welcome. The staff are all friendly and attentive. The rooms are well appointed (we stayed in the Red Room previously, which is also very comfortable) and we were given as much time as we wished to vacate the room, we didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank mzungu44
beerhound123, Owner at The George Inn Pub, responded to this review

Very kind (and accurate!). Thank you. More 

Travelers who viewed The George Inn Pub also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$10 - $28
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The George Inn Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wedmore
  • Phone Number: +44 1934 712124

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?