We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Heart

Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
+44 1454 774392
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good26%
  • Average14%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“sticky chicken” (13 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

The pub has had a lovely makeover and looks really inviting. However the staff were not at all welcoming. The person serving at the bar, was really rude when I queried the prices of a drink. (12.50 for a shandy and a glass of wine)...More

Thank Sarah M
Reviewed 5 days ago

Good to excellent food, but some of the customer service is terrible to good. On Sat 12/05/18 our table was booked for 20:00 but it wasn't ready until 20:30. My partner was a bit annoyed by it and one of the female bar staff was...More

Thank Alex A
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Definitely the last time I would ever set foot in this restaurant and would recommend everyone else in thr Bristol area to do the same. Did not receive what we ordered , upsold without permission from a normal burger to a wagyu burger without requesting...More

Thank Mark S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There was 6 people in our group and one child. Visited Sunday 6th bank holiday weekend in May. We pre booked and the restaurant was expectedly busy with bookings. The restaurant has been nicely refurbished and the pub gardens are pleasant. The service was very...More

1  Thank Chris N
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Chris N, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. I would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out to us at 01454 774392. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They did a very good Sunday lunch in the restaurant. Food was great, staff efficient and I would certainly go back there again. It was packed which shows how th majority of people think of it as a facility offering good food albeit because so...More

Thank laurencesmith2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Laurencesmith2017, Thank you so much for your 4* review and kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback after all of our hard work. On our busier nights the restaurant does tend to get quite loud which unfortunately is out...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We're regulars here and were very disappointed at our last visit. The service has rapidly gone down hill since the the refurbishment. We ordered drinks, a white wine and pint of beer, before we ordered food. However, the beer that was recommended was Tribute and...More

1  Thank Jack B
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jack B, thank you for taking the time to write this review. Firstly I would like to apologise that your experience seemed to be soured by the Tribute you ordered. I do remember discussing with you that it had reached the end of the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A menu with so many items is always a worry but many of the dishes sounded good. Unfortunately, our food was average at best and not really worth the extensive wait. A let-down given the attractive interior and friendly staff.

2  Thank Chris F
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Chris F, we are disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at The Golden Heart. We hope you will give us another chance so you can experience the high levels of service and food we aim for.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This pub has had a makeover and we were very impressed. Brilliant menu choice including good selection for me as a vegetarian. Lovely decor. Friendly waiting staff and most importantly super food. I rarely rate 5 stars but they certainly deserved it. Mini puds with...More

1  Thank Pauline F
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Pauline F, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! I will pass on your positive comments to the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live local and would visit the pub every other week for a bite to eat or drink. We have done this before the refurb and a few times since it has re opened. I have to say our last visit was just awful. I...More

3  Thank hollyrosborne
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Hollyrosborne, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. With the recent beautiful weather we were fairly busy towards the end of last week. For...More

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

Well done chef, lovely bit of grub coming from a chef too. All the staff are lovely and helpful, service was great and with a lovely atmosphere. And Zoey on the bar makes an outrageously delicious cocktail. Go on golden heart, absolutely smashing it.

Thank Tim C
General Manager A, Manager at The Golden Heart, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Winterbourne Hotels
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
658 reviews
1.11 miles away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
1,340 reviews
2.13 miles away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
727 reviews
2.33 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
801 reviews
2.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The White Horse
139 reviews
1.04 miles away
Avenue Cafe
138 reviews
1.51 miles away
Crown Inn
70 reviews
1.19 miles away
The Rising Sun Frampton Cotterell
87 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Viaduct Animal Sanctuary
10 reviews
.65 miles away
The Rising Sun
35 reviews
1.49 miles away
Pirate Bay Adventure Golf
75 reviews
1.90 miles away
Frenchay Village Museum
9 reviews
2.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Golden Heart staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Down Road | Winterbourne Down, Winterbourne BS36 1AU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Winterbourne
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 774392
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;