We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slug & Lettuce

$$ - $$$, , British
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1TJ, England
+44 20 8948 7733
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good31%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible21%
Travelers talk about
“mash” (4 reviews)
“fish cakes” (4 reviews)
“the river” (39 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1TJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

First time in Richmond got off the river boat and we had lunch. Really great selection of food and good beer as well. Service was really quick as well. Staff very attentive.

1  Thank Volksrus
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us a such a great review, we're glad you had a wonderful time at our venue. We hope to see you again in the future, Kristian and the team

Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

Bad service, bad food. Won't be going again. Waitress came over and took our drinks and food order, 2 out of 3 got our drinks, my friend after 20 minutes asked if she could have the glass of wine she order. No apology. It then...More

3  Thank Jonathan M
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hi Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent experience at our venue. I'm sorry to hear about the level of service and the quality of food you received at our venue on your visit. This is not the...More

Reviewed June 13, 2017

Having recently visited this venue we found the service great friendly staff good value for money nice venue for a night out

1  Thank KerryDirector
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hi Kerry, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review.I'm glad you had a wonderful time at our venue. We hope to see you return, Kristian and the team.

Reviewed June 8, 2017

Good food at reasonable prices combined with warm and friendly service. Inside venue is clean, welcoming with a friendly vibe. Greatly enjoyed our lunch in a comfortable and hospitable venue.

1  Thank Baz4204
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Hi Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. It is always great to hear nice things about our pub. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the furture. Andrew and the team.

Reviewed May 26, 2017

One bar person was chatting to friends over the bar whilst making four mojitos. The other bar person took five minutes to pour two double drinks for the couple in front of me. They then asked for another two drinks so asked her if anyone...More

Thank AbFab666
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hi AbFab666 Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was sorry to hear about your long wait for a drink and your disappointing experience with us. This is certainly not our usual standard and I apologize for the speed of service of...More

Reviewed May 15, 2017

Waited a while to get served, got there eventually. Sat outside, small seating are outside which is very pleasant . Pleasant views of the river. Standard slug and lettuce fare, drinks and prices

1  Thank John S
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hi, I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the river and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Andrew and the team

Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

This place has a great location right by the river. My friend and I stopped here for some cocktails. Their espresso martini is great, however needs to be stronger! My friend was disappointed in their "top pick" strawberry daiquiri. The service is painfully slow, you'd...More

2  Thank Saintlysinner
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Hi Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We currently have a number of new team members due to the season changing and us getting busier. They have a lot of cocktails to learn so sometimes service can slow depending on...More

Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Waiting for food very long time and was disappointed with brunt dinner. Otherwise the place is nice with friendly staff. Toilets - Use only in extreme instances!More

Thank Nikki V
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Hi Nikki Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was sorry to hear about your long wait for food and your disappointing meal. This is certainly not our usual standard and I am glad my team made you feel welcome. With regards...More

Reviewed April 15, 2017

Visit here regularly when staying at my apartment in Kew. This time ordered Bibimbap which is Korean sticky rice, pak choi, peppers, onions, kimchi, edamame beans and radish topped with fried egg, drizzled chilli sauce and strips of beef. Washed down with pint of beer....More

1  Thank Grumpygitt2
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Hi Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to get positive feedback about what we are doing here. We look forward to your next visit. Andrew and the team

Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We booked a table at the Slug and Lettuce for a Thursday evening and as there was a large crowd in we ended up having to find our own table with the reservation name on. Finally we ordered after almost 20 mins drinks and food...More

Thank ila p
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is only through all feedback that we can improve. I was glad to hear you enjoyed our cocktails, but disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations with our quality of food...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Richmond Park Hotel
125 reviews
.16 miles away
Riverside Hotel - Richmond
28 reviews
.21 miles away
Travelodge London Richmond Central
236 reviews
.26 miles away
Bingham
469 reviews
.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Richmond Vault Beer Cellar & Restaurant
491 reviews
.10 miles away
The Ivy Cafe Richmond
449 reviews
.09 miles away
Revolution
413 reviews
.05 miles away
Cote Bistro - Richmond
590 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
So Bar Richmond
146 reviews
.19 miles away
The Poppy Factory
30 reviews
.26 miles away
Richmond Theatre
241 reviews
.30 miles away
Museum of Richmond
63 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dazza471
November 10, 2017|
Answer
Response from Slug_Richmond | Property representative |
Hi Dazza, Under 18's are not allowed on the premises past 8pm on Friday and Saturday nights.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $20
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Richmond-upon-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8948 7733
  • E-mail
Description
A perfect riverside location, The Slug & Lettuce is a very popular destination venue, especially during the summer months. The venue is family friendly allowing children from opening until 8pm daily, over 21's thereafter. Breakfast, lunch, dinner & take-away available. Parties are welcome. Great deals on cocktails, wine & food throughout the week. Our friendly staff will look after all your needs when visiting!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;