We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hanging Gate Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Meg Lane | Higher Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NG, England
441260400756
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such a lovely professional service. Can't praise this pub, the staff, chef and restaurant enough. Thanks to all of you. You made our day.. Food/steak mussels everything so gorgeous ... real chips.. and you know what I mean.... if you love proper food. . heaven Landlord made an effort to come down and chat away. And say thank you and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Graham! Thank you so much for your brilliant review, I'm thoroughly happy you enjoyed your experience with us and for shared it with everyone. Its always a pleasure and I look forward to seeing you soon. Best Regards Jamie More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

7 of us booked a table to eat dinner on a Thursday evening. The venue was quiet and for June a cold wet evening. We all had starters which were reasonably tasty but some of the accompaniments and presentation was lack lustre. Main course, various. I had the duck which had a strange texture and the waffles were very salty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LacyRuth
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We pride ourselves on our food and I'm sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your visit too us. Ive spoken to both of the waiting on staff that evening and they are both unsure as to why you didn't let us know about these... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Xmas party for which we booked the whole lower room. Food well presented from an interesting menu. Staff attentive, enthusiastic and keen to make the event a success from first phone call to our departure. Food ordered in advance which was reasonable given the large party size. Thank you all...we will certainly organise further group events with you.

Helpful?
Thank Moira N
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hi Moira! Thank you for leaving us a review! Better late than never :) I'm glad you enjoyed your Christmas party with us! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe even this year hopefully! Once again thank you. Best regards Jamie More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely small lunch menu, hubby had belly pork starter and we both chose a lamb main which were cooked and presented beautifully. Young landlord is a delight and obviously loves his job. There is always good beer on tap if you're an ale drinker. The pub has several rooms so you can be cozy in the snug or more formal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you for your very kind review! I'm glad to hear that our new A'la carte lunchtime special has hit the spot! Were very happy with it. I'm also happy that my enthusiasm shows, You have made my day with your lovely compliments, thank you :) I look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best regards Jamie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here yesterday for a pub lunch with a close person, the view of the table we was sat was absolutely incredible! We both had the steak sandwich which was delicious with a great rich taste! The service was perfectly timed and the customer service that was delivered was outstanding! We actually liked it that much we came back 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon! Cheers for your cracking review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed both of your visits on that day!!! Definitely a review that's in the top 10! You've made my day. I personally look forward to welcoming both of you back! Best Regards, Jamie :) More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its some time since our last visit, but for a change we decided to dine midweek. Although quaintly unique, it didn't have a homely appearance. The menu was very limited with not a great deal of choice, and the bar staff did not appear very knowledgeable regarding what food was available and what it came with. Despite ordering our drinks,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Micky270566
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello there! I apologise that you haven't had the experience we hope for up at The Hanging Gate, It saddens me to hear that nothing took your fancy and you didn't find it as homely as you had wanted. All I can say is that we have the highest standards of food, and the standards which we work to require... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First visit since the new management took over. Not a vast menu, but something for everbody and what they do, they do well. Great location, amazing views looking out over the Cheshire Plain to the Welsh mountains beyond. Friendly service: happy to chat but don't intrude.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello there Ian! Thank you for your review! I'm glad that you are happy with our service and our food. You hit the nail on the head! We strive to do what we do well, and I'm glad it met your expectations. Best Regards Jamie More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just stopped off hear on passing, had a nice pint and just some mains, well presented and very tasty. With the weather being on our side it was nice to sit outside and take in the view, brief stop but would happily go here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Honestfood71
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon! Thank you for your kind review! I look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards Jamie More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

First visit to this great location and cozy bar, but amateurishly run. They had wisely reduced the food menu today (just sausage and chips) due to the amount of visitors but didn't factor in enough staff to cope with even this. I thought the days of Brits having to put up with this low level of service had gone but... More 

Helpful?
Thank budapestman
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Sir. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't happy that day. It was myself who served you, and gave you a refund happily. We did bring out your hotdogs and chips, twice, but you were no where to be seen. Twice. Due to the amount of... More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We had lunch here recently having not been to The Hanging Gate since it changed ownership. The refurbishment is excellent and the decking area would be a dream on a hot sunny day. Our lunch was good and the service was excellent. One suggestion might be to explain that the duck is cooked very rare when it says 'pan fried'.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quarnford
Jamie U, General Manager at Hanging Gate Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon! Thank you for your kind review. We will certainly build on your comments; However I'm sorry to hear that the duck was too rare for your taste, however when we check back to see if everything is satisfactory you should let us know and we would be happy to sort the problem out for you, that is why... More 

Travelers who viewed Hanging Gate Inn also viewed

Kerridge, Bollington
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Hanging Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Meg Lane | Higher Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: 441260400756
Description
We are small country pub with outstanding views across the Cheshire Plain, we serve food of the highest standards, with a full a la carte menu aswell as a light bites lunch menu, a la carte served all day, light bites served 12.00 til 16.30 excluding Sundays. We have a range of award winning beer to compliment with continuous rotating guest ales.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hanging Gate Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?