We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro - CLOSED

1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9147 3373
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Oct 5, 2013
“what a dissapointment”
Dec 11, 2012
“Keep going back”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Irish, African, Barbecue, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
All Details
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

was talked into trying it again. sorry but still poor imitation of south african food. service slow and choice poor, I like to travel and spend quite a lot of time in capetown and the south coast. I won't be back twice was more than...More

Thank Beringer6182
redberrycoffee, Owner at Phezulu - South African Grill Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Is this 100% genuine????? I have contacted you on a number of occasions to clarify actual details of your visit, i.e time, date and the food you ordered - sadly I have received no response. You have stated in you review that you visited Phezulu...More

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Phezulu is a lovely little spot which doesn't seem to be ever packed out and believe me, it should! Food is always fresh and varied and the speciality meats are really worth a try. Always a different side to experience and the menu does get...More

1  Thank Chris W
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a meal as a family on around 28th july, We had to pre-book our meals and i was a bit worried but all I can say everything was unbelieveable. Service was brilliant, the meal was excellent, steaks cooked to perfection cant wait to...More

1  Thank Freda B
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to Phezulu because we had the Living social voucher. I went with my boyfriend who is from South Africa so we were looking forward to it! We both really enjoyed our meal.. the nacho's starter was lovely as were the potato skins. I...More

1  Thank fataliegarlic
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As my uncle and his SA girlfriend were in town for a few days we wanted to take them somewhere authentically south African. We were all very impressed as the menu was well presented and varied however steaks were the common choice. Michelle went for...More

1  Thank Stephenwjwebb
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Visited with a friend recently for a catch up and had a Living Social voucher due to expire soon. We both had starters and main courses which were lovely. There was a slight hiccup with my starter as the chicken was missing from the salad...More

Thank N_IrelandBlondie
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I had a great meal last week. We found the food to be very tasty and the steaks cooked to our liking. Well worth a visit.

2  Thank David_McCullagh
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Our second time at phezulu. Really good restaurant, especially if you fancy something a bit different. A couple of things let it slightly down this time. I ordered my steak and asked for medium and it was positively well done! Nevertheless very tasty. Also, we...More

1  Thank NorthernIrishGirl
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I visited the restaurant in July with my daughter's husband and parents who are from Cape Town South Africa. As Ive already pointed out to the owner the service was very poor with staff standing around chatting while we sat waiting for the table to...More

Thank Kate M
Reviewed July 30, 2012

havin a bad expreience in another restarant a while ago my wife was pushin me to try here. She had been here on a living social deal with one of her friends before and loved it. as i said, bad experiance put me off this...More

1  Thank rodriguez79
PreviousNext
1234567
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Bangor
Marine Court Hotel
579 reviews
.10 miles away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
479 reviews
.19 miles away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
2.43 miles away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
1,109 reviews
2.77 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Donegans
379 reviews
.12 miles away
The Rabbit Rooms
380 reviews
.10 miles away
KooK Bangor
97 reviews
.10 miles away
Bebe Adrianos Mexicanos
24 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bangor Castle Walled Garden
296 reviews
.35 miles away
Pickie Family Fun Park
236 reviews
.28 miles away
Ward Park
75 reviews
.62 miles away
North Down Museum
73 reviews
.44 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
$16 - $32
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Queens Parade, Bangor BT20 5AG, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Bangor
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9147 3373
  • E-mail
Description
At Phezulu we are privileged to have the opportunity to create menus & recipes that showcase our own fusion of local taste & preference with traditional & modern South African flavours. With our core emphasis on Braaing (barbecueing) all our meats we strive to produce exciting flavoursome dishes that appeal to both South Africans & locals alike. A blend of carefully selected authentic South African ingredients with local fresh produce allows us to produce unique dishes that are full of character & flavour. Phezulu is located in the heart of Bangor in a prestigious landmark building above The Red Berry Coffee Company. Once you step inside Phezulu the sights and sounds will make you feel like you have been transported to the heart of Africa. At Phezulu we strive to give you an all round South African experience offering you an insight into authentic cuisine and even a selection of exotic meats such as Ostrich, Springbok, Crocodile & Zebra. For those of who prefer to play it safe we offer a variety of dishes that are sure to please - including our tasty Peri Peri chicken and our flavoursome seafood chowder.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing