We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Caulkheads

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
+44 1983 405080
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
436 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Decent little pub, perhaps a little cliquey, but still worth popping into. Nicely set out and very clean and tidy. Drink a little expensive but it's a trendy pub based in a holiday resort so what else would you expect. One point of note, it has a very strange free Wi-Fi system.

Helpful?
Thank David S
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we certainly do our best to keep the pub looking clean and tidy and are glad you noticed this! Hope you will return again soon. More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Just been and had family evening meal. Staff very friendly and food was good value for money. Plenty of kids activities to keep the little ones occupied.

Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, we hope you will return again soon. More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

this is the first time weve ever visited the caulkheads due to previous bad reviews,but having seen it had been taken over and looked very nice we decided to try,and wow how lovely weve eaten in many a pub at home and away and always expect okish food that normally luke warm,well what a change the food was hot plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgina s
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you, we are glad you chose to visit us and that we excelled your expectations. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place. Great kids area. Food was good. Reasonable prices. Part of a chain pubs on the Isle of Wight

Helpful?
Thank Lee B
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, all feedback is very important to help us improve what we do. We hope you will return again soon. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Meeting up with some family with 2 small children, a great place for youngsters with so much to do to keep them occupied. Nice surroundings & decor, food was excellent with great portions & lots of taste. The only thing lacking was a nice atmosphere & staff void of personality, other than that it is a lovely place to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meals and hope that you will return in the near future. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thought the décor was great but the staff attitude was very poor, no customer service, very unwelcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We can only apologise that you didn't find us more welcoming, we really are a friendly bunch! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had vegetable lasagne, pork steak and two kids macaroni cheeses. Pub grub nothing special but we all enjoyed the meals, even if the vegetarians were missing a bit of protein (Quorn etc?) Pudding was disappointing, sticky toffee pudding didnt taste of toffee and huge warmed nuts (macadamia possibly?) throughout. Not a horrible desert but not as described. Homemade apple... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachdancol
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to hear that we have recently changed our dessert menu and have had our children's indoor play area re-furbished. We hope that you will return in the near future. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have only eaten here once however it was very nice. Only average pub grub but all of it was fine and the staff were good. Good range of drinks at the bar.

Helpful?
Thank braddazz2801
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed dining with us and look forward to your return. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a quick bite to eat. Found the staff very friendly. Food came out promptly and was very good. Price was reasonable. Was not disappointed and will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Sazwigmore
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Castle Bromwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding food .outstanding staff .amazing pub. We stayed at the caravan site behind the pub . And ate hear every night . We will return next year it was brill )))))))

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your return. More 

Travelers who viewed The Caulkheads also viewed

Sandown, Isle of Wight
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Caulkheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 405080
Description
Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle(weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Caulkheads staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?