We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


2A-4 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay NE26 1DG, England
+44 191 252 6242
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“pizza” (48 reviews)
“potato skins” (26 reviews)
“chicken kiev” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
2A-4 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay NE26 1DG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 325 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018

We were party of six and table booked for 19.15. When we arrived we were told just to take a seat downstairs by not a very pleasant member of staff. We were not offered a drink and when it got to 19.35 I had to...More

Thank Di C
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2018

Hi. I am saddened to read this review. Firstly, some of your party had ordered drinks downstairs, as you came upstairs with drinks, so to say you weren't offered drinks is untrue. I am aware there was a slight delay in your table being ready...More

Reviewed February 5, 2018

Had the £5.95 lunch 'special'. First visit as a taster for a possible evening meal, it didn't work. Surroundings were all right but fried potato skins with mayo, an average pasta dish and two small scoops of vanilla ice cream with squirty cream and a...More

Thank rollontheweekend
Reviewed December 20, 2017 via mobile

As always good , decent food served efficiently at very reasonable price. You what you're getting and always consistently good food. Hence there are a few around now, from the humble beginning at North Shields quay back in 2004. Try the Chianti - very nice!

Thank Mark W
Reviewed December 18, 2017

My wife and I opted to visit this restaurant again on Saturday the 9th of December, on arriving we nearly did not stay as we were shown a table for two which was to the left of the restaurant facing the main street and as...More

Thank Proper_Geordies
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

My partner, sister and I, went for meal here on the evening of the 28th of November. The food was very good, but a couple of the staff were incredibly inappropriate and invasive. An older waiter and a younger waitress, constantly approached our table to...More

3  Thank DrSmudger
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Hi. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed the meal, we work very hard to provide a good standard of food. I'm sorry you felt the staff to be invasive, but I assure you that this is just the staff doing their job. As...More

Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Perfect fillet steak. Incredible chicken kiev. Amazing price - including bottle of wine and starters for £47. Can't fault it!

Thank HellsBells280571
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful custom. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope when you make the trip up to sunny Whitley Bay again, you will join us. Thank you once again.

Reviewed November 25, 2017

Went for the first time in years hoping things might have changed. Yes the restaurant had been modernised and looked inviting but the food was not. Started with garlic bread which was as dry as toast and as tasteless, then tried chicken Kiev pizza which...More

Thank rutterjo
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Hi. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food, but the first instance this was verbalised to us, is when you were leaving the restaurant saying you were not impressed with the food. We do table checks during your meal, to ensure there are no...More

Reviewed November 23, 2017 via mobile

I was meeting 3 friends here and arrived just after 7.30 ( the table was booked for 7.30) and made my way upstairs. When I got there I was told I had to wait downstairs for the rest of my party. I asked if I...More

Thank NicolaWWhitleyBay
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Hi. I'm sorry you felt that we have 'weird rules' here at Sambucas. As you probably noticed, we were rather busy at the time of your visit, and we have these 'rules' so that we can operate the restaurant efficiently. It is standard procedure that...More

Reviewed November 12, 2017

My son and his wife came up from Cambridge, and London! They thought it was fabulous! The food was good, the service was swift....and the the birthday treatment was quite something! Thank you all, I enjoyed my birthday celebration enormously!!

Thank CarolM190932
ManagementSWB, General Manager at Sambuca, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

We enjoyed having you as customers so we are very glad to hear your visit was enjoyable with us also. We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you.

Reviewed October 23, 2017

We enjoyed a family lunch today when the £4.99 three course special satisfied all members of three generations of our family. Good value Italian food as pleasant efficient service

Thank jeannem276
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Whitley Bay
Windsor Hotel - Whitley Bay
344 reviews
.17 miles away
York House Hotel & Apartments
242 reviews
.18 miles away
The Metropolitan
356 reviews
.20 miles away
Oaktree Lodge
236 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Roxburgh
160 reviews
.07 miles away
Cornerstone Cafe
59 reviews
.09 miles away
Shukran Indian Restaurant
88 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Jacks Den Softplay
7 reviews
.25 miles away
Pirate Escape
292 reviews
.06 miles away
Thai Orchid Spa and Massage
139 reviews
.06 miles away
Jam Jar Cinema
127 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gina M
So, do you think it is appropriate to imply that the reason someone has written a review ( which may or may not be in you're favour) is because they were heavily intoxicated? Wow, cheap shot by anyone's standards. Having worked in the food industry myself and dealt with difficult customers as well as reasonable my response was always the same. In this instance I would have done the same for both types of customers as you always do, apologise and offer a replacement of the same meal. My motto is the customer is always right even if they are wrong it's irrelevant; i notice you have said that you recognised the customer and have from what I can see personally 'slagged' her off. What lovely loyalty you show to long term customers. If you had defended your restaurant with dignity and class this issue most likely would have been resolved, however you opted to personally attack someone which says more about the management of this establishment than the I initial review. Well well well....done
March 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ManagementSWB | Property representative |
All the relevant steps were done in this instance, and being rude and difficult was the customers only way to deal with our manager trying to resolve the issue professionally and politely. In this instance, in our opinion... More
April 26, 2015|
Response from Carly D | Property representative |
We have a number of risottos on the menu, as well as vegetarian dishes. Our staff will be happy to assist you and we are happy to cater for any specials dietary needs, if within our power. Regards.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2A-4 Park Avenue, Whitley Bay NE26 1DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Whitley Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 191 252 6242
A family friendly Italian restaurant in the heart of Whitley Bay. We pride ourselves on amazing food, at affordable prices.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor