We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant

80 High Street | Opposite Dash Is Hotel, Shanklin PO37 6NJ, England
+44 1983 868272
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (36 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 9:30 pmAll hours
CUISINES
British, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80 High Street | Opposite Dash Is Hotel, Shanklin PO37 6NJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We came here whilst on holiday, we headed here because we liked it when it was Legends and thought we would give it a try, we initially felt a little put off that they have a limited menu on a Sunday, but went with the...More

Thank Hastleon
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking time for such a lovely review all of our meats and 6 Vegetables are scoured very locally and cooked fresh all prepared on site by head chef we all @ decades appreciate the fine comments.many thanks.🌞

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stumbled upon this restaurant and thought we would give it a try. Went on a Sunday and ended up eating a carvery (as that's the only thing they were serving). The food was dry, the Yorkshire puddings clearly shop bought (not a problem usually, but...More

2  Thank 421Daniela_C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Decades – Steak and Seafood The interior décor is very traditional pub style, we had already eaten somewhere else and as the weather was gorgeous we had drinks in the sunny front garden. The staff were particularly friendly, which is the reason for the ‘very...More

Thank Branko V
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou we all appreciate your fine comments and from all of us @ decades and see you another bright day mayb.thank you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to eat before going to a show. We looked at the menu outside Decades and, as we did so, a girl came out from the restaurant and asked if she could help us. I replied that we...More

Thank ge0rge26
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks all of us @ decades appreciate good feed back and enjoy serving such good people as your selfs .thankyou.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hadn't booked dined early, no frills food, waitresses lovely, in and out no fuss, my husband loved his meal, and mine was fine. Perhaps the salad could be upped, bit basic and far too much onion. Would go there again.

1  Thank bina737
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Looking forward to seeing you again thankyou from all of us @ decades

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Decided to give this restaurant a try as it was our last night on the island. We were asked if we were eating and bombarded with information about the menu before we had even reached the door, this should have served as a warning of...More

4  Thank Sheila R
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

All of us @ decades are equall and treat every person with the upmost respect,I like the general feed back but come on surely what did you want the cold shoulder treatment.we are all trained to very high standards and I would like to invite...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was tasty, but rather quick to be put on the table - especially considering our meal consisted of new potatoes and chicken! Certainly felt it couldn't have been cooked to order in that time - the food was put in front of us approx....More

1  Thank Debbie B
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi I do really understand truely please next time give me 50 mins prior and new pots will be cooked just for you.there is no business round these parts that cook new pots to order again I do like feed back and many thanx.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to Decades and was greeted by our waitress with warm smile, fantastic service and really tasty meal. Sunday roast was delicious, tasty & plentiful - best roast potatoes I've had (other than my own, lol). Chef was friendly and made you feel very...More

Thank Martine C
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou so much well appreciative such a lovely couple and we can't wait to see you again ..

Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

On a cloudy Sunday lunchtime on holiday and wandering through Shanklin we spotted Decades sign for a £9.95 carvery. We were greeted by friendly staff and although the soft drinks were pricey (could have bought four J2Os in a supermarket for less than the price...More

Thank Patti_A_C
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So pleased you enjoyed our Sunday carvery hope to see you again soon thank you.

Reviewed May 13, 2017

Was expensive for what it was. when we asked if they could change a tenner, they said they couldn't so we were unable to leave a tip

Thank ray_illingworth
James B, Public Relations Manager at Decades Steak & Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I phi we do understand the change issue that night it was busy with over 60£ in change in the till from 6pm and on a weekend was one of those nights change was cained hard.as for the expense have seen my bills.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Keats Cottage
198 reviews
.02 miles away
Pendletons
741 reviews
.04 miles away
The Happy Haddock
413 reviews
.05 miles away
The Old Thatch Tearooms
827 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
JURASSIC JIM
455 reviews
.09 miles away
Shanklin Theatre
514 reviews
.05 miles away
Shanklin Chine
1,762 reviews
.24 miles away
Rylstone Gardens
226 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
ray_illingworth
The response is 5 weeks old, and obviously written very quickly, and difficult to understand. No response would probably have been better
June 20, 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Branko V | Reviewed this property |
I can't see any answers posted, although I'd like to help if I can - which answer are you referring to? Has the hot weather got to you? (34C predicted today!)
-1
Votes
JohnWGa1
Do they do vegitarian
April 5, 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from James B | Property representative |
Hi there ,decades Restaruant serve 4 veggie options ,broccoli bake ,veggie sausages ,veggie curry,and a bean burger ,and our Sunday carvery consists of 6 veg and we also do vegetarian sausages if required .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $48
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80 High Street | Opposite Dash Is Hotel, Shanklin PO37 6NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 868272
Description
We are glad to announce that our sunday carvery is now up and running local produce used,home made gravy and stuffing, IOW 3 meats on the very week to choose from and 5 fresh veg.Full menu also available including our succulent burgers, Steaks, BBq spare ribs cooked slowly in the oven or why not try something in our fish range from a light bite calamari or tiger prawns to Moules, crab cakes ,sea bass and salmon fillets,or treat yourself and share a platter for 2 with a bottle of las condas merlot or a Sauvignon. We are open 6 days a week Tuesday to Sunday 5pm till late with full choice of menu and chefs own specials, and Sundays 11 am till 9pm,with choice of either full menu or a traditional carvery served until 3 o'clock with all locally scoured 3 meats and 5 fresh different locally grown vegetables Yorkshire puddings and real gravy, bookings highly advisable as we do get busy.Our steaks are Island produce as is much of our menu sourced very locally were we can.We cater for all tastes and hope to see you very soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing