We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rhylstone Gardens | Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 29: English reviews
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Visited tearoom with disabled relative on recommendation and seriously disappointed. On enquiring about type of scones available I was told no plain scones today. Other offerings in display case looked sad and not pleasing on the eye so voted with my feet like other visitors and went further up the road to the tearoom who had scones of many varieties

1 Thank Josie001
rylstone2015, Owner at Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry that there were no plain scones left on the day you visited but our cream teas are particularly popular and we had unfortunately sold out, although we did have fruit or cherry scones available. We hope you understand that, as a busy food establishment, as much... More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2016

The friendly new owners have transformed their already beautiful tea-room garden, filled with colourful pots and planters, into a bee and butterfly-friendly haven. They use no pesticides and have focused on plants which are best for pollinators. The crazy golf in the centre of the tea rooms and garden is our favourite on the island, traditional and unpredictable! Had a... More 

1 Thank Beth S
Barking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2016

Have visited this place many times over the years and were told it had been taken over so had to go and sample. Pleased to say it is just as good with a lovely selection of cakes. I think they had only just opened for the season when we visited but there were still many people there, eating, drinking and... More 

1 Thank Susan O
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2016 via mobile

We visited Easter weekend. Cafe has been revamped and is much improved on last summer. Much more space between tables and has been generally tidied up etc. Staff all extremely polite and friendly. Only reason we haven't given 5 starts is that the food is very basic, i.e no onions or cheese offered with burgers & chips, no garnish etc,... More 

3 Thank NellieB50
West Wickham, Kent
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2015

We visit the Island several times a year staying at our all time favourite, Manser B & B at Steephill. The snag is that when we come for our first break in February and our Autumn one in October, these super tea gardens are not open - wah!!! So that means at least another couple of visits during their open... More 

Thank DennisWestWickham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

I recently visited these tea gardens whilst visiting my sister on the Isle of Wight with my OAP mother. It was pouring down with rain and it was not the first time my sister had been to these tea gardens as she lives locally. We ended up in a awful argument with the owner who is male who over heard... More 

2 Thank Rach1234_LondonSouth
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2015

Very 'clicky' unfriendly staff, very biased dog policy, very rude to the elderly, will never return, too many nicer places to go very nearby, DREADFUL

Thank poppy d
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2015

The food was lovely, very decent sized portions for lunch, and all came with a lovely fresh salad on the side. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. the surroundings are so beautiful, especially on a sunny day. The food came very quickly. My elderly grandmother, who hadn't been feeling very well, really enjoyed this as her... More 

Thank LulaB-Z
Level Contributor
223 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2015

I used to come here as a child and 40 years on was delighted to find it as I remembered it .. a small tea garden bedecked with flowers next to the crazy golf, just a few yards from the Old Village. Tea and cakes surrounded by birdsong- lovely.

Thank Andy63
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2015

The flower garden is lovely - well kept and colourful, so eating outside is a pleasant experience, especially after a round of crazy golf! Food is good value, and service was quick.

Thank Ian B

Travelers who viewed Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight

Been to Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
    5 of 5 bubbles
Cafe, British
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rhylstone Gardens | Rylstone Gardens, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rhylstone Gardens Tea Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?