We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Thatch Tearooms

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
+44 1983 865587
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

690 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 685: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a lovely place I took my granddaughter and a friend there for lunch my granddaughter loved the fairy cream tea my friend and I had sandwiches and scones best I've ever tasted service was second to none nothing was too much trouble will definitely be going again beautiful gardens fantastic all round Thank you for a lovely time my... More 

Helpful?
Thank kenrackett
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely tea, but unfortunately exceptionally rude and patronising service to go with it. Try somewhere else on the Island where you can experience great friendly service, as well as nice afternoon tea. All I can say is pay attention to the other negative reviews on here, in my opinion, they are all spot on.

Helpful?
Thank newyorkholiday21
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Yes I was informed about this incident and I am sorry if you found it patronising to be informed that It is not our Policy to share one order for Tea between four !!! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were actually going to have coffee but so glad we changed our minds and opted for tea and scones. Best tea I have had in a long time. The scones were homemade and warm. The best bit was our lady server who was really accommodating as we wanted to sit outside/ although the weather was warm there were heavy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
Churchill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It maybe worth a visit for a high tea. The sandwiches are the smallest in the world and scones pretty good and cake likewise but a little pricey. Friendly staff, a bit of the old world feel if you like that with a garden if you can be seated

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

You are right we are extremely popular and can be hugely busy both inside in our Tearooms and outside in our Beautiful Fairy Garden. Patricia More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went in August on a very sunny day so it was quite quiet as most people were on the beach. We enjoyed our tea in the garden. The cakes and scones were delicious with the scones still warm from the oven. The sandwiches were a bit small for our liking and because it was so hot they were a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chezza2315
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review of my Beautiful Teashop & Magical Fairy Garden. We do give the plastic Schmoo glasses of Milkshake to children so they can take it with them if they are unable to finish it all !! Thank you for your recommendation and hope you visit again. Patricia More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were out in the "Old Village" for an afternoon stroll and decided to pop into the Old Thatch for a cup of tea and a slice of cake, as we had some friends with us who had never been there before. We took them inside and were shown to a table straight away, our friends loved the atmosphere of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terence W
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of my Beautiful Teashop & Fairy Garden and I am so pleased your friends enjoyed themselves. Thank you also for your recommendation and I hope to meet you all again very soon. Patricia More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Very disappointed! Ordered Victoria tea which consisted of tea, sandwiches, scones and Victoria cake. The tea came after 30 minutes, the rest didn't come for an hour and ten minutes, by this time the tea was gone. I asked for more and was told they would top up the teapot with hot water - that way I wouldn't be charged!... More 

Helpful?
Thank K W
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

So sorry you had to wait so long but I did inform you, as I did everyone else, that we were absolutely full and that there would be a delay and I repeatedly updated everyone as to where their order was in the line. Patricia More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visit this beautiful tearoom every time we come to the Isle of Wight , the cream teas here are without a doubt the best on the island and the building is beautiful and the owner Pat works so hard to keep it spotlessly clean . The plain scones we had were freshly baked and very very tasty ( they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe H
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your absolutely brilliant review and I am so pleased you understand how hard we all work to make your experience a wonderful one. You are right I am extremely proud of my Beautiful Magical and Enchanting Teashop and Fairy Garden. I look forward to meeting you again on your next visit. Patricia More 

Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I were on a mini break to the Isle of Wight and visited Shanklin yesterday, we had the most amazing time in the tea shop. We were given a warm welcome and seated straight away in the fairy garden it was gorgeous the service and food was beautiful. Would recommend this to everyone its a must if... More 

Helpful?
Thank _mandyduncombe71
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of my Beautiful Teashop and Magical Fairy Garden and I am really pleased that you had such an enjoyable time. Thank you also for your recommendation and I look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to IOW.. Patricia More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very Busy, excellent staff, very helpful, food selection good ,very large slices of cake, one of the nicest tea rooms I have every been to, reminded me of Sally Lunns in Bath but much prettier

Helpful?
Thank jinnygreen
whatham, Owner at The Old Thatch Tearooms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and I am so pleased that you thought my Beautiful Teashop & Fairy Garden was 'one of the nicest tea rooms' you have ever been to. I put a lot of effort and thought into trying to make all my Customers have the most enjoyable time. Patricia More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch Tearooms also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Old Thatch Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $13
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Soups, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Shanklin
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 865587
Description
A beautiful and unique Award Winning 'olde world' Teashop and Fairy Garden offering 'the best Cream Teas', sandwiches, snacks, traditional fare and cakes. Many items on our menu are Gluten Free.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Thatch Tearooms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Wirral
3 months ago
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Thatch Tearooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?