We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holts Arms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18 Crank Rd | Billinge, Wigan WN5 7DT, England
+44 1695 628006
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There were 4 of us having a belated, combined, Birthday meal. We have tried a lot of places around and about for a Sunday treat, and having looked online at the reviews and menu we thought we'd try The Foot. Well it isn't great. The food is OK pub fare. I suspect that if we were regulars then the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 871 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped of at the holt arms for a birthday meal as we live local and have not eaten here since it has been taken over by new management.I have to say on this occasion nothing has changed much,very much the same issues as before,the staff lack training and seem distant at the best of times and the food was ok... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank illuminate322
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a meal here with family and there were just too many niggles to make it an enjoyable experience. At first glance it looks like a lovely country pub , it's a beautiful old building with lovely gardens and an ample car park. However inside it looks a bit grubby and run down, quite a few of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CherryFunk
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked a table for 4 last night and had a great evening, As always, the food and ales were very good. Our dog is always welcome here as well which we appreciate.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived for an early dinner around 6pm this evening, in anticipation of an enjoyable meal, in an agreeable, relaxing atmosphere. Although the place was almost devoid of diners, we were told that we might have to wait up to an hour for our order to be delivered to the table, although in reality the food was served reasonable quickly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jimh20130305
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for tea tonight to celebrate and stumbled across steak night! Omg it was amazing! Took the dog to save taking a doggy bag home for her as she was welcome there, hoping she'd get our fat of the steak... to our and HER horror there was no fat! Cooked perfectly, fabulous offer on steak night, small play area for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank emma j
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this review

hi thanks for your lovely review, its greatly appreciated by all of us here at the Holts Arms. Just to let you know we do a range of doggy treats-pigs ears, dentistix and various chews- for our four legged friends, so the next time you visit the dog won't be disappointed! thanks Ian More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look its a god pub in a lovely location. BUT it has a few minor areas where it could be so much better. If if it addressed these then (in my opinion) it could be a jewel in the crown. So food is good pub food and the main pub is oldy worldy so pleasing to the eye and cosey.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mr b
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this review

thanks for your review. We always take note of comments here on trip advisor and I have reviewed yours with my manager and he will discuss with the staff concerned. Re the garden room, we are limited to changes given the structure itself and we have reviewed and made improvements since your visit, i hope you like them thanks again... More 

manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on a family celebration today and we were all disappointed . Food nothing special at all some bits piping hot and some lukewarm however customer service very poor rude staff who had absolutely no interest - wouldn't recommend it shame as its a lovely pub !

Helpful?
Thank cazza123barto
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this review

sorry you didn't enjoy your visit We always try to check customers are happy with the service and food when they are still here but it seems we must have missed you, if you are unhappy we can address this at the time. More 

Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We (20) of us arrived from work at 12 noon. By 12.15 we were all sat in front of our pre - ordered beautifully prepared food. Every time we go somewhere, someone gets the wrong item or its not hot, or they are sat waiting ages for one dish to come out of the kitchen and the rest of us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this review

thanks very much for your kind review, I have passed this onto my manager here at the Holts and I am glad you enjoyed your visit here. Nice those fishcakes aren't they?!! proving very popular this summer thanks again ian More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Nothing too bad about things here, but nothing spectacularly brilliant either. Worth a try if your hungry and passing

Helpful?
Thank Cricketdad
NWINNS, Owner at Holts Arms, responded to this review

thanks for your review More 

Travelers who viewed Holts Arms also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Billinge, Greater Manchester
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Holts Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Healthy
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Crank Rd | Billinge, Wigan WN5 7DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Wigan
  • Phone Number: +44 1695 628006
Description
Fabulous Home cooked food in a 17th century inn with excellent wines and quality cask ales, roaring fires in winter, stunning beer garden in the summer. One of the best little pubs in Lancashire!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Holts Arms and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holts Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?