We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

$$ - $$$, British,
Unit 7 Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
+44 845 126 2900
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good28%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible21%
Dec 22, 2017
“Nice pub”
Nov 28, 2017
“Slug and Lettuce, High Street, Colchester”
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Unit 7 Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 130 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

A group of 12 of us went to Durham city centre for my hen night on Saturday night. We stayed in the premier inn just next door. We decided to go to the slug and lettuce for breakfast on the Sunday morning so on Saturday...More

Thank VickiLouise85
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are disappointed to hear about your experience on your last visit to the Slug and Lettuce, Durham. All feedback is appreciated and taken on board. We do hope that you will...More

Reviewed August 2, 2015

Big place. Close to city centre. Nice terraces for fine days. Probably very lively later on..! Pleasant bar staff.More

Thank Nick170
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Slug, Durham. We hope you will visit us again very soon. I will be sure to pass your...More

Reviewed July 28, 2015

We came as a group for an early tea on a Saturday afternoon, the food was over priced and we were very disapointed when it came, one person's had to go back because the chicken was still pink, a further two members of the group...More

Thank Metty69
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are disappointed to hear about your experience on your last visit to the Slug and Lettuce, Durham. All feedback is appreciated and taken on board. We do hope that you will...More

Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Came to the slug and lettuce for lunch and found it to be a very chilled out place. Food was average and a tad over priced for the amount we had, but staff were very friendly and welcoming.More

Thank Susanna B
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Slug, Durham. We hope you will visit us again very soon. I will be sure to pass your...More

Reviewed July 25, 2015

A huge building which we had seen pretty full on the Saturday night however when we ate there on the Sunday night it was deserted. The food was nice but we were disappointed not to have our chosen dessert because they had no marshmallows which...More

Thank 40leas
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Slug, Durham. We hope you will visit us again very soon. I will be sure to pass your...More

Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Sitting here in the slug and lettuce writing this review as I am that incensed.... We have ordered burgers and paid for them along with our beer. Whilst waiting for our food we were told that a vital component of the sloppy Mac burger was...More

Thank Nichola C
SlugDurham, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a Trip Advisor review. We are disappointed to hear about your experience on your last visit to the Slug and Lettuce, Durham. All feedback is appreciated and taken on board. We do hope that you will...More

Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

Always liked the slug in Durham. The food is nice, if a little on the expensive side for what it is. The pub itself is looking a bit tired and in need of renovation. Carpets held down with tape, trim hanging off the walls, paint...More

Thank DaveFTM
Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

I was told when i went to the bar to order our food that there was an hour wait as their kitchen was small! The answer is to get a bigger kitchen then! I then went to lloyds bar over the road and was eating...More

1  Thank Chris M
Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

Food was average pub fare and the service was good. The setting isn't great but as a family we had a good feed and it's very central - you also know what your gonna get from a chain like the slug and lettuce. Family friendly,...More

Thank GarethDurham
Reviewed July 14, 2015

I just hate it, its got no atmosphere, it's full of students and its murder trying to get to the bar. I'd rather go to the fighting cocks.

Thank Jeffrey D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Durham
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1,763 reviews
.05 miles away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2,817 reviews
.15 miles away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
1,671 reviews
.23 miles away
Durham Castle
223 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bells Fish Restaurant
945 reviews
.12 miles away
Tia's
363 reviews
.09 miles away
Ebony Champagne Bar
445 reviews
.01 miles away
Spice Lounge
292 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Crook Hall & Gardens
808 reviews
.28 miles away
Palace Green
203 reviews
.28 miles away
Durham Castle
1,014 reviews
.21 miles away
Gala Theatre Durham
279 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$25 - $28
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit 7 Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  County Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 845 126 2900
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;