We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Panniers

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
40
86
40
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
40
86
40
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pulled chicken quinoa salad lamb shank cod and chips nachos pizza queen's theatre quick food quick drink what it says on the tin nice atmosphere busy pub food arrived served quickly visiting barnstaple bite to eat great lunch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I have never had a problem with my food or the service here, I’ve eaten here so many time. The price is very fair and the food is always good! Would go again anytime.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 959kellymariej
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food excellent, service at bar excellent, smiles a plenty which mean a lot. YEP NO ONE CAN BEAT SPOONS IN BARNSTAPLE THE PANNIERS IS TOPS.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank brucen403
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for your very kind review and we do strive to be the best and welcome all our customers with a smile and a joke or two. we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been visiting here for about 7 or 8 years, with a group of between 12 and 20 men usually on a Curry Club or Steak Club night, about every 2-3 months. I don't think I have ever been disappointed either with the food...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank richardi784
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Richard for your kind review and it is always a pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this particular Wetherspoons several times, it's right opposite the Theater in Barnstaple so great for pre - event meals. Also to pop out to get an interval drink. Wetherspoons NEVER disappoints for value for money

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Michael O
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Love this Spoons and visit regularly. I have only one gripe and that is that there is very rarely any soya milk available. It has almost ALWAYS run out and there is nothing staff can seem to do. No way of complaining as it’s obviously...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Inkabeck
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry this has happened on more than one occasion, unfortunately we do run out of stock of certain things sometimes however we promise to address this issue and improve our availability of this product.

Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

Popping into Barnstaple on business, my husband suggested we call at the two wetherspoons to be found in Barnstaple. We called at both the Watergate and the Panniers but it is the panniers we prefer. Although smaller size wise than the Watergate it has a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MrsBee55
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit, your meals and the real ale that was on offer, We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed December 5, 2018

First visit to Barnstable and its high priced parking charges. We have got into the habit of finding Wetherspoons when we travel as a good place to take a break. Good places for coffee and a late breakfast. We like looking at how the designers...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Peter_Dawes
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed November 28, 2018

Our first visit to Barnstable, and we didn't know if they had a Wetherspoons, but it seems there are two. We were directed to the Panniers, and although we had some difficulty finding it, we were pleased we did. For any newbies, turn off the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Stanjeve
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed November 2, 2018

Day visit back to my home town,. Wetherspoons is always a good option for food and the Panniers was no exception. Two meals plus a large orange juice and a pint of decent beer for less than £15 is excellent value. Reaĺly quick service too...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dave B
thepanniers, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 14, 2018

Not afraid to eat at a Wetherspoons - always a good selection on the menu and the prices are very fair..........however - sometimes you do indeed get what you paid for. Initial choice of Lamb Shanks was off the menu on the evening we visited...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sandie A
The Panniers J, Manager at The Panniers, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2018

Fortunately our Lamb shanks are very popular and sorry on this occasion we had sold out. Sometimes the quality of a steak cannot be determined until cooked and eaten and unfortunately can contain quite a lot of grizzle, for this please accept our apologies and...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
716 reviews
.13 miles away
The Imperial Hotel
1,967 reviews
.25 miles away
Park Hotel
943 reviews
.42 miles away
Barnstaple Hotel
1,618 reviews
.82 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 163 nearby restaurants
The Cream Tea Cafe
238 reviews
.05 miles away
Gurkha
310 reviews
.06 miles away
Block
104 reviews
.05 miles away
Woodys
110 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 54 nearby attractions
The Museum of Barnstaple and North Devon
155 reviews
.20 miles away
Queen's Theatre
108 reviews
.02 miles away
Rock Park
34 reviews
.31 miles away
St Anne's Arts & Community Centre
11 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
METZ89
January 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from Jannerbloke |
Do you have disabled access? Do you have free wifi? Do you allow children and or well behaved dogs? What are your opening days and hours? Do you bake all your own food? Do you take part in the 'suspended coffee... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing