We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mallams Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Trinity Road | The Old Harbour, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
+44 1305 776757
Website
Today
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Wow! Our dinner was delicious.... starters was Thai fish cakes & pigeon .... both delightful. Then lemon sole & fish casserole.... superb! Service was excellent too a very chatty young lady who knew the menu and willing to tend to our needs. Responsibly priced al a carte very nicely presented. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Food is fantastic.Very good range of cocktails and wines. Service by friendly caring staff is excellent. can't wait to return.

Helpful?
Thank 3Angie76
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were fed up and decided to walk the front at Weymouth, arrived at Mallams purely by chance, though we had read about them on the internet.we hadn't booked a table, but we were made welcome and given a lovely table.The attention to detail in the welcome, coats taken away and hung up, description of the specials and answers to... More 

Helpful?
Thank clikar
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you both. It was a pleasure to serve you on both occasions. It is great to have people visiting from "over the border". We hope you enjoyed the show at Weymouth Pavilion and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife has had gastric problems that mean that she needs to eat relatively plain food - in the sense of not spicy, buttery or with much fat. We ate at Mallams 3 times last week and the waitresses were very helpful and attentive, making sure that we could get the food that we wanted, to the extent of replacing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. It is gratifying to hear that our efforts on behalf of your wife were appreciated. We do try our very best to accommodate everyone with special dietary requirements where possible. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and overall experience and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read the reviews of Mallams I was really looking forward to experiencing the food here. However I decided to have a "freshly squeezed orange juice" with the juice of fresh oranges as my drink. I was amazed when I looked up from choosing the main course to see my "freshly squeezed orange juice" being poured out of a carton!!!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shadow940
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. I think there must have been a misunderstanding because in our drinks list it states that the orange juice is "pure squeezed" not freshly squeezed. Unfortunately lack of space dictates that we use a good quality supplier for our fruit juices much as we would love to serve freshly squeezed juices. We are disappointed that... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never before felt strongly enough to write a bad review about a restaurant, but on this occasion I feel I must vent my frustration. Having booked a table at Mallam's in Weymouth a couple of years ago and being ushered to a table right next to the toilet and after asking politely to be moved to a more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacob M
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry that you feel this way. When you were in the restaurant you were very gracious about the error and therefore I am surprised you felt compelled to review us. Naturally we totally understand your frustration, we too would have been annoyed. However, It was an honest mistake on the part... More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food, excellent service, expensive but you get what you pay for. A very nice dining experience. Small, but not too intimate.

Helpful?
Thank Harry3310
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We are delighted you enjoyed everything. We do of course do meat, game and poultry on our menu, perhaps next time you might like to experience some of our non-fish dishes and we look forward to welcoming you. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

had a lovely meal for 4 of us. service fantastic. food was amazing. decoration was lovely. thanks for a good meal!! will be back

Helpful?
Thank karloe76
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. Really happy that the four of you had such a great experience. We hope you will be in to see us again soon. More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not normally fond of these type of restaurants set in old quay side houses (small and cramped) but this was different , we were seated at the rear of the restaurant and it sometimes felt like we were having dinner made just for us,The food was really good and the service was warm and friendly,only one chef working that night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeandy19
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting. We are so pleased that you joined us for the evening and that the surroundings and food exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I was visiting Weymouth just for the evening it was our anniversary and had not booked anywhere. Was about 6.30pm and was greeted by a lovely waitress so very sweet and helpful. We were in time to have the free glass of prosecco which was nice. We ordered our meal nice menu not too much to choose... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya B
Janice G, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you. We are pleased we made your anniversary meal a success. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Weymouth again soon and pop in for a meal with us here at Mallams. More 

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$21 - $51
Cuisine
British, Seafood, International, European, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:45 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Trinity Road | The Old Harbour, Weymouth DT4 8TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Weymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 776757
Description
Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the hands on owners make this a venue to remember. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mallams Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?