We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Nothe Tavern

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Barrack Road | Nothe Gardens, Weymouth DT4 8TZ, England
441305787300
Website
Today
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 426: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had an awesome dinner. Everything was very well cooked, the hake, the ox cheek... I always ask for Panna Cotta in a restaurant when it is available: Italy, Malta, Spain... but this one is the winner. It has The Best texture; it is pleasant and tasty. Congratulations!

Helpful?
1 Thank Quiti K
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. We have been told the Panna Cotta has the perfect wobble. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been Sunday lunching at the Notthe for maybe 15 years, and whilst the food has always been good I accept that for the most part is is or was largely pre-cooked and reheated. That being said it always hit the button and was more than enjoyable. The new menu is a change in direction and whilst a disappointment... More 

Helpful?
Thank seanlawless
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you when you feel its appropriate. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Since they have re-opened I have been and eaten twice and tried to eat another time. First time I went I had breakfast. I was the only person there but they were so slow. My bread arrived with no butter and when I asked for some brown sauce it arrived so late that I had nearly finished. The second time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clare B
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we have only been open for two weekends at breakfast time. I will look into why you your service was poor. Our steak option has now changed and will be implemented on Thursday. Locally sourced 8oz Sirloin steak with a tarragon and anchovy butter served with skinny fries and sautéd field mushrooms £16.50 More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Having heard about the Taverns refurbishment and new chef I was keen to try it again. First impressions are very good, decor is lovely and it was good to see its still dog friendly. However, menu is extremely limited, especially for children and very pricey. My Sunday roast cost a ridiculous £16.50 and consisted of some meat, 2 roast potatoes,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank raubs01
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sad to hear that you did not enjoy your food. Our kids menu consists of Garlic bread, Macaroni Cheese (V),Sausage and Mash, Fish and chips Mini chicken burger and chips, Ice cream from Purbeck: chocolate, strawberry, vanilla or honeycomb for only £6 made on the premises with real ingredients and not frozen. I believe... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've lived just round the corner from the Nothe Tavern for the last three years but rarely visited. A friend recommended I give it another try after the recent refurbishment. Saturday dinner was freshly prepared, beautifully cooked and used top quality local ingredients. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. If you want a menu with 20 dishes straight out the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdamJH23
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and for being able to recognize that our food is freshly prepared in our small kitchen. I'm so pleased you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited the restaurant 20th Aug 2016 for a family celebration, I found the staff excellent, the dinning area was a little like a canteen but the whole evening was spoilt by menu, the choice was so poor, I tried the steak dish, this was a cut from the skirt and really should have been in a stew not served... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brecat
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a shame that you did not enjoy your steak. Your comments have been noted. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My Wife,I,and Family member's went to The Nothe Tavern for a meal. We haven't been there for a while so we were rather apprehensive on what to expect in the food department, having had several changes of People running it over the time that we last there for a meal..One of my Son's, who is a Head Chef, recommended it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alan1948-12
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your endorsement. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Called in to The Nothe with my family. The makeover looks very nice, however the menu was rather sparse. There was nothing to tempt us and so we went elswhere. It is a shame as in the past we have had some really nice meals there. We also though it was a bit pricey. We have been in since, just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The pub will be changing it's menu as time goes on, although we will be concentrating on delivery quality over quantity. I hope there is something to tempt you next time you are passing. More 

Weymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for a drink to see what the place looks like and have a look at the menu. Beautiful furnishings and lovely bright feel to the pub. Toilets much improved! Only had a coffee and my husband had a beer but all good. Menu looks great and we will be trying it soon. Staff were all friendly and eager... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TJWeymouth
EmmaCogswell, Owner at The Nothe Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you and your family. More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pub is under new management, they have clearly spent some money doing the place up. Its been opened up, and repainted. They have real ale and a good range of largers on tap including moretti. The food menu looks good and reasonably priced. This is the first time i have been since the new management so will definitely be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DazzaMcWazza

Travelers who viewed The Nothe Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Nothe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
11:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barrack Road | Nothe Gardens, Weymouth DT4 8TZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Weymouth
  • Phone Number: 441305787300
Description
We are a modern British pub serving the best in local and seasonal fresh food. Come and enjoy views of the historical Weymouth harbour. We are located in the peaceful Nothe Gardens and a short walk from the imposing Nothe Fort. We are open from 8AM for breakfast serving the Dury coffee and Tea Pigs quality infusions. Families and dogs are welcome. Try our award winning ale, sumptuous wines and home crafted menu all served with a smile and a warm welcome.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Nothe Tavern and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
4 days ago
London, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Nothe Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?