We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Benjamin Fawcett

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Middle Street North, Driffield, England
+44 1377 249130
Website
Today
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Fri - Sat 8:00 am - 1:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here on a Saturday early evening to enjoy food and drinks. Found a table easily as it seemed quiet even with it being early. We ordered a mixture of burgers, steaks and combos. With what seemed very little waiting time, our food soon arrived, hot and filling, we all enjoyed our selected dishes. Staff were pleasant as always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us this weekend and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visit family here many times in the year and we always come back without disappointment. It's a Wetherspoons so it's always going to be good value but the service is also very good here and although we're a large group when all in attendance the staff allow us to rearrange the furniture to suit.

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy visiting us and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food menu like all Weatherspoons. Service and food quality as ever. Most tables were full, but surprised at how fast our meals were at the table.

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening meals with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Excellent and good value for money. Good loaction and food was great. Would definetly visit again......

Helpful?
Thank johnbehan61
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you again for leaving such great feedback on the pub! More 

Hull, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2017

Had a lovely lunch in this pub, perfect for people with mobility problems as its flat, food was as ever very nice,good price,my only and biggest gripe is the staff allowing all and sundry to use the ground floor disabled toilet, In all the Wetherspoon pubs we have visited (which is many) you find half drunk men using the disabled... More 

Helpful?
Thank Den B
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food with us. We take on board your feedback with regards to our access toilet, we try to avoid people misusing it by having the key kept behind the bar. However we can not always help it when people leave the door open after they have... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Visted with a friend. It was like a playground, kids everywhere screaming for puddings, no parents under control. Glasses everywhere. Dirty, unwiped tables. Was extremly busy but what can you expect for bank holiday? I understand the staff are short staffed or it certainly looked that way and i know you were busy but you are only busy because you're... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank daisylou2015
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and take it on board to help us better ourselves for the future. I can only apologise that on this occasion you felt that the service was not up to standard, this is not acceptable and will be addressed. Unfortunately we were extremely busy on this day like you stated and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2016

My wife and I went there to try their Fish Friday meal. It was a very busy day but we didn't need to wait for long time for the food. The fish & chips were quite tasty. Lovely environment. Staff are nice. Would definitely try it again.

Helpful?
Thank Philip C
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future! More 

Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2016 via mobile

Poo on seats is unacceptable !!! Please remove the person concerned.If JD Weatherspoons Don t pick up on this .I am contacting Environmental Health. Reported daily !! It has to STOP.

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you brining this to our attention, however, we are already aware of the situation and this has been dealt with. We welcome a diverse range of customers into our establishment and hope it’s a place where everyone feels welcome. For this reason we will not be stopping the person from coming into the... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2016 via mobile

Wheelchair accessible but toilets upstairs. Good menu , but very dark inside . outside seating . this pub is situated in the high street of Driffield ( capital of the wolds ) market town

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do have an access toilet on the ground floor which can be accessed with a key. Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

We came here with friends for a few drinks and food. Given it was Bonfire night, we timed it so it was fairly quiet. We managed to find a free booth and ordered food and drinks. The food arrived fairly quick for a Saturday and was well prepared and presented. We regularly come here and never have any issue with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
BenjaminFawcett, Manager at The Benjamin Fawcett, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed visiting us and hope to see you again in the future! More 

Travelers who viewed The Benjamin Fawcett also viewed

Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Benjamin Fawcett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 1:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middle Street North, Driffield, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Driffield
  • Phone Number: +44 1377 249130

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Benjamin Fawcett staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?