We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coach & Horses Horns Cross

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $20
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
28
8
0
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
28
8
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast proper pub lovely landlady friendly pub small pub staying nearby evening meal great atmosphere tina cottage landlord clovelly ales regulars dogs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Would not recommend!!!!!! We planned for 4 of our party to go in to the pub while 3 others took the dogs for a quick walk then were going to join us but the owner/landlord was incredibly rude and refused to let us park in...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank joulzz
TinaB4497, Manager at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

I’m sorry you were unhappy with not being able to park in my car park. I don’t know who you spoke to as no one came to ask for permission while you walked to Peppercombe. It is very difficult to police as we only have...More

Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Turned up to this pub for a drink and a dog walk. 4 of the group were going to stay in the pub whilst the other 3 walked. As we got out the car the rude, obnoxious landlord couldn’t get out the pub quick enough...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank a1jacko
TinaB4497, Manager at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

I’m sorry you were unhappy with not being able to park in my car park. I don’t know who you spoke to as no one came to ask for permission while you walked to Peppercombe. It is very difficult to police as we only have...More

Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. Tina and Andy were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We had evening meal on two occasions and a cooked breakfast one morning, all of which were delicious. We also enjoyed Elvis...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Den5416
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Thank you

Reviewed November 15, 2018 via mobile

Staying nearby for a few days I called into this pub in need of good and rest. The landlady prepared some homemade soup and bread despite my arrival outside food hours.The soup and then crumble to follow was great. Consequently I returned the next day...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Denis D
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Thank you so much. Thank you for my drink you left behind bar.

Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

On a recent holiday with my children to Bideford, we happened upon this lovely little pub. Often when walking into a pub full of locals, you are initially made to feel ill at ease. Not so here. The lovely landlady, Tina and the locals made...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Climber13730138798
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you so much

Reviewed October 9, 2018

We fell into this pub after undertaking an epic walk in need of liquid refreshment. it's a lovely quirky pub, and the landlady and landlord were so friendly. We had left our car at the beginning of the walk so needed to catch a bus...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dee S
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2018

Thank you

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch and had a wonderful meal. The food was amazing and good portion sizes. All cooked on site from scratch and very good prices. The landlady was very friendly, giving my 3 year old a balloon to keep her happy. When I needed...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lucy S
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you so much

Reviewed August 17, 2018

The staff were so rude I couldn't even bring myself to check the menu before dragging the family out in disgust. The staff were appaling the previous two times we have attempted to eat there but I kinda hoped with time they may have retired/been...More

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank ReverendMunchausen
TinaB4497, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

I am sorry that you were disappointed on your visit. We have no staff. It’s just my partner and I.

Reviewed July 24, 2018

Visited pub while renting one of cottages next to it. Very friendly atmosphere, lovely landlady Tina and her partner Andy. Food is home cooked and very nice. I had a fish pie, cooked by Tina that morning, and it was delicious. Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Katerina M
Tina B, Manager at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you very much

Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited a couple of times whilst staying in the area recently really enjoyed it. The menu is full of good pub food and is homemade. Good choice of beer and great value for money. The service is really friendly. Best to book if you...More

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 1ZsazsaA
Tina B, Owner at Coach & Horses Horns Cross, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Thank you

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Hoops Inn
553 reviews
.62 miles away
Penhaven Country House Hotel
11 reviews
1.22 miles away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
416 reviews
3.15 miles away
Red Lion Hotel
735 reviews
4.25 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 161 nearby restaurants
The Bell Inn
163 reviews
1.23 miles away
The Bell Inn
84 reviews
3.00 miles away
The Farmers Arms
125 reviews
3.54 miles away
The Cottage Tea Rooms
215 reviews
4.27 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 61 nearby attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
2,055 reviews
3.54 miles away
The Big Sheep.
2,686 reviews
3.37 miles away
Clovelly Village
2,274 reviews
4.50 miles away
Little Stars
27 reviews
3.54 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
yogima
June 21, 2017|
Answer
Response from Alana G | Property representative |
Hi, at the moment we usually do food from midday until 4pm. However, bookings will be taken for Sunday evenings, up to 7:30pm. During the main school holidays, food will be served 12pm until 2:30pm and then from 6pm until... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing