We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Terrace

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Cafe, British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
58 Brookley Road | Brockenhurst, Hampshire SO42 7RA, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RA, England
+44 1590 624625
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 124: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We visited this cafe a couple of times over the bank holiday weekend. We only had drinks but ranged from coffees to smoothies. All drinks were lovely and we also enjoyed the interior of the cafe. A lovely visit.

Helpful?
Thank cdw000
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
920 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for a quick lunch with family. Nice smoothies alongside a nice Goats Cheese Salad and a big bowl of cheesy chips (needed the carbs!). The area outside is nice to sit with dogs, with the tables far enough apart that it doesn't feel too cramped. It did get quite busy but it didn't slow down the service at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived not knowing I was about to have a 2hr quad bike tour so understandable was a little nervous but as soon as we got onto the amazing estate and the 2 tour guides (Mike didn't catch the others name) debriefed us I was all set to go. I've never had so much fun in 2hrs. The guides made... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had elevenses but ended up having a very nice scone with cream and jam. We sat outside with our dog but the inside looked very comfy with sofas. A nice place - we were well looked-after. Not mad about the colour-scheme!

Helpful?
Thank CatherineR779
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely little cafe in the heart of Brockenhurst. Friendly staff and speedy food orders. Wonderful milkshakes and superb light bites. Nice range of food and lovely outdoor seating. Air conditioning inside for very hot days. We came here several times whilst staying in the village for a week.

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie S
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to The Teerace on Sunday morning for breakfast. Looked extremely busy. Decided to sit inside and go to the counter to order. Had Coffee and breakfast..... Extremely clean, excellent service, good ambience. Would definitely return when we are next in the area

Helpful?
Thank rustonkaren
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Live locally and called in with my children this weekend Having spent £13 on 2 scones and 2 drinks for my girls. I asked if it was possible for them to provide a jam for the second scone. I was shocked at the girls incredibly rude response to me. She shouted in my face that I was refusing to pay... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank neilpbatty
G B, Owner at The Terrace, responded to this review

It is my responsibility to evaluate all reviews and if necessary investigate to see if/how we can improve our business, which according to the vast majority of other entries, most often offers a high quality customer experience. It is strange that negative reviews often seem to be selective in their content and exaggerated in fact. 1. According to our staff,... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place looked really inviting, but it was nothing special. No decaf coffee available so I opted for decaf tea which was fine. Despite having a full menus on the table, we were told only drinks and cakes were available. Service was ok. No wi-fi either!!! Could be so much better, but sadly didn't deliver today!

Helpful?
2 Thank SBCherry
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

We popped in having arrived in Brockenhurst from Sussex in need of a cup of tea - we sat outside which was lovely and enjoyed tea and a huge piece of delicious home made cake. The owner was really helpful with regards to directions to Lymington and the staff were smiley and efficient - the menu looked inviting and if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wiz C
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

We just wandered into this café on the off chance as we were parked next door and a table came available. The table was cleaned moments after the previous occupants left. And the manager came to check again soon after. Such diligence makes for excellent service and then the coffee tasted great as well... If you are looking in Brockenhurst... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnA_LE16

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$3 - $20
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Brookley Road | Brockenhurst, Hampshire SO42 7RA, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Brockenhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 624625
Description
WELCOME to THE TERRACE, open 7 days a week from 09.00, we pride ourselves on our service attitude and excellent, good value food. OUR WELCOME, we expect to be WARM and INVITING, and CHILDREN are always welcome, there is fresh water for your dog (outside), and if you can find room, you can chain your cycle to the front railings. OUR DRINKS, freshly ground ITALIAN coffee and a range of FRUIT and SPECIALIST TEAS, ALCOHOLIC and SOFT DRINKS, SMOOTHIES and SHAKES are prepared for your refreshment, either in the open air of our TERRACE or inside in AIR CONDITIONED comfort. OUR INGREDIENTS, with FREE RANGE EGGS, and BUTCHER’S BACON and SAUSAGES, you won’t get a tastier start to the day anywhere; our MEAT supplies are all sourced FRESH from HAMPSHIRE’S own FARMS, our VEGETABLES are all supplied fresh daily, and our HOME MADE DESERTS are scrummy. OUR MENU, for BREAKFAST, LUNCH or CREAM TEAS and CAKES, your choice is varied and comprehensive, and like our SPECIALS, all dishes are prepared and cooked on the premises. OUR SERVICE, we PRIDE ourselves on our SERVICE ATTITUDE, we will always try and go the extra mile and our staff are here to make YOUR EXPERIENCE at THE TERRACE as ENJOYABLE as they possibly can.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?