We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Snakecatcher

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
+44 1590 622348
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

641 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 637: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I had the snakecatcher burger. It was delicious. Lovely meat, very tasty with nice fat chips and side salad with very nice dressing. Delicious. Certainly worth the visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on our burgers, we hope we will see you again soon. More 

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very friendly place with tasty food. We had an option to cook our own venison stake on a heater rock - so tasty no word. Good wine selection and tasty local ales / absolutely stunning home made deserts. Were very happy to be there and were hoping to come back when we were leaving. If there had been a casual... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pavelmer235
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your experience, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited here a few months ago and had a good meal. Took some friends to celebrate a birthday at the weekend and had issues with all meals. All of the food cold, burger bun hard as nails, sharing platter hardly enough for one, let alone share (very poor over done small piece of fish, about 4 bits of scampi and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sara6643
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not happy with your meal, We tried our best to please your table by replacing your burger and even though you chose a sharing platter we were happy to double it up for you at no extra cost, as I recall you thanked us and then went on to say everything was perfect when leaving.... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A perfectly god pub dinner. Nothing fancy, just order at the bar. The menu wasn't really our sort of thing so our choices were limited. We didn't fancy the Steak Stones as (to be honest) if we wanted to cook our own food, we'd stay at home.

Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to give your feed back on your experience, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Middlesex
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had lunch here and came back the following night for dinner , great selection of food good service and an even bett price

Helpful?
2 Thank nuttynannynoonoo
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your experience, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here about 7 months ago and it was great, so we thought we'd go again... O'dear the sharing ploughmans came without any cheese so we asked if we could have some and got given one small bit of Brie, I did mention that one small bit wasn't enough for one person let alone 2 to share so they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Townshend
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

we are so sorry your meal and expectations were let down by our lack of service and consistency, we have discussed this with our staff and the matter has been raised and dealt with. we hope you will return again in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a beer while we were in Brockenhurst. Seemed like a busy pub, good looking food though we didn't stay for any, decent selection of beers.

Helpful?
Thank Coddy58
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your experience, we hope to see you again soon and try out our great selection of meals. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here at the weekend. The service was quick, food great, I would recommend the pie and friendly staff. It had a lovely outdoor area and play area for the kids.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hoops P
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your experience, we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited back in Feburary and wrote a great review. We visited again yesterday and were bitterly disappointed, the two chicken burgers, cheese burger and fish and chips turned up within minutes of ordering it on stone cold plates, pathetic portion sizes and worst of all dirty plates. Call me old fashioned but I really object to being called "mate" by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your over all exsperience with us this time around. All I can do is apologise and hope that you would be willing to give us another go. This is not what we do at the Snakecatcher and I have had a staff meeting regarding our policies and I trust it won't happen... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited early Sunday evening as the sound of hot stones food sounded tempting (having enjoyed this experience when abroad) but on receiving our menus we were told there were no hot rocks - they had run out. After ordering we saw others eating from the hot rocks so not sure if they had run out of the actual hot rock... More 

Helpful?
Thank Busy_Lissy
Snakecatcher, General Manager at The Snakecatcher, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately you are right we are renowned for our hot stones but we also have a great selection of other dishes.our stones take an average of about 2hours to reheat and so it is a case of first come first serve as we only have enough space for 50 stones. We hope to see you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Snakecatcher also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Sway, Brockenhurst
 

Been to The Snakecatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Brockenhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 622348

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Snakecatcher and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Snakecatcher staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?