We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Cellars

Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
+44 1626 872423
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good21%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“belly pork” (18 reviews)
“teign estuary” (40 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4 of us visited for a family birthday meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed it. Having seen there was a vegan menu available and 2 of our group being vegetarian we thought we’d give it a go. Lovely location down on the river. We reserved the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Julie C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening Julie. Thank you first of all for your loverly feedback and comments. The view is defiantly spectacular, we are so pleased to here you enjoyed the food. We will of course give your feedback to Rebecca and the team. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We haven’t visited for some time and were absolutely delighted with the food, decor, service and cocktails. Couldn’t fault anything to be honest!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David F
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon David, Thank you very much for the 5 star review and fabulous feedback. We are happy to hear you were delighted with the food and service. We look foward to welcoming you back shortly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had being so pleased with last months service from Coombe Cellars we decided we’d come again. Beginning with being no draught cider nor bottles of Peroni for the gents we weren’t presented with the best of arrivals. But, I have to admit my Belly Pork...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank slwrmk
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning slwrmk, Thank you for taking the time to leave some detailed feedback. We are so pleased you have found the Belly Pork and Scallops to die for, the kitchen team will be delighted to hear this. During your visit we had been in...More

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place with friendly staff, coupled with good tasting food, decent portion sizes too! I cannot wait to return.More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Eoin C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Eoin, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted you found our Restaurant & Pub beautiful and that you found the team so friendly. It's brilliant to hear you have enjoyed our generous portions of food too....More

Reviewed November 7, 2018

Met here today with 2 friends. 1 visiting from Newbury. Although the weather was not good it was still enjoyable sat by the window looking out over the river. We had a coffee while we made our choices from the vast selection on the menu....More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank j10simmons
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for your lovely review, Whatever the weather the views are always magnificent here at The Coombe Cellars, when the weather is a little bit miserable outside we always have the fires roaring inside our restaurant and Pub . I am ever...More

Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Came here as couples. The location is fantastic! The staff are lovely, and the menu is good. Unfortunately they got the drinks orders wrong, twice. The lamb was very undercooked and the gravy was watery and tasteless. Very slow service and had to chase waitress...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Middlebrough
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you have found the team lovely, enjoyed our views and that you have enjoyed the menu choices. I am very disappointed to hear about the service issues, we pride ourselves...More

Reviewed October 31, 2018

I booked a table at the Coombe Cellars as I had read the reviews and seen the place and it looked nice. The menu sounded lovely. Unfortunately, the night did not live up to our expectations. The restaurant was cold as the radiator near our...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Louise L
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Good Afternoon Louise L, Thank you for taking the time to leave detailed feedback of your time with us. We are very pleased you have enjoyed the food you have eaten in our pub. I am disappointed to hear that the ambience and temperature was...More

Reviewed October 30, 2018

We are locals and after many, many disappointing visits over the years we had decided not to visit again, but two weeks ago we decided to try one more time- and at last things have changed. Plenty of charming staff and wonderful food. The service...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank DevonMilly
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi DevonMilly, I am delighted that you have chosen to give us another chance and that we have got it right for you. I will let the front of house team know that you found them charming and enjoyed the service they provided.I will also...More

Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

We've been going here for years, taking friends and family and have always lived it. However it's lost its moho. Maybe got too busy and the food and service has taken a tumble. I've been generous with my rating because the views and setting are...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Seaside824457
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you find the setting and views amazing. I am sorry the food and service was not our usual high standards. We appreciate all the feedback we do receive and always look to put the feedback...More

Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We came for food as a family as we do a couple of times a month as the food is always good a it was today but the bar maid was the most miserable bar lady I have ever come across! so we won't be...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Billy H
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Good afternoon, We are delighted you have enjoyed your food with us. I am so disappointed that you found the bar team member miserable, we pride ourselves on being a happy team and making the guests feel welcome at all times. I will address the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Newton Abbot
Cockhaven Arms
153 reviews
.81 miles away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
1,351 reviews
1.37 miles away
Potters Mooring Hotel
367 reviews
1.96 miles away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
838 reviews
2.14 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wild Goose Inn
237 reviews
.54 miles away
Cockhaven Arms
199 reviews
.82 miles away
The Ring of Bells - Bishopsteignton
23 reviews
.99 miles away
Old Commercial Inn
6 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth to Dawlish Railway Walk
139 reviews
1.01 miles away
Old Walls Vineyard
149 reviews
1.29 miles away
Teignmouth - Shaldon Ferry
170 reviews
2.12 miles away
Ness Cove
164 reviews
2.34 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SunnycyprusDevon
September 21, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Serialluncher | Reviewed this property |
We had a great time too. They seem to respond to all reviews even the bad ones and they seem quite humble and apologetic if they get it wrong. Maybe message them again in case they missed yours.
0
Votes
boo-yeh
March 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Lisette R | Reviewed this property |
Yes actually! There was at least one big lab there sitting with his owners. I always love seeing that. :)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Combeinteignhead, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Newton Abbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 872423
  • E-mail
Description
The Coombe Cellars is a quirky yet stylish establishment that is perfect for escaping the demand that often comes hand in hand with everyday life. With a wide choice of starters, light bites, mains, and sharing platters, as well as an extensive drinks menu, you’ll be able to choose from a wide range of freshly prepared dishes that are sure to satisfy even the toughest food critics. This relaxed pub, bar, and restaurant also has a great outdoor space that’s perfect for a spot of al fresco dining during the summer months - enjoy stunning views of the estuary as you kick back, relax and unwind in truly special surroundings. There is plenty of car parking available, and we are also child friendly, so please feel free to bring your little ones along too. In addition to our magnificent interiors, we also offer a fabulous outdoor dining space that’s perfect for alfresco dining all year round.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing