We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lysley Arms

London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
+44 1249 652864
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (11 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Just awful. From start to finish. Slow at the bar, got the order wrong. See from the website that it's under new ownership. Won't be around for long at this rate.

Thank cnorsworthy67
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

First my drink didn't arrive then my daughter's meal hadn't been rung up - both mistakes by the dopey bar girl. Worst of all was the attitude of the pub manager, who showed us our receipt for "what we'd ordered" and said he could not...More

Thank Teresa1609
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Eat here today. The soft drink gun wasn't working. Several items from the menu were unavailable. A late announcement was that instead of chips with the baguettes, crisps would be provided...and crisps dually arrived, unopened in the packet. ..chef didn't quite manage to open them....More

1  Thank David M
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review although a little harsh, do you really imagine that we wanted the soft drinks gun to go faulty on the best day of the year so far? We then had to obtain supplies of soft drinks from local suppliers, not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love this place, with a good old fashion menu, having been to many pubs trying to be something they are not ,with pretty plate meals, We like returning here, in the winter there in a welcoming log fire, All the staff are friendly,as are...More

Thank CarolandRod
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review, your comments on the menu and the service we try to offer is very nice and very welcome to receive.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ll start by saying that I could not fault the young waiters and waitresses who served us, thank you. However, they have several different menu’s, lunch, dinner, 2 course deals... one said a trio of sausages. By ‘trio of sausages’, I assumed this meant three...More

Thank Bernadette T
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, may I start by thanking you for your kind comments on our staff. As you rightly point out there are a few menu's we offer and some of the meals do repeat themselves, but this is to remove some of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday 29th April 2018 Having previously had many family gatherings here over the years, we had booked last December with the previous owner/manager to have a table for 18 in the 'garden room' as usual. We were aware the pub had changed hands, but having...More

Thank Alyson S
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I re-iterate my response to the previous complainant from the same party. We all know the reason for your issues was the fact that you took things for granted without making clear your desires before the booking. As I stated before the food was served...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a family meal as we do every time this year and Christmas. New owners and chef this time and a complete let down, booked for 18 and they expected us to sit on 3 different tables (every other time we’ve always had a...More

2  Thank Ncarr1981
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately when you made your booking you didn't state that you required that you all sat together. The garden room could have been booked out to yourselves entirely but you didn't request this either. We tried hard to accommodate you but when you demanded that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff will push the boat out to help with any of your needs. Food is fantastic probably the best I've tasted whilst being here big portions and great quality. Good selection of real ale, local cider,gins,larger Well worth the visit with the kids or...More

Thank Martin W
Stephen E, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Martin for your kind review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The pub has recently had a change of management. My husband and I decided to go for an evening meal and we weren’t disappointed. I had chicken and mushroom pancake with chips/salad and my husband had chicken pie of the day with mash. Both dishes...More

Thank Maddison1234
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Maddison for your kind review, we're glad that your liking the improvements.

Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Amazing! Food was of good quality and came out in good timing even with it being busy. Staff made you feel welcome especially on younger male member of staff who had a laugh with us. Enjoyable evening would defiantly go back again.

Thank Nicole A
Stephen E, Manager at The Lysley Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Nicole for your kind review, its much appreciated.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Chippenham
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
1,424 reviews
1.16 miles away
Bear Hotel
63 reviews
2.10 miles away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
577 reviews
2.12 miles away
The Red Lion
364 reviews
2.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bowood Treehouse Cafe
64 reviews
1.54 miles away
The Gladstone Arms
780 reviews
2.10 miles away
The Dumb Post Inn
385 reviews
1.94 miles away
Jollys Irish Cafe
177 reviews
2.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bowood House and Gardens
442 reviews
.38 miles away
Lacock Abbey
1,195 reviews
2.50 miles away
Fox Talbot Museum at Lacock Abbey
536 reviews
2.65 miles away
St Cyriac's Church
73 reviews
2.55 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joy R
December 13, 2016|
Answer
Response from Jean P | Property representative |
Yes I am the new landlord, I have been here 3 months.
1
Vote
Debbie F
April 10, 2016|
Answer
Response from MKO1948 | Reviewed this property |
It's similar to the old menu but worth noting hat the service has "Dropped Off" a bit so don't go there if you are tight on time
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$13 - $16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1249 652864
  • E-mail
Description
Family run Pub Restaurant serving homemade British Food with Vegetarian and Gluton Free options.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;