We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fishermans Haunt

Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
441202477283
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 189: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been back in England for 3 days now, and have saved off having a beer until I could get a proper English pub pulled beer. Had a pint of Fullers that was flat and stale... couldn't finish it. Had an HSB, much better... it did help to wash the food down. Now the rest... having heard great things... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank chrislepard
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited here in July. Food was fairly good good although not going to win any prizes yet. My wife ordered a Pimms before dinner which took an age to come. How long does it take to cut up some fruit? Service was good otherwise. The decor is dated so would benefit from a makeover. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joby135
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am at loss as to why your dog was not allowed as we are very dog friendly, I shall investigate this with my staff. We shall shortly be having a makeover which will make a big difference. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have lived in the area for years and had never been, I wish I had. Fell upon this pub when the coastal pubs were heaving! The staff were friendly and helpful, service was quick and the food was fantastic I had the ploughman's and a half pint of King prawns. Slightly pricey but worth it. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Caz12013
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit and do hope to see you back again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome bar and restaurant with lovely friendly staff and great beer. Great for families and dog friendly. Lovely beer garden overlooking the River Avon.

Helpful?
Thank MelJBell
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you enjoy coming to the Fisherman's and hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went last week to the Fisherman's haunt with my wife for a sunday roast after church. I had the lamb. I love lamb, and my wife ordered her favourite nut roast. She is a vegetarian. I have to say, the service we received was second to none. A delightful, slightly portly young man served us, and he really knew... More 

Helpful?
Thank GodzChild111
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your recent meal and do hope to see you again soon More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for lunch with some friends. The lunch menu had great options with small and large portions for some of them. I went with one of the sandwiches, it was well worth the money. It was huge and delicious! I would highly recommend visiting here for a bite to eat or a pint. The service was great, the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank TerryTheoz12
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I do hope you will visit again soon More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a fabulous evening last night at the Fishermans Haunt! My husband had a superb beef burger while I had a lovely Chicken Supreme. Friendly, efficient staff that really made the dining experience great. Would highly recommend to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Mazzaza
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your meal and I hope to see you again soon More 

bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited on the 19 of august for 2 nights as a Base to visit bournemouth airshow and the surrounding area.we arrived at around 3 pm met by a female member of staff and shown our room in a separate building known as the coach house.on entering room seemed ok.apart from thick dust on furniture.cracked tiles in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nigel l
Jim R, Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that we failed to live up to expectations. I have raised these matters with my housekeeping team to rectify the cleaning issues you mention. If you wish to discuss this further please do contact me at the Fisherman Haunt More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

After our glowing review last June, we continued to visit and enjoy the Fisherman's Haunt. However, our last visit in July was a great disappointment. The beer, which previously has always been superbly kept, was poor. This could have been the result of the very hot weather but a simple enquiry about which barrel was the most recently tapped, to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BrentorGirl
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you were not treated properly by our staff member and am disappointed you feel our beer is not up to standard as we have just been awarded Master Cellerman status. If you would like to discuss this further please do contact me at the Fishermans Haunt More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

My husband and I decided to stop at this pub for dinner today on our way back from a dog walk in the new forest. We parked in the very large car park and made our way to the front beer garden, once my husband and the dog were seated I made my way into the pub, my first impression... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Clairemitch240
Jim R, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent dining experience. I am sorry that we did not live up to expectations and apologise that you did not enjoy your meal. If you wish to discuss this further please do contact me at the Fisherman's Haunt More 

Travelers who viewed Fishermans Haunt also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Fishermans Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: 441202477283

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fishermans Haunt and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
midlands
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fishermans Haunt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?