We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fishermans Haunt

Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
+44 1202 477283
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good26%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
“beef burger” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

haven't been here for many years, yet I drive past every day. Decided on an impromptu Lunch for the two of us. The first impression was amazing. Greeted by Arron, beautiful smile and really lovely attentive service, immediately felt welcome. Great food and lovely real...More

Thank Michael T
Reviewed 5 days ago

Front of staff have let down this restaurant that in the past has been a regular place for us to dine. The bar was unattended and the only member of staff we could see was in the beer garden collecting glasses and plates, he unhurriedly...More

Thank Vanessa W
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Vanessa, Please can I ask you to contact me directly on 01202 477283 so that I can discuss this with you. I am so ashamed of my team member and as you know this is not the type of establishment that I run. I...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Having dined at this restaurant at least six-seven times with family and having spent considerable sums each time (£200 plus), we popped in last night at 6.00pm to get a table for two. It wasn't very busy but having stood at the bar being completely...More

Thank garyhoweremote
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear garyhoweremote, Please can I ask you to contact me on 01202 477283 to discuss the above so that I am able to take the appropriate action. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff but food a bit hit and miss as it depends who is in the kitchen. Hate to complain but expect it to be taken seriously.

Thank sueandbobKent
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear suenandbobkent, I am so sorry to hear of your experience, next time you are in grab me and we can have a chat as I would be very interested to know what the complaint was about and who dealt with you. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this Restaurant because they are Dog Friendly and we have a very well behaved little pooch. We were made very welcome by the Gentleman who greeted us, not sure if he was the Manager. The place is spotlessly clean and very nicely laid...More

Thank Christine L
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Christine L, Thank you for your review, we do offer a pre fix menu during lunch times which offers you a cheaper option of 2 and 3 courses. We have recently changed the menu and are addressing the portion sizes, I have also raised...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for lunch after a nice morning out with our dog and were pleased that they are very dog friendly. The service was great and Annette was very pleasant and efficient. The food was great and it was a nice relaxing environment. Would recommend...More

Thank Simon J
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Simon J, Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for lunch with my Mum & son. Have been before but seems different menu & refurbishment have really improved the offerings.For a lovely sunny day the offering of a BBQ menu was a nice touch, though the Roasts are difficult to beat. All cleared...More

Thank Tim W
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tim, Thank you for your lovely review, it really feels like the summer has started when you get the BBQ out. So glad that you enjoyed dishes from both menus and hope to see you soon. Kind regards Annette

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch and was quite pleased as the main lamb dish and my friends fish and chips, were well presented ,the fish ,chips , peas and tartar sauce all came on the plate in individual dishes ( chips in a basket) but the...More

Thank Linda M
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Linda, Thank you for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your meals with us. The reason behind the ketchup up bottle is all to do with allergens, the customer must now be able to see the allergen on the sauces, we...More

Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Dropped in for a beer on the way home and some regular gets a beer even though I’d been waiting a while. Been many times before but this wasn’t the best by any stretch. Try better.More

Thank scienceboy
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

Dear Scienceboy, I am sorry for your experience with us, I have spoken with the team on duty and have made sure that they ask who is next when there is a wait at the bar. I do apologise and hope that we can restore...More

Reviewed May 6, 2018

Im not a big one for leaving reviews but feel impelled to do so today having been looked after by Annette and her Top-Knotch team this lunch time. My family had close friends from Singapore visiting us and they are used to dining in top...More

2  Thank rhinosarehere
Annette P, General Manager at Fishermans Haunt, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear rhinosarehere, Thank you for your lovely review, I have passed on your comments to Lauren and the rest of the team. It really is a great little team and this comes across in all the recent reviews and I am so proud of them....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
490 reviews
.04 miles away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
612 reviews
2.02 miles away
Travelodge Christchurch
411 reviews
2.03 miles away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
1,134 reviews
2.05 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Woolpack
502 reviews
.52 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
358 reviews
1.59 miles away
Mum's Cafe
119 reviews
1.49 miles away
New Queen Pub Restaurant
292 reviews
1.79 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Friends of the New Forest Airfields (FONFA) Museum
7 reviews
1.39 miles away
Christchurch Castle
87 reviews
2.15 miles away
Christchurch Market
6 reviews
2.08 miles away
The Regent Centre
110 reviews
2.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen R
November 1, 2015|
Answer
Response from lilylou3 |
Hi Karen, we live down the road and take our two dogs inside always ,ade welcome and biscuit treats in a bowl by the door.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salisbury Road | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 477283
  • E-mail
Description
Historic hospitality meets modern creature comforts at The Fisherman’s Haunt, a beautiful pub near Christchurch. Recently refurbished to a supreme standard, its farmhouse feel, fine fare and stylish bedrooms offer a special place to dine, drink and stay in the Dorset countryside.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;