We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Restaurant

18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
+44 1202 588933
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“chateaubriand” (10 reviews)
“cheese souffle” (16 reviews)
“steak” (34 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 240 of 699 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2016

I booked a table for four to celebrate my birthday. I chose The Kings Arms because I had read some great reviews and I looked to be a lot more up market than your average restaurant. We decided to go with the A La Cart...More

1  Thank Creteliz
Lukasz D, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2016

Thank you for your review, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed celebrating your birthday here with us. I will of course pass on your kind words to my staff. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards...More

Reviewed January 17, 2016

Went their on the 17th jan and had another dissapointing time. Firstly I must say the food was superb, as it always is, We arrived 3 mins to noon on Sunday , our table was booked for noon. The greeting was not at all warm...More

Thank Rickster1Surrey
Lukasz D, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2016

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am extremely sorry to hear that the latest experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations in terms of service received from my team and I will look into it to avoid this from happening...More

Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

Just had a Saturday night at the Kings excellent as always the staff are so friendly they make the place Pavlo is one of the best bartender The tester menu for evening dinner was excellent so was the breakfast this morning the room is really...More

Thank Cj1963
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one, and we are still up to the same standards as your previous stays. I will pass on your kind comments...More

Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

I went here tonight and the food and service was outstanding. We had the 5 course menu which is £25-30 per person (depending on what time you go. and it was well worth the money, The staff were very friendly and observant, always topping up...More

2  Thank JosieJugs
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Kings Arms Restaurant, I will pass on your lovely comments. I'll look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Lukasz

Reviewed January 12, 2016

Ate in restaurant Which was lovely and clean good food and very good service and choice of food compliments to manager and staff and of course the chefMore

Thank Sandra p
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time here with us, I will of course pass on your kind words to my staff. We shall look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed January 4, 2016

Went with wife and three friends for Xmas Eve Dinner. Good Value at £22.50 per head for three courses but limited choice as you might expect. Started with a cup of nice soup of butternut squash, followed by a very small piece of smoked trout...More

Thank FrankFarkle
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you find us good for value. We served over 200 guests over Christmas Eve and received all positive feedback. I am sorry that some of the elements on your dish were not right, this can be easily...More

Reviewed January 2, 2016

I visited this restaurant for New Years Eve 2015. I had been for the previous 3 years and had been pleased with the experiences but this year was different - the very worst New Years Eve function that I have ever attended. We had booked...More

1  Thank alistair_10
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed the good quality of food. I am sorry to hear that you felt the atmosphere wasn't as good as previous years. Please accept my apologies that you had to wait, your table was delayed by...More

Reviewed January 1, 2016

My partner and I ordered a salmon starter followed by restaurant made beef burger. Salmom piece was tiny and dressed with TWO tiny pieces of lettuce. Burger was served in a large bun, with two slices of tomato, a couple of salad leaves and a...More

Thank julie W
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Managed to book at the last minute and the place was very busy. Service spot on as usual, some new faces on the staff but equally as good and very friendly.. Nice size helping and sensible number of choices. Slight problem with one of the...More

2  Thank thechecker
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you very much for writing about your recent visit. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food and service, I will pass on your kind words to my staff. I'll look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Lukasz

Reviewed December 22, 2015

This place has pretentions to be a fine dining restaurant, but unfortunately falls far short. Ambience: Big room, crammed with tables. Nicer for lunch than in the evening, as then you can look out on the sea. Service: Bit poncy but not particularly attentive. I...More

1  Thank Benphil
Lukasz D, Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip advisor, however I think you may be mistaken with the venue/restaurant as we do not have a sea view. We hope however we can welcome you here at The Kings Arms Restaurant in the near...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
The Kings Arms
815 reviews
.01 miles away
Travelodge Christchurch
424 reviews
.18 miles away
Captain's Club Hotel
795 reviews
.40 miles away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
585 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Splinters
329 reviews
.07 miles away
Loch & Quay
642 reviews
.07 miles away
Coast Coffee
243 reviews
.08 miles away
Koh Thai Christchurch
284 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Priory Church
743 reviews
.15 miles away
Christchurch Quay
126 reviews
.15 miles away
Red House Museum & Gardens
113 reviews
.19 miles away
Christchurch Castle
84 reviews
.03 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MICHAEL C
November 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from incabodc | Reviewed this property |
Leave Bournemouth onA338 Ringwood road at Christchurch turn go left and follow airport sign go past airport straight across traffic lights at next island turn left next island left again 300yards on the left
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly Jacks Restaurant at The Kings Hotel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 588933
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Kings Arms
Description
Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing