We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lounge

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
+44 1784 220999
Website
Today
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Fri 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Sat 8:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the best afternoon tea, Great staff, beautiful location, great price and brilliant tea, I would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Jean P
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of afternoon tea in The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you found the location on the banks of the River Thames beautiful, the team great and the afternoon tea one of the best you have experienced. I am so pleased that you would recommend us to your friends and we... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent, friendly service and the food was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed it and with a lovely view of the river too. We will come again.

Helpful?
Thank Imogen P
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of The Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that found the service excellent and friendly with lovely food. I am also pleased that you liked the views of the River Thames. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely area, beautiful river view, they were serving afternoon tea , unfortunately we were too late to have it , as it was 6pm . maybe next time. But instead we enjoyed our tea and scones

Helpful?
Thank florida1974uj
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the setting on the banks of the River Thames. I am sorry that you missed our afternoon tea serving which runs from 3pm until 5pm but I am pleased we were able to serve tea and scones for you.... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had afternoon tea here was lovely . A bit disappointed to be charged for champagne when we didn't actually have any but didn't realise we were charged until after we left. The restaurant overlooked the river so it was a beautiful setting. The weather was glorious which made our afternoon extremely pleasant sitting by the river after tea.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review of the Lounge at the runnymede-on-thames hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and I am pleased that the weather was nice so that you could sit and enjoy the views across the River Thames. Our afternoon tea price includes either Champagne or an Ederflower Presse. I am sorry... More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had Afternoon Tea in the Lounge at the Runnymede-on-Thames and it was a most enjoyable afternoon. We chose the Elderflower & Mint with ice in preference to Champagne & it was a lovely refreshing drink. Sandwiches were well filled & the scones & cakes were good too. Very nice white china cups and saucers with a large pot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet A
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of afternoon tea in the lounge and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable afternoon and found the elderflower presse lovely and refreshing. I am also pleased that you liked the scones and cakes as well as the ‘well filled sandwiches’. I am sorry that the tea came a little late but thank... More 

staines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food in the lounge is excellent and very big portions. Very good value for money and you feel pampered.

Helpful?
Thank jillym7
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you found the food excellent with big portions and good value for money. I am so pleased that you felt pampered during your visit and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident / Guest Relations Manager More 

Twickenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

8 girls enjoying the afternoon tea having taken advantage of the fantastic offer of £25 for two. Sandwiches and cakes were absolutely spot on as was the glass of rose champagne and bottomless cups of tea and coffee. Thoroughly enjoyed and a very relaxing afternoon with very attentive staff. Well done.

Helpful?
Thank Fionawebb
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of afternoon tea at the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed the 2 4 1 offer and found the cakes and sandwiches ‘spot on’ and that the rose Champagne was enjoyed by all. We look forward to welcoming you back to the runnymede soon. Kind regards Craig Spencer Resident... More 

Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

Took advantage of the £25 for two Champagne tea and thoroughly enjoyed it. Well filled, fresh sandwiches in four varieties, lovely fresh sultana scone with jam and cream followed by a variety of yummy cakes washed down with a glass of pink Champagne and a good pot of tea from the assortment of teas offered. Service was very pleasant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5113
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of afternoon tea at the runnymede-on-thames and I am delighted that you chose to take advantage of our 2 4 1 offer and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. I am pleased that you found the sandwiches well filled, scones fresh and the cakes yummy. I have passed on your kind comments to the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing afternoon tea, stale bread, no excuse for something so simple to get right! One scone per person?! And stale Very cheap teapot, milk jug, more pretty crockery needed. Sandwich filling very mean not much in there, bad quality what was in the sandwich. I think due to an offer being on the quality has dropped and cutbacks made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of afternoon tea at the runnymede-on-thames although I am sorry that you found the offering below the standard you expect from the runnymede. I am disappointed that you think that we would lower our standards because we have a promotional offer available. This is not correct as the offering is the same on all the... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

Afternoon tea on 4th August was very disappointing. Poor white sliced bread and cheap 'butter'. One scone each ! The cake stands, tea pots were of poor quality and tatty. We have had several afternoon teas - Oakly Manor not too far from you is superb. However, your staff very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen C
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Lounge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of afternoon tea at the runnymede-on-thames although I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. The bread we use is of a high quality as is the butter but I am sorry that this was not your perception. The afternoon tea stands and crockery are in keeping with the modern décor... More 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Average prices
$13 - $32
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel and Spa | Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
  • Phone Number: +44 1784 220999
Description
Enjoy a few hours of sheer indulgence! Afternoon Tea at the runnymede-on-thames hotel turns getting together with your nearest and dearest into something really special. Rendezvous in our gorgeous lounge, enjoy the tranquil views over the Thames and tuck into a towering tray of delectable treats at our luxury hotel! Put the world to rights over afternoon tea. Watch the world pass by or just come and make yourself at home!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?