We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bar 163

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
163 High Street, Egham TW20 9HP, England
441784432344
Website
Today
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good food and good service, nice atmosphere. Have been several times and definitely worth a visit . Situated in a nice little high street with car parks behind shops and restaurants

Helpful?
Thank oggy03
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I haven't been here in a while, but was forced into visiting by a vote of 2/1 by friends. The room was stuffy. The room was dark. The staff were not friendly on welcoming, and seemed put out by our presence. The red wine price was far above the quality. The selection of food was average, lacked inspiration, and tasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michaellainguk
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Seems you just don't know when to stop and once again I find myself responding to your outrageous and discourteous remarks. You really do seem to be such an unhappy fellow, what could have possibly caused such rage; the staff must just have it in for you as none of our other customers appear to have such problems. Whilst you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I went for coffee , we were served by a friendly waiter who was attentive. Although the menu was tempting we were sadly not hungry to do it justice so we just had tea and a soft drink. But I will definitely come back for dinner as it looks very rustic and romantic with the dim lighting... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucinda242015
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Thanks for paying us a visit and really pleased to hear you enjoyed it so much, even for a cup of tea... Good that the waiter was doing his job so well, that'll put a smile on his face (we only have​ the one at the moment) Look forward to seeing you again for dinner. More 

Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My all time favourite. Well worth coming back again. The staff are always good company and welcoming. I need to stop myself from spending all day here as I would be afraid of outstaying my welcome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Magus42
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know that it is working so well and great to hear that everyone is so welcoming, which is just as it should be, please keep coming... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here before with friends a few years ago so thought would give it another bash - the menu looked interesting but a couple of us in the group were disappointed with our meals (not a lot on the plate for the price). We complained and thought the staff had taken our complaint on board but they seemed really disinterested... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank oldbag61
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

This is a bit vague but feels familiar, wasn't the night of the power cut by any chance as that is the only occasion recently that anyone has complained about two meals not being substantial enough, if so please read the response to the previous review 'Disappointed with attitude' If not then I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy,... More 

London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst the food was good, we were disappointed with the attitude of the staff. There was a power cut whilst we were there , although that's not the staff fault, my mother and my brothers girlfriend were served half a meal . They were promised a discount on the bill by the waiters . However when the bill came the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank robm1987
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that things didn't go as well as they might have during your visit, it was unfortunate that there was a major power cut in town that evening but from what I hear the staff did try their best to resolve the problem with your table by offering you an alternative to the rice that should have come... More 

Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here as a group of 10 for last minute lunch, food was good waiting time was good however we felt the member of staff serving us were not overly friendly we were told several times we would have been better to give them notice!

Helpful?
Thank eskriett
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Well I'm pleased you enjoyed the food but it's absurd that you were given the feeling that you should have given warning of you visit, what an earth for, we're a restaurant and people walk in all the time, I will be having words, seems a training update is due. Apologies for the attitude, it shouldn't be happening again. Thanks... More 

Old Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Passed this restaurant so many times and never ventured in, what a lovely surprise. Loved everything about it. It is deceptive from the outside because it looks so small, but I was wrong the decoration is lovely and cozy and it has a lovely outside area at the back of the restaurant. Excellent service, and loved the food, excellent local... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 95tday
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Thant's great to hear, what kept you away for so long? Glad it turned out to be worth a visit and thanks for letting us know, look forward to seeing you again and I hope we continue to surprise you. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been for lunch twice outside in the patio, the restaurant has good ambiance and the sandwiches are very delicious. Also, I like there are waiters from other countries and you have the opportunity of speak with them in their mother languages. For a languages lover like me, that is awesome!

Helpful?
Thank Arnold A
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a beautiful atmospheric room and garden area and you feel immediately relaxed when you enter. The staff are efficient and pleasant. But the food was very poor with quite an eclectic menu that wouldn't be everyone's choice. Definitely wouldn't go back despite loving the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Penmaenmawr2
rich163Egham, Owner at Bar 163, responded to this review

Well I'm really pleased that you like the place so much, but I'm amazed that the food was that bad, what could you have eaten? I agree that the menu is rather eclectic, but that has developed over years of appealing to the sometimes eclectic tastes of our many customers, and it's quite nice to steer away from being themed,... More 

Travelers who viewed Bar 163 also viewed

 

Been to Bar 163? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$12 - $26
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options, International, Contemporary
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 163 High Street, Egham TW20 9HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Egham
  • Phone Number: 441784432344
Description
It���s hard to believe that Bar 163 has been in Egham since 1984. More than twenty years on, 163 looks and feels as fresh as ever and continues to attract a varied crowd of young and not so young, professionals and students alike. Originally a bar with food the menu has become so popular over the years that we can safely call Bar 163 a restaurant ��� the Mediterranean inspired dishes have a real taste of summer, exactly what you���ll be after if you find yourself lucky enough to nab a table in the relaxing secret garden. But despite the food the relaxed, lively bar vibe remains, making this Egham���s most well loved venue.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bar 163 and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bar 163 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?