We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piazza Latina

596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
+44 191 487 5810
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good11%
  • Average6%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“pizza” (39 reviews)
“potato skins” (7 reviews)
“carbonara” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
5:00 pm - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're going to advertise gluten free pizzas, and sell them through Just Eat, you should at least have them in stock. Ordered twice, and had 2 refunds due to not having any gluten free bases in. Will never attempt to order from them again.

Thank Adam W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have frequented the restaurant for 35+ years, so always had an affinity with the place. It has had a few different owners, chefs and names but have stuck with it. Sadly last night will be the last visit and after a few disappointing take...More

Thank Andy C
TahsinMadhi1960, Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear that you aren't happy with the experience you had at our restaurant but from what was observed by our staff, most of the food that was sent out was eaten with exception to the calzone, however our front of house staff...More

Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited the night before my wedding in November. We entered the restaurant and found the place to be cold with dated decor. We ordered our food which was ok, nothing special. The waitress assigned to our table was annoying and over...More

Thank amhewitt91
Reviewed April 20, 2017

Went to the Piazza Latina for dinner with a friend, we both started with potato skins and then I followed with a Mafiosa pizza while my friend had the sizzling chicken platter. Everything was absolutely lovely (and the chicken coming out sizzling on a hot...More

Thank Jake B
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

We fancied a nice pizza and decided to try a takeaway from here. When we got them hone the dough was completely raw. As an Italians I would have expected them to know how to cook a pizza. I won't be going back

Thank vjaney
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

We had a dreadful experience here. We waited quite a while for starters to arrive, and when they did only half came. We then waited a further hour for the mains and the rest of the starters. So we sat down at approximately 6pm, ordered...More

Thank NicWeatherburn
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

I can only recommend avoiding!!! Were seated in the place at 6pm with only one other table taken. After starter and 1.5 hours we asked how long our pizzas would be and were told 5/10 minutes. After 15 minutes checked again and was told they...More

Thank Paul W
TahsinMadhi1960, Front Office Manager at Piazza Latina, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2017

We would like to start off by apologising as we are sorry that you weren't happy with the service you received and we always try to go out of our way to ensure our customers enjoy coming to our restaurant. We do understand that with...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Incredible take away food! Very friendly staff as well! I loved the lasagne and the garlic bread was so full of flavour!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Take away pizzas...gorgeous...amazing service.. very friendly..and make pizzas to your liking..can't fault them...order them all the time....amazing

Thank tigersean
Reviewed September 27, 2016

My nephew wanted to take me out for my birthday and booked a table here. When we arrived on time at 7.00pm there was only one other table occupied by a family of two adults and two children. The young guy who greeted us was...More

2  Thank ripley054
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Imperial Restaurant
276 reviews
.15 miles away
Rosa Twelve
156 reviews
.07 miles away
Primavera
207 reviews
.25 miles away
1964 tdkr
47 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Saltwell Park
599 reviews
.62 miles away
Battlezone Laser
73 reviews
.90 miles away
Ravensworth Golf Club
17 reviews
.84 miles away
Green Ginger Gallery
6 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Piazza Latina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 am - 10:30 am
Monday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 596 Durham Road | Low Fell, Gateshead NE9 6HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Gateshead
  • Phone Number: +44 191 487 5810
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing