We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Maypole Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
We are a large, family run public house serving excellent food and drinks. We have a large beer garden surrounded by fields for the Summer and a warm open fires for the winter.
PRICE RANGE
$14 - $33
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Grill, Gastropub, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
545
174
31
10
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
545
174
31
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie steak sunday roast whitebait mash pudding pastry potatoes salmon the pub beer garden warm welcome friendly atmosphere lovely meal walpole mandy landlord
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 17, 2021

The best food on island in our opinion, we rarely go anywhere else. Family run, very friendly. When a customer tested positive for Covid-19 they closed the pub for three days because as a family they though it would be irresponsible to stay open even...though NHS 111 said it would be OK.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 6, 2020 via mobile

We were greeted and all the " covid" stuff sorted.. Then shown to our table.. It was so warm & inviting....the tree looked amazing. The Sunday lunch is without doubt the best we have eaten out.... the 3 of us agreed on this... The potatoes...were crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside... Not drowned in oil/ fat as a lot of places do.. The Yorkshire was light and seasoned well...The stuffing was just delicious.. the beef cooked perfectly and the gravy was a clear 10 out of 10. .. The dessert menu was lush.. I chose the sticky toffee pudding with homemade rum & raisin ice cream.. Again... no faults .. no criticism.. just perfect. Well done The Maypole. ( can't wait to go back)More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 10, 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal. Hangar steak special, beef and red wine pie, and homemade chicken nuggets for our little one. We were visiting the area and will definitely visit when we're next back in Hampshire!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Everyone is delighted that you had an all round good experience. The hangar steak is very tasty isnt it? The chefs are pleased you enjoyed your steak. Thank you

Reviewed November 6, 2020

Waited ages for meal, staff too busy talking amongst themselves rather than serving customers. And when it finally came the size of the meal was so small it couldn't even satisfy a mouse. Definitely won't go there again, overpriced and rubbish and not what I...call gastro, more like rip off for what they charge.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the late reply. We are extremely sorry that you had a bad experience. The girls and boys work very very hard and always put the customer first. The staff have been told and have read your review. Thank...More

Reviewed November 4, 2020

Went for a family meal. No vegan food and only serve burgers, trying to compete with McDonalds but overpriced with a few extra bits that spent too long in the fridge. Some members of staff do not spend time with the customers, more interested in...each other.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review, sorry for the delay. I am so very sorry you did not have a good experience here with us. If we had known I am sure we could rectify the problem. The chef will always create a dish for vegans...More

Reviewed October 24, 2020 via mobile

What a superb meal we had at the Maypole today - the food was perfect and so was the service - every bite was a joy (we had an amazing halibut starter too - but were too hungry and didn’t take a picture) - so...much that they gave us a container to take the rest of the crab home for sandwiches. Pudding was wow! The chef is is amazing! And a nice Chablis to go with it - perfect!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the late reply. Wow! All of us here are very pleased that you had an all round good experience and loved your food. The girls and boys work very hard. Hopefully see you again in the new year.Thank...More

Reviewed October 20, 2020 via mobile

This pub has consistently been one of our favourite places to eat in the Havant/Hayling Island area. The homemade steak pie is a great hit. The dark and white chocolate larva cake takes some beating too! The standard is very high in terms of Covid...aware/ cleaning, the amazing food and the friendly and helpful staff. See you soon!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the late reply. Well its lovely that you obviously come here quite a lot when we are open and not closed down because of covid 19. Hopefully we will see you perhaps in December if not 2021. Your...More

Reviewed October 18, 2020

Excellent tasty and tender roast beef with all the trimmings, all fresh food,very friendly helpful staff, a lovely family run pub with a great atmosphere. Would highly recommend a visit, book ahead as very popular!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2020

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the late reply. Everyone is delighted that you had an all round good experience. The girls and boys work very hard. Thank you

Reviewed September 23, 2020

Visited this lovely place last night. The staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. Food was freshly prepared, hot and extremely tasty. Very good value for money.Will definitely visit again if we are in the area,

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2020

Thank you for your review. The talented chefs are really pleased you loved your food. Our front of house team are equally delighted you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed September 23, 2020

We have had 2 excellent Sunday lunches recenty.. Great food, such friendly staff and we felt perfectly safe. Long may it continue

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
mandycornish, Owner at The Maypole Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are relieved that our customers feel safe in the Maypole, we will continue to put every safety measure in place until the government tells us otherwise. the Sunday Roasts are good aren't they? Thank you.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Newtown House Hotel
404 reviews
1.04 miles away
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village
1,483 reviews
1.71 miles away
Langstone Quays Resort
2,441 reviews
1.75 miles away
Sinah Warren Coastal Hotel
2,527 reviews
1.86 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Meadow Farm Nursery & Tea Room
234 reviews
.83 miles away
Elm Masala
74 reviews
.95 miles away
Yew Tree Public House
232 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hayling Billy Trail
289 reviews
1.28 miles away
Eastoke Corner Beach
407 reviews
1.65 miles away
Funland
438 reviews
1.61 miles away
Langstone Harbour
118 reviews
2.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Venture60844010503
September 2, 2019|
Answer
Response from jillk828 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do gift cards as we were given one for Christmas
0
Votes
gillianb970
September 1, 2019|
Answer
Response from Boaz_Jarchin | Reviewed this property |
I don't know - I Just asked a few days before when I drove past and booked us in for a nice Sunday Roast Hunter
0
Votes
JasonTa123
November 19, 2018|
Answer
Response from mandycornish | Property representative |
Hello, Mon-wed 12-2. 6-8.30 Thus-sat 12-2. 6-8.45 Sun 12 or 2.30 Hope this helps
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Maypole Inn

  • Yes, The Maypole Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • The Maypole Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5