We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chequers Inn

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chequers Green | Lower Woodside, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8AH, England
+44 (0)1590 673415
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 221: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Charming, free parking, family friendly and good quality food piled high. Non alcoholic drinks are crazy expensive.

Helpful?
Thank CJoutandabout
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came to the Chequers as bored of chain pubs with microwaved food. The garden was lovely and the staff were patient with our questions on how food was served. The food was nicely presented and very fresh and reasonably priced. I would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank DonnaLHollick
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a warm Friday evening hoping to find a gem of a local pub/restaurant. First impression was good with the pub itself being a typical English country pub. But then it became apparent locals got preference to holiday makers, the landlord enjoyed being rude, drinks were over priced (Guinness and a white wine £10.20) and the toilets were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 490barry
Chequerslymington, Owner at Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, sorry if you felt you were not served in the correct service order, sometimes you see a local and try and serve them round others as we know what they drink..... £10.20 for a large glass of wine and pint is the correct amount, there are far far more expensive establishments in the area....... Which you might enjoy more... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have walked along by The Solent several times - from Keyhaven ( large public car park) and from Lymington ( Yacht Haven Marina car park, a distance of about 5 miles. The Chequers is slightly off the route but there are info boards with PH marked on them. It makes a good half way lunch time stop. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here tonight as we had been on Friday and had an amazing meal... Tonight however was very different... The vegetables were soggy...the trout looked and tasted like salmon! The homemade fishcakes were ok,but nothing amazing... When we tried telling the staff....they were so completely uninterested... We won't be going back....such a disappointment... A little acknowledgement would have gone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
Chequerslymington, Owner at Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Having spoken to both the ladies who served you they both thought you were very rude to them, and had gone to double check that the fish was correct with the chef.... We had whole trout when you came on Friday, but fillets on Monday, They both thought you were after something for nothing once you had been told it... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The pub is large but has retained is old character, there is an internal courtyard, a garden and obviously the inside rooms. Wide selection of drinks and food available. I unfortunately hit two issues one being that having paid for my drink by cash as encouraged to by the barmaid and then order my food later. I then hit the... More 

Helpful?
Thank judy832016
Chequerslymington, Owner at Chequers Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear your about your card charge, that shouldn't happen in your case, the staff should have used a bit of common sense. Can't get my head round your burger, we sell 100's of them, you only had to ask for bits on it, I'm sorry. More 

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned to the Chequers for lunch and once again the food and service were both excellent. Despite being a lunchtime during the school hols, food arrived really quickly and was again of the highest standard. One not to miss.

Helpful?
Thank BenandPaddyP
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely garden to enjoy a quiet lunch during our walk of the Solent way. Food was good, service was good and a good selection of drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Cantersontour
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Six of us camping in the nearby Hurst View campsite - decided to have a pub lunch and this place was the perfect choice. We all had starters and requested that we leave ordering the main course for an hour or so in order to not feel hurried. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was gorgeous and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nobbyswife1
Fareham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

After a walk along the shore from Leamington Marina the cool bar was a pleasant change from the temperature outside(hottest day of the year so far).The menu covered everything from filled baguettes to a full cooked meal.A good selection of beers kept at a cool but not ice cold temperature.Ample room inside as well as in the garden under shaded... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul913732

Travelers who viewed Chequers Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chequers Green | Lower Woodside, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 8AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Lymington
  • Phone Number: +44 (0)1590 673415

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chequers Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?