We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Quay Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
+44 1590 676903
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“pork belly” (17 reviews)
“scallops” (22 reviews)
“seafood” (19 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Quay Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed today

We ordered a sharers carne platter, but what a disappointment. The flat bread with fennel and pork sausage was cold and you needed a magnifying glass to see the sausage! The whole platter was a total disappointment!

1  Thank Lalalyn50
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Busy lunchtime, food and service good. Great location and great views across the harbour. Been before and always good.

Thank Billthedukr
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Billthedukr, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I hope we will see you again soon! Many thanks Chris

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Having seen this pub many times over the years I was surprised on entering to find a very smart gastro pub. The menu we ordered from was the lunch menu, which runs till 18:00, so didn't see the evening menu. Had a fillet steak sandwich...More

Thank Stephen M
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Stephen M, Thank you for your fantastic response to your lunch here with us at The Ship! The team are all happy to hear you enjoyed your time here due to our food, as well as the service from the team. We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a lunch with a friend and it was a lovely location right on the harbourside. The menu offered a good and very varied selection and we chose gammon and a couple of different salads. The gammon was fine although serving the chips in...More

1  Thank AndyAquila
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear AndyAquila, Thank you for this great review, hope to see you again to try out other dishes on our menu! Kind regards, The Ship Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I popped in to the Ship Inn yesterday 12/0902018 and ordered the beer battered cod which was served with 'pea puree ' something and 3 times fried chips. I queried the pea puree as I just assumed the meal came with mushy...More

1  Thank Margaret B
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Margaret B, Thank you for this review, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the pea puree on this occasion but are glad the fish was enjoyable! We hope you will return to try other dishes! Kind regards, The Ship Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found this place while walking around. It was near the waterfront. Dishes tried were the lobster and crab compote and salt and pepper squid as starters. Very nice, tasty and fresh. My wife had wanted scallops but the scallop dish that day had pieces...More

Thank furb71
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Furb71. Thank you for this wonderful review, we are so pleased your enjoyed our dishes and if you are back in the area; we do hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Ship Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in for the first drink after a long walk. Pint of local ale and a white wine, splendid choice on offer.Took ourselves outside to sample the view of the marina and ferries. The ambience and clientele of this place was so mixed, from the...More

Thank sweeties1975
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear sweeties1975, Thank you for this great review, we are glad you enjoyed our great selection of drinks! Kind regards, The Ship Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Maybe it is the location, but I found this pub a little pricey. Coffee was ok, not too great as it was lukewarm. Wine was good, but a little pricey. The location is central, with a view on the harbour.More

2  Thank ffort
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ffort, Thank you for this review, unfortunately we cannot control our prices but we do hope you will return to try our food menu to see its worth spending! We pride ourselves on our location and the view from it! Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

3 small scallops as a starter, with a sweet chilli side dressing and a handful of limp rocket. Yours for £10.95. Over £3 per scallop. When complained, told that they have no control over price and quantity.

2  Thank JohnFiveTen
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JohnFiveTen, Thank you for your review. We do hope you enjoyed your scallops, unfortunately we cannot control the prices of our food or the portion size. Our scallop dishes are changed daily so please return to try them again! Kind regards, The Ship Inn

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On a busy market Saturday we only waited a few minutes to find an outside table looking out on the marina. A pleasant terrace with tables mainly for four. A mixed menu but satisfying for small or large appetite for lunch. The sharing menu was...More

Thank Morag L
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Morag L, Thank you for your 5* review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Ship Inn. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards The Ship Inn

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel
1,774 reviews
.12 miles away
The Mayflower
317 reviews
.50 miles away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
1,737 reviews
.55 miles away
Passford House
844 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Elderflower Lymington
650 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Aroma
417 reviews
.15 miles away
Ciao Belli
223 reviews
.08 miles away
Koh Thai Lymington
315 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Solent Way Walk
194 reviews
.49 miles away
Lymington Sea Water Baths
199 reviews
.55 miles away
Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries
384 reviews
.35 miles away
St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery
78 reviews
.29 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Terry W
June 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from TheShipInnTeam | Property representative |
We believe that all guests should be treated equally. We try and be fair in our service and allocation of tables, of course some of the locals know when to book to ensure they get in, and also the busier times of the week... More
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Quay Road, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 3AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Lymington
  • Phone Number: +44 1590 676903
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing