We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Prince of Wales

Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
+44 1989 564316
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 161: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best Sunday carvery's around the local area. Good fast service, and something that I really like in a pub is the landlord and landlady behind the bar working. The roast was fantastic and would highly recommend it in future.

Thank Andy B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2016

Recently under new management and nowhere near as good as previously. This pub has "changed hands" 3 or 4 times in the last 4 years. Fine for locals with a car but a bit out of the way for day visitors to Ross

1 Thank Bramwell N
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

They have just started breakfast here so thought we'd pop in and try it. Absolutely spot on. Service was excellent, food came quickly and there was more than enough. Very well priced £6 for a full English and coffee. Will be back again. Thank you.

1 Thank fedupofwhingers
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2016

we were going to ross on wye one day when we went past the prince of wales pub so decided on our way back to call in for a meal . It was excellent freshly cooked nicely presented very tasty .well done staff.

2 Thank marilyn020
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Prompt service of food, children's beans were cold on plate upon arrival so waitress kindly brought us more. Food okay.

Thank MarkandSamWestwood
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2016

Carvery veg selection on Sunday afternoon was limited . There were no greens , or peas or broccoli . Only mashed up carrots ,swede and cauliflower.You could hear the staff complaining and arguing in the kitchen , it was all very unprofessional. Our meals took ages to come and we had finished the carvery meals before the others came. I... More 

Thank david m
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Held my fathers wake here on weds and had the catering done by the owners. Have to say excellent food and great service. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Thank Daveopy
South Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2016

I have been visiting the area for quite a while and always ate at The Prince of Wales as it was a Number Works Pub and such good value and decent food. Imagine my disappointment when my husband and I went here after arriving from the South Coast Friday only to find it is just an ordinary pub now with... More 

Thank Lisa C
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your 'disappointing' review. As I believe it was myself who spoke to you Sunday afternoon and gave you an apology and an explanation as to why we stop the Carvery at 3.00pm. I believe you were eating a roast dinner at the time??!!! I believe I explained we had done over 120 carveries that day and are... More 

Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2016

Visited yesterday lunch. A friendly and warm welcome by the manageress. I had the steak pie which was very tasty, plenty of meat and crusty pastry. Husband had the wrapped chicken which again was very tasty. Will visit again when in the area.

1 Thank jannick10
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!! More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2016

My husband took me out for lunch on valentines day - his first time eating at the Prince of Wales. We had the best carvery i have ever had and my husband has been recommending it every since. A choice of 3 meats and an array of veggies. The chefs are so friendly and we have always found the bar... More 

1 Thank jojomorris18
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your time with us here. And look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$2 - $15
Bar, British, Pub
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 564316

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?