We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Prince of Wales

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
+44 1989 564316
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 164: English reviews
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were totally disappointed by the food we had served recently at the Prince. Firstly we were all surprised by how quiet the pub was, hardly anyone around at all.food was straight from the freezer & everything was chips & peas!! Nice & clean & friendly staff, but they must up there act on the presentation of the food served,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mutley56
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent Christmas Day and enjoyed every moment. Great friendly service. Excellent food. If today is anything like the Carvery during the week and Sunday then you won't be disappointed. Perfect roast potatoes. The pork was moist and as much veg as you could wish for. Thank you for your hospitality

Helpful?
Thank Daveopy
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016

We were the only table in the restaurant on a Saturday night which speaks volumes. The service was non existent- we had to ask for our table to be cleared, nobody checked on us to see if everything was OK, we did not receive all of the food we ordered and when our desserts arrived we were unable to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank HerefordshireLucky
sikaffs, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a shame you've felt the need to leave such a negative review. You were told on a number of occasions that at 5.30pm you would be the only table in the restaurant, as at this time of the day most people prefer to eat in the bar area, and you were offered a table... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2016

One of the best Sunday carvery's around the local area. Good fast service, and something that I really like in a pub is the landlord and landlady behind the bar working. The roast was fantastic and would highly recommend it in future.

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2016

Recently under new management and nowhere near as good as previously. This pub has "changed hands" 3 or 4 times in the last 4 years. Fine for locals with a car but a bit out of the way for day visitors to Ross

Helpful?
1 Thank Bramwell N
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

They have just started breakfast here so thought we'd pop in and try it. Absolutely spot on. Service was excellent, food came quickly and there was more than enough. Very well priced £6 for a full English and coffee. Will be back again. Thank you.

Helpful?
2 Thank fedupofwhingers
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2016

we were going to ross on wye one day when we went past the prince of wales pub so decided on our way back to call in for a meal . It was excellent freshly cooked nicely presented very tasty .well done staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn020
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Prompt service of food, children's beans were cold on plate upon arrival so waitress kindly brought us more. Food okay.

Helpful?
Thank MarkandSamWestwood
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2016

Carvery veg selection on Sunday afternoon was limited . There were no greens , or peas or broccoli . Only mashed up carrots ,swede and cauliflower.You could hear the staff complaining and arguing in the kitchen , it was all very unprofessional. Our meals took ages to come and we had finished the carvery meals before the others came. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank david m
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Held my fathers wake here on weds and had the catering done by the owners. Have to say excellent food and great service. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Daveopy

Travelers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$2 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 564316

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?