We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangki-Li

Ilges Lane The Forty | Cholsey, Wallingford OX10 9ND, England
+44 1491 651919
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
“noodles” (6 reviews)
“pudding” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ilges Lane The Forty | Cholsey, Wallingford OX10 9ND, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

I shouldn’t eat ‘ersatz’ food and with this takeaway we actually couldn’t. Vegan crispy duck was some soft lumps of stuff; veg satay little lumps of stuff in an over-sweet sauce; spring rolls were good though. Boiled rice was fine. Veg Singapore noodles a strange...More

Thank Sukey37
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Takeaway on Saturday 26th May. I wondered why on Saturday night, when I collected a takeaway, there were lots of empty tables in the restaurant. Now I know why-the food is awful. The half of crispy duck must have been cooked for several customers before...More

Thank Rickylivid
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

hi ricky im really sorry to hear about that. if you like please call us on this phone NO.01491651919, we will sort it out for you. thank you

Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited The Shangki-Li having not visited for years, but hearing that it had changed hands we thought we’d give it a try. The food we had was mixed; the soup starters were good, the appetisers were below average and unfortunately quite bland (certainly used to...More

Thank GlobeTrotting803449
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

hi. thank you very much to let us know how you feel about it. and sorry that wine as well. i remember you guys, very nice and friendly. thank you for your suggesting.i will report to the owner.

Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

After the 4 star review on trip advisor we thought we would visit on a Saturday night for the all you can eat menu (£18ish each, £1 extra for duck and pancakes). Good, efficient service but the food was a real disappointment. Such a shame...More

Thank Cam8648
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

hello Cam8648 im very sorry to hear this happen to you.we don not know how we can make up to you.if you like try one more time plesase booking table ask for felix, see what we can do for you. and thank very much for...More

Reviewed April 3, 2018

Everyone has the 'eat all you like' standard meal. Its very good and despite being under new management the standard hasn't slipped. Remember to ask for the salt&pepper prawns as they are fabulous! Try to resist stuffing yourself on the delectable starters as the mains...More

Thank OzS
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review for SHANGKI-LI I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit and do hope you decide to come again. Kindest Regards Felix White

Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Great food last night ❤️don’t listen to gossip get yourselves up there and try for yourselves. NEVER had a bad meal here EVER 👍🏽

1  Thank Deeley2001
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review for SHANGKI-LI I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed you visit and do hope you decide to come again. Kindest Regards Felix White

Reviewed February 25, 2018

We rang through for a takeway and were told our food woule be readyvin 35 minutes,when we got there we waited a further 15 minutes for it to be ready. The food was excellent,plenty of it ,well done,and pipeing hot . Staff were polite,and a...More

Thank bigtruck61
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

thank you very much,

Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

We went to the Shanki Last night it was Chinese New Year We were fitted in late a lovely quiet table In a corner The food was lovely and have great Chinese beer All in all a lovely meal and night out Thank you

Thank Petercc3c
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

thank you very much

Reviewed October 24, 2017

Main Course is ok , the starter is just to fill you up and is very average, the atmosphere is like the 80s , the staff is watching you eat and all lined up sadly we didnt enjoy this meal which its not just to...More

1  Thank Gerry2968
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

sorry to hear about that, if you come again,please ask for felix. he will do you some offer for you.thank you

Reviewed October 15, 2017

We went to the Shangki-Li for a small family gathering of 5 adults. The main focus at the restaurant is on the 'eat-as-much-as-you-can' menu for an inclusive price of £18.90. You must have at least 2 people wanting the feast to be able to order...More

3  Thank daviesrusu
Felix W, Manager at Shangki-Li, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

thank you very much to let us know,so if there anything we can doing for you, please calling this NO. 01491651919 ask for felix. thank you

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
304 reviews
1.88 miles away
Perch and Pike
90 reviews
2.10 miles away
George Hotel
279 reviews
2.20 miles away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
758 reviews
3.39 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Beetle & Wedge Boathouse
366 reviews
1.87 miles away
The Perch and Pike
181 reviews
2.08 miles away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
279 reviews
1.96 miles away
Delhi Brasserie
195 reviews
2.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Parish Church of Saint Mary
8 reviews
.13 miles away
London Parachute School
46 reviews
2.72 miles away
Island Farm Donkey Sanctuary
95 reviews
2.86 miles away
Goring & Streatley Golf Club
10 reviews
3.29 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sue W
February 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Deeley2001 | Reviewed this property |
No hasn't gone up 👍🏽
1
Vote
Smithsean9
August 15, 2015|
Answer
Response from | Reviewed this property |
it's about £16 for the buffet menu
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$22 - $30
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ilges Lane The Forty | Cholsey, Wallingford OX10 9ND, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Wallingford
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 651919
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing