We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thomas A Becket

$$ - $$$, British,
146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
+44 1903 266643
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“potatoes” (8 reviews)
“beef burger” (3 reviews)
“cod” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The beer is fresh and they have real ale on tar. Their menu is also complete and they are very dog friendly

Thank JesseLyons
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your 5 star review, it's great to hear that you enjoy visiting us, especially as we are dog friendly! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly they have just removed their evening bar snacks which has stopped the 5 rating. However staff always lovely, food is good, nice place to relax and pet friendly.More

Thank Sammi317
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our bar snacks and I'm sorry that we no longer serve them! We are currently reviewing our new menu ready for the winter period, however a couple of them will be on our new starters....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I celebrated my birthday yesterday with 20 family members for late lunch at the Thomas a Becket. I can't thank the staff enough for a perfect day. Everything was amazing, thank you Daren the chef, the food was exceptional. Stacey and her team went to...More

Thank cazeveritt
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Carol, thank you so much for your five star review and we are so glad you enjoyed your Sunday afternoon with us to celebrate your birthday. As you stated above, our chefs went out of their way to accommodate all your needs, which included...More

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Good pub and decent food. This place has a big car park, nice bar area, outside seating and a good sized restaurant area. The Fuller's beers are nice and the food is very consistent. This time we had pan fried chicken and the cod n...More

Thank Rees99
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and enjoyed your meal. All our food is freshly cooked and locally sourced which makes it that extra special. Our fish and chips is one of our best sellers, and...More

Reviewed July 29, 2018

Had a late saturday afternoon meal. Large roomy Pub. Good selection of food, wine and beer. Had the Butter Milk Fried Chicken, triple fried chips and spicy coleslaw. Hit the right spot with me, not too heavy, coleslaw lovely with a hint of ckilli. All...More

Thank Hotspur2014
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for your 4 star review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us on Saturday. The buttermilk fried chicken is one of our signature dishes this week and has proven very popular, and is also my favourite! It's great to...More

Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

I have been coming here for years. I absolutely love the place, the bar staff are all very friendly and always happy to help. During my last visit they had a local band playing, it was a fantastic night and a great atmosphere.More

Thank Daniel R
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review Daniel, it's great to hear that you enjoy our local bands playing at our establishment on a weekend, and our staff are always friendly and attentive. Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed July 27, 2018

When to the TAB quite some time ago and was not at all impressed but my wife talked me into going back, which we did (April/May) and then June. Was so impressed. There was a young man serving whi was full of chear, really pleasant...More

Thank stevenewport93
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hi Steve, thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us. Our menu changed in May and now has a great selection to choose from, all at great value for money. I have recently joined the team...More

Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Lovely food but really limited menu. The sous chef had messed up the ordering and hardly had any of the menu available. We booked at lunchtime for the evening and they knew they had our group of 7 and another big party of 20 coming...More

Thank PinkyPinkyPinkyPinky
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry about your experience with us regarding our limited menu, this is a very rare occurrence for us and is the first time we have had a problem like this. Due to changing one of our suppliers...More

Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful Sunday Lunch. Cooked to perfection. Fab staff. Very professional and friendly. Pub has great atmosphere, clean and well presented. Would highly recommend 👍More

Thank NjrSussex
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review regarding your Sunday lunch. All of our Sunday roasts are freshly prepared and cooked that same day, and it's great to hear that they were cooked to perfection. All of the team take pride in offering an engaging...More

Reviewed June 22, 2018

It was a nice evening and so we decided to go to the local pub for a drink. Astonished to be charged 16.25 for a single and double Gin and tonic and a packet of crisps. We queried ans was advised that it was the...More

1  Thank 978kevin
thomasabecket, General Manager at The Thomas A Becket, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Hi Kevin, I'm sorry to hear that you were unimpressed with the price of our products. Gin and tonic's are one of our most popular drinks due to the wide range of gins and Fever Tree tonics that we offer. However, these come at a...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Worthing
Grand Victorian Hotel
267 reviews
1.08 miles away
The Burlington Hotel
367 reviews
1.59 miles away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
778 reviews
1.59 miles away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
805 reviews
1.62 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Parsonage Bar & Restaurant
155 reviews
.37 miles away
The Old Bakehouse Tea Room
27 reviews
.37 miles away
The North Star
326 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Worthing Museum and Art Gallery
212 reviews
1.42 miles away
Connaught Theatre
135 reviews
1.48 miles away
High Salvington Windmill
61 reviews
1.43 miles away
Assembly Hall Complex
41 reviews
1.35 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ollie4409
September 15, 2017|
Answer
Response from thomasabecket | Property representative |
Hi Ollie, Children are welcome until 9pm We look forward to seeing you soon!
0
Votes
Jill W
September 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from thomasabecket | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we do, we have the snug. Please call the pub to discuss requirements further on 01903 266643. Many thanks Annette
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 146 Rectory Road, Worthing BN14 7PJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Worthing
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 266643
  • E-mail
Description
The Thomas A Becket is a sophisticated but relaxed dining pub, offering home-cooked meals and fine pub fare from fresh local ingredients sourced daily - including local meat, baked goods and real ale.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing